We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
Ranked #185 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We started a week long photographic tour of Portugal here and really it's only saving grace was a convenient location - close to our hire car pick-up and the Vasco de Gama bridge for sunrise photos.
Our room was pleasant enough and clean but the walls and floor are paper thin and we heard our neighbours long into the night.
The hotel has some great interior decoration, especially a large range of funky chairs but was lacking in a few other areas.
Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate and despite asking at reception for a coffee & pastry the only option was the full buffet for 8.5 Euros each! We eventually got 2 coffees in the bar which were good but rather a struggle! Nowhere was open as it was a Sunday morning but unusual for a city centre.

Room Tip: Request non railway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    354
    357
    133
    65
See reviews for
177
296
96
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I travel quite a lot for work - and there are only 3 things I really need from the hotel I stay in.

1 It's clean
2 Has good internet
3 I can get a nice cup of coffee in the morning.

This hotel is perfectly clean and comfortable... in a modern style that personally I like... Good location in Parque das Nacoes area, however.....

As previous reviewers have noted, the internet is cable only... which would be almost forgivable if it was at least blisteringly fast... yet it was slow, and kept dropping out for long periods for no apparent reason... which was soooooo annoying when you have work you need to get done! I stayed here a year ago, and had the same problem, so it does not seem to be a transient issue.

And I'm sorry, but the coffee at breakfast, was undrinkable... the worst yet. (I'm not a coffee connoisseur, I just want a kick start in the morning!)

I really want to like this hotel, but its probably best for the tea drinkers among you, who do not require internet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickodiemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiaí, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went to this Hotel during a business trip, good location to went to my meeting and also to meet people, safe and on average very good. Two problems I found, there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only cable, if you have IPAD forget it. The other side of the building is a railway ... Take your prayer to be in the river side! Wonderful!

Room Tip: Don't be at the railway side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arrived at the hotel you will be welcome with very impressive modern beautiful large mural wall. Beautiful lobby with unique interior, friendly welcome and English speaking reception and team.

Good room, good breakfast, clean.... no ... I can't find any problem with the hotel. Its a bit quite inside because its very big but isn't it good for us ?

Walking distance to a very big and modern shopping center. Choices of nearby modern cafes.

Its a great place to stay in Lisbon and with a bit more touch from the hotel, I believe the hotel can be a good 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It's alright but definitely not OK for a 4* hotel. First of all it is calling for refurbishing as the furniture is full of scratches and the bathtub leaking. Secondly, it needs more staff. On my arrival the queue for check-in occupied the entire lobby! For checking out it wasn't much better either. No free wifi zone at all and in the room the internet connection was only via cable... However in a cafe just around a corner I managed to finish the presentation, so maybe I shouldn't complain...

I must admitt the bed was comfortable and the room tidy, however trains passing by didn't let me rest after the entire day of appointments... With the windows closed, it finally got better...

I guess next time I will try and book other hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing railroad tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel0shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

From the outside and the lobby it looks modern and makes quite good first impression. But as you try to check in the staff is always busy - making everything extremely slow and causing queues. The lift was working very wobbly and was squeaking - that was probably crying for some service. The room was quite spacious, but with lot of small disadvantages spoiling all of the quality: the wallpaaper was going out of the wall, the bathtube was chipped and the chip was not protected against the rust, the neon-shape bulb was blinking and making funny noise (very irritating), in the drawer of the bedside table I found the used packaging of the contact lenses of the previous guest - definetely not checked and removed by housekeeping. And last, but not least: there's no free mineral water and not even a glass in the room! In the hot country it should be a must, especially in the hotel of that class! Of course there's a minibar where I could get the water for 2 Euros - and some other drinks as well, but no glasses to mix it and to drink it from. Plus you need a water to drink as the air-conditioning dries the air and when you open the window it's too noisy. All of that things could be avoided and/or fixed easily, but it all seems that somebody built the hotel for Expo 1998 and since that time nobody cares for it. Pity.

Room Tip: Avoid the street-view rooms - might be too noisy when you open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maretsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 724 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

VIP Executive Arts Hotel is a 4* hotel, but I can't find out why - probably the location. Very well located at the 'new Lisboa' at former Expo98 site, this hotel, when compared to similar ones is not really good due to quality of services, as facilities are in line with expectations. From the overcrowded reception to the low quality of the meals, it has been a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#87 of 248 in Lisbon
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#107 of 248 in Lisbon
3,600 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Panoramic Living
Panoramic Living
#80 of 455 in Lisbon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Arts Hotel

Property: VIP Executive Arts Hotel
Address: Lt 1.17.02 Avenida Dom Joao II 18 | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-084, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel VIP Executive Arts is a modern 4 star hotel with 300 rooms (including 11 suites), which combines design, hospitality and a good quality service, in order to meet its guests needs of comfort and wellbeing. Featuring eight meeting rooms and a modern auditorium, the Hotel also offers a full range of restaurants and parking for over 500 cars. Hotel VIP Executive Arts is situated in the Parque das Nações quater, the new business centre of Lisbon. In a dynamic and modern urban centre, you can find, within walking distance of the hotel, the Congress Centre of Lisbon (FIL), a vast network of recreational services, as well as privileged access to Lisbon International Airport and an extensive transport network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Executive Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Executive Arts Lisbon
Vip Executive Arts Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing