We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Google
Ways to Experience Elevador da Gloria
from $40.19
More Info
from $43.71
More Info
from $69.01
More Info
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
343
508
274
52
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
343
508
274
52
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill bairro alto restauradores square day pass lisbon experience downtown lisbon funicular ride elevator euros ascent metro cars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2019

There are a lot of mixed feelings about Elevador da Gloria. To be honest, the ride is very short and the line is fairly long, as it runs every 10 minutes.

BUT, it is an iconic part of Lisbon, so I would say, When in Lisbon! I honestly recommend getting the Viva Viagem card if you're going to be in the city and plan to take some public transportation. It's .50 EUR to buy the card, but it saves you money if you use the "zapping" pay as you go method. If you "zap", it costs 1.35 EUR for a ride on the elevador. If you buy tickets when you get on, it's 3.80 EUR for a ride.

I honestly enjoyed the ride up - and back down. It was kind of fun and I'm a fan of street art, so it was nice to see it all on the way.

We took pictures on it both ways - if you want just a view of the elevador, it's better from the top. But if you want a picture for Instagram of you hanging off the elevador, do it from the bottom.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

By now you probably are aware that Lisbon is a multi-level city. Certainly, after an hour in the city, you are very aware. The Glória Funicular runs up and down the steep incline from downtown Lisbon to the Miradouro de São Pedro de Alcântara. What is different with this elevador is that the cars and the walls framing the tracks are full of amazing street art. This is a must-do item on your Lisbon agenda.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank found t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019 via mobile

The funicular takes you up a very steep hill up to a viewpoint. You can buy tickets on board. Much better than walking up!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Wombling_Free_7548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

This is crowded and sort of pointless.... the only reason I would get this is if you literally couldn’t walk up the steep hill. The funicular takes only a few minutes to get to the top and it is more of a gimmick, I wouldn’t waste your money! I didn’t see it once where it wasn’t overflowing with people. You can easily get a Photo with the funicular at the bottom for Instagram but then I would just walk up and not waste my money!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank yasmineyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2019 via mobile

It was a short but steep ride from low to high area of Lisbon. As you may have know Lisbon is a hilly area and sometimes a funicular is another option to Uber or taxi. I saw several beautiful graffiti billboards along the route.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank tomobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews