We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love fado” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fundacao Amalia Rodrigues Casa Museu

Fundacao Amalia Rodrigues Casa Museu
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.84*
and up
Lisbon Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Four Routes Including Tram
Ranked #128 of 418 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you love fado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

First of all I'm a big fan of Amalia Rodrigues her music, her style of performing and her contribution to (fado) music. I think this is the most important reason why we went to see her house and how she lived. We were just the two of us and the only people for a English tour, so we got a 'private' tour through the house with a English speaking guide. Don't expect too much of it: it's a short tour from about 20-30 minutes and the explanation is not superb but I liked to see the house where she lived, her bedroom, her living room.... it's just like it was and that was just lovely. U also can buy cd's and postcards of Amalia there. Entrance fee was 5 euro each.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

beautiful house, 3 levels. it's seems she's still living there. full of records, clothes, souvenirs. fantastic! close to the parliament, 5 € entrance

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good place and interestiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I fell in love with Fado! And Amalia is the best in the world. Definitely worth a visit and explore it

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank nu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Diva home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you like Fado, can't avoid visiting the Diva home... you are always waiting that she enters from the front door!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pedrodomingos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
340 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“fado and amalia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Take a walk down to this casa museu and learn about the legendary singer and her life, Amalia ROdrigues , lovingly known as Amaila. One of the tour guides is actually a woman who toured with AMalia which really made it feel very familiar and familial. Enjoyed the tour and learned a lot about the singer and the style of fado. Dont leave Lisbon without hearing fado !!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fundacao Amalia Rodrigues Casa Museu also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Fundacao Amalia Rodrigues Casa Museu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing