We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty, noisy, no AC/heating, they smoke in lobby, doggy area - don't stay here!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Afrin Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Afrin Lisboa
Ranked #238 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
448 reviews
308 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“dirty, noisy, no AC/heating, they smoke in lobby, doggy area - don't stay here!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

the 25€ for the double including 2 breakfasts should have been a warning but I want to give it a trial as we had a short night anyway (plane left 6 am)

As stated by others this is a one-level "pensao" in a huge building - however there is a noisy street outside (for the rooms faceing to street) which can be distrubing at night. The rooms are very simply equipped (some with small flat-TV, other tube TVs), free Wifi works only in the lobby where the reception lady smoked cigarettes - at least the smoke was everywhere.

However bed linen are old and worn, dirty blankets, mould in shower even the water pressure was ok.

The area is dark at night (street lamps broken at main road) - however free parking at night in the street!

I wouldn't recommend to stay here as there are better options

Room Tip: rooms to back are ok from noise pov
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filipe F, Gerente at Hotel Afrin Lisboa, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
This opinion relates to January 2013.
Fortunately from 2014 this hotel is under new management, and many of the problems mentioned in your review were detected and corrected, in particular those relating to the cleaning of areas that do not correspond at all to what existed in 2013. Accordingly, we are available to receive it again and wait for your new comments.
In the expectation of seeing you soon
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    41
    22
    29
See reviews for
17
58
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

In Portugal there are two main types of lodging, hotels and pensaos. Hotels take entire building and are often purpose built, and pensaos are always housed in shared premises, occupying several floors of a residential building (from one of the tourist guides)
We stayed there for four nights. Very basic, but we didn't need more coz we were out at 8.30am and back at 11pm. Since we used it only for sleeping it was good enough, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who expect any kind of luxury.
Two beds, bathroom, safe, air conditioner. Towels were changed daily. Everything smelled like we were in hospital. Breakfast always same, as other people wrote already, bread, butter, jam, orange juice, coffee, milk, tea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

This might be the worst place i've stayed at abywhere in the world.

We had to rooms, because we complained. We had a room next to the room they served breakfast. The door on the room did not go all the way down to floor, and it was extremly noisy. Extremly.

Only good thing was that it was cheap and close to the Tube. Thats it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YngveGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Bucharest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

Were to begin...

1. The "Hotel" is located in a medical building. There are only medical cabinets and 3 floors (of 5) of "Pensao Estoril". Even the name says that this is a "Pensao" and NOT a 3 (?) star hotel (?). Unfortunately we didn`t see that.

2. The reception is at the second floor. To get there you`ll have to run the 02 number at the door ring. But first, a good advice. If you get sick (maybe staing here) it is verry good to know were to treat yourself. Just look on top of the door and you`ll get any medical speciality that you want. Even psychiatry.
Yes their is an 1940 or 1950 elevator. I wouldn`t recomend 4 people at once in it. It`s "Verry Classic".

3. Avoid the front view rooms. You will not get any sleep at night because of the noise from the street trafic beneath your windows. Even if you want to avoid the front rooms in the first night ... i don`t think it`s possible (staff). Olso, the front roms have a lot of mould ... and ... not so verry clean sheets. We got strange yellow spots on our pillows (even the spare ones).
You will get another room (a back view one) only if you say the magic words: "We couldn`t get any sleep because of the noise. The room is noisy. We want a BACK VIEW ROOM. Away from the noise". Be sure to get a full back view room otherwise your view will be in the drainage pipes of the building. The hotel stuff (sometime friendly) is used with the complains, so ... it`s recomanded that you DON`T GET MAD. Even if you don`t have hot watter ... they will probably say that you broke something at this is why is not working. Our true story.

4. If you thought you could get a goooood night sleep in the back view rooms, well ... All the ACs from aaaaalllll the rooms runs like an airplane. Just like the "minibar" wich actualy is a ... empty fridge (taaddaaaa).

5. The breackfast is just like betty222 sad earlier: "bread, jam, butter, milk, cofee, juice, hot watter for the tea, full stop!" NOTHING MORE even if you want to pay for it. But don`t worry ... a Mc Donalds is just around the corner at the first intersection at your right as you get out of the "Pensao". Or you could get something to eat from the supermarket acros the street. Splendid!

6. And finally ... the rooms smels like a hospital. Just like the hallways. If you think that you could avoid the smel with a open window ... :)).

7. The only good thing about this "Pensao" is that it has a metro station on your left corner on the exit.

Despite all that ... Lisboa - Lisabon is interesting.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IonutDragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki,Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

spent a whole week in Estoril. Very helpful and friendly staff from the breakfast room lady to the cleaning ladies. Basic but clean rooms, had a noisy one the first night ( avoid the rooms facing the busy street!) but was given without hassle a new room facing a lovely garden, it was very spacious as well. Breakfast coffee, tea, jam buns, the normal stuff. Lots of steps, though, since the residencial is on the second floor. It was easy to visit the sights since the Areeiro metro station was just around the corner. Bought a weekly 7 colinas pass from a lady in a little jewellery kiosque in the corner. You can load as many days as you wish, a good buy, can be used in the metro, trams,busses and the elevators. Mind you; the taxi from the airport shouldn't be more than 8 euros, the taxi we took from the airport robbed us blind, the taxis at the Areeiro stand were honest! Highly recommended can also be restaurant Sul on Rua da Norte, great steak, couldn't find such steaks anywhere else. Avoid restaurant Ja Disse on Rua da Noticias, food was like the kind you would expect on gas stations ( or even worse) and you have to be very careful ; they add extra items on your check. But Estoril rocks, thanks to Milton!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoSnow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

I wanted to spend a week in Lisbon,and i wanted a cheap only hotel(only a place where to sleep)since i'll spent the whole day outside discovering Lisbon till night.A portugese friend advised me this residencial firstly and mainly for it's location(direct bus from airport,nbr 22+close to metro station Areeiro),secondly the price was afforadable between 45 and 50eur per night.
The staff is nice and helpful,they advised me to take the 4th floor as is it is new and equiped with mini bar and conditionned air,the price would be 50eur instead of 45 for the second and fifth floor.
Well i was surprised that in my room (in the 4th flour!!)ther was no fridge nor air conditionned(doesen't work!!).they brought me a mini bar that made an awful noise at night and many times my husband just switched off to have some calm.
The breakfast is very very basic:bread,jam,butter,milk,cofee full stop!
Frankly i was not decieved because with such a price paid,expecting something more would be a miracle.I am happy that i spent a nice holidays and that i met nice people especially for my 1st visit to Lisbon.

  • Liked — Nice staff,close to means of transportation,nice location
  • Disliked — lack of equipment:mini bar,conditionned air,engines noise at night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadwitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

I think the other review of this Residencial must be posted in error. It's not an hotel, it's a pension, and as such, one of the best I have stayed in. The rooms (we had two) were spotless. The furnishings are basic but perfectly adequate. The airconditioning was way above average. Location is excellent, 50 yards from a metro station. We had one quibble, the safe in one room did not work, and it had no refrigerator. The other room was fine. Guests seem to only stay a night or two (we stayed a week) so changing to another room should only be a 24 hour issue, if it's an issue at all. The refrigerator is important because the breakfast is very basic, and there's a supermarket across the road. We supplemented the breakfast with local cheeses and meats as well as yoghurt, all kept in the fridge along with the excellent local beer.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#214 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro
0.7 mi away
Residencial Canada
Residencial Canada
#197 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial O Paradouro
Residencial O Paradouro
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencia Capital
Residencia Capital
#225 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residencia Mar dos Acores
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#220 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afrin Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afrin Lisboa

Property: Hotel Afrin Lisboa
Address: Avenida Joao XXI, N.0 6, Lisbon 1000-301, Portugal (Formerly Residencial Estoril Lisboa)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Afrin Lisboa 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Lisbon, Afrin offers air-conditioned rooms with private bathrooms. Areeiro Metro Station is a 2-minute walk away, and links to lively Baixa district. The simply furnished rooms include a small seating area with a cable TV. Some include a flat-screen TV. Each comes with a desk, safety deposit box and hairdryer. Teatro Maria Matos is 8 minutes' by metro from Hotel Afrin Lisboa. Several restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Hotel Afrin has a lobby with a 24-hour front desk and an elevator. Drinks are available from the vending machines. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Afrin Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Estoril Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Residencial Estoril Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing