We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel! Perfect for a city break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #17 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel! Perfect for a city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a perfect city break in Lisbon. The hotel is refurbished and was recently reopened! You could tell that some improvements have been made. For example we discovered a beautiful vanity set in the bathroom which was very useful! The hotel was closed for two months but we haven't noticed any starting problems whatsoever. The staff was very helpful and were always willing to suggest some very tasty restaurants or walking routes. We suggest going to Alma restaurant, it was very nice and tasty (the best restaurant in Lisbon according to the staff) and we also informed that the chef used to be a chef at the hotel! Also we recommend drinking a mojito at the amazing roof top terrace of the hotel!! We had a great stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    269
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
644
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the past 2 yrs. If you love old buildings, style and architecture, you will love this place. The design is outstanding, classic and individual, rooms are spacious and the atmosphere is wonderful. I found the hotel quiet despite its location, the roof top bar is a great spot for drinks and to meet people. Despite many good hotels in Lisbon, probably my preferred choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bairro Alto Hotel on a Leading Hotels of the World promotion. The staff made our three night stay great. They shared suggestions about siteseeing and restaurants. Our meal in the hotel dining room was one of the best we ate in Portugal. The hotel location worked well for Lisbon sightseeing. We had an upgraded room that gave us a view of the street and the river. Additionally we took a walking tour fo the neighborhood with a guide provided by the hotel which was one of the highlights of our Lisbon stay.

Room Tip: Our side facing view made it possible to see rooftops and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Bairro Alto Hotel, Lisbon for 3 nights, as two sisters for a 40th birthday present. It has an excellent location in the heart of the old downtown Bairro Alto region and walking distance to Chiado for trendy shops and restaurants. It is a 5 star luxury hotel which was both new and trendy and an old style ambience. Our standard double room was amazing with all facilities that you would expect. We had a balcony view over the square, where we could sit and watch the trams going past. The flores Restaurant did a good breakfast, but best of all the Rooftop terrace Bar had the most amazing views over Lisbon. The staff were so friendly and gave us excellent information on local bars and restaurants in the area. I would recommend this hotel and would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a perfectly comfortable hotel, but wildly over-hyped. It's also extraordinarily expensive in a city which offers very real value in accommodation. My "entry-level" room was small and pretty ordinary, and prices climb steeply for better ones. I think internet access was included, but I like to leave my computer at home when I'm not working.

I'd expected a measure of street noise, but apart from the occasional emergency vehicle's siren, not much noise got through. Staff were mostly charming.

Someone mentioned getting to the hotel by metro from the airport. Not a journey for the faint-hearted, or anyone with all but the lightest backpack. Take a taxi.

The location is interesting. It's between the smart shopping streets of Chiado and one of the grittier, older centres of Lisbon night-life. There are certainly better, safer places to stay in Lisbon, but none with the access to restaurants, cafes and night-spots you'll find close to this hotel. You've even got the opera house and a couple of theatres a few blocks away. It's also close to the newer, brighter night-life stretching along the river front from Cais do Sodre.

OK for a splurge weekend break to a wonderful city, especially for those interested in sapling its night-life. But Lisbon's not large, and taxis are cheap, so I'd always be happier staying somewhere just as comfortable, equally central but at half the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Mr/Mrs. SwissFella,

Greetings from Lisbon.

We thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor community.
All in all we are very glad you were satisfied with your stay at the Bairro Alto Hotel, especially regarding: level of comfort and staff friendliness.
Regarding prices, these are made available and visible to everyone, therefore one will always be free to chose their best option, but thank you for sharing these to other travellers.

Regarding your comments about location, I'm sure every traveller will also feel very happy to skip taxis (as cheap as they can be) and simply walk to their preferred restaurant, belvedere, monument, theater, etc. as this is the Bairro Alto, the epicentre of Lisbon. And being a local, this is were I do converge every time I'm meeting friends for a walk or for a evening program.

Kind regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balwyn North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Bairro Alto for 4 nights and had a wonderful time.
The boutique hotel of 55 rooms was in a wonderful location and the service from every area of the hotel was outstanding.
Our superior room overlooked the square and was nicely appointed and extremely well sound proofed from the traffic and tram noise outside.
Very good breakfast, a gorgeous outlook from the rooftop terrace where we enjoyed tapas and wonderful suggestions for wines and again great service and atmosphere from the downstairs bar.
Excellent advice on how to get around Lisbon and suggestions for places to eat other than their own fine restaurant.
Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Ian M,

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Our purpose and "motto" is to create memorable moments and experiences!

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations .

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Lisbon and of course at Bairro Alto Hotel.

Jorge Cosme
Bairro Alto Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here and couldn't have been happier. A small but extremely well-appointed room, excellent location, helpful and resourceful staff who were friendly and well-informed. They gave us advice about local restaurants, answered our questions about how to find interesting fado and helped us wth a little pick-pocking problem. The hotel breakfast was delicious, and the dining room peaceful. I hope we have reason to return--it's perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor facing away from the plaza. It was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing