We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good base for the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Ranked #81 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good base for the city”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Traditional building in a fairly quiet side street off the main avenue. Thoroughly modern interior, the rooms are well designed and perfectly suitable for a short break; limited clothes storage in a cupboard with door but no safe. TV has selection of english speaking channels. Bathroom of a reasonable size with liquid soap dispenser in shower and by handbasin - no other toiletries. Breakfast is continental style buffet (cereals, breads, cheese and ham) plus toaster but availability of boiled eggs as in other HIE would give a bit more variety. Sorry but the coffee dispensed from machines is not good at all! Breakfast is served in basement but clever lighting and decor lifts the atmosphere. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Travelled from airport by local airport bus 1, cheap (3.50 euros each, single) but very busy - suitcase soon buried under other travellers' luggage and a bit of a struggle to reach/retrieve. Return journey by taxi for 12.50 euros + tip, much more comfortable and quicker. This hotel is a recommended option.

As for Lisbon - a beautiful historic city with breathtaking plazas and cafes. The hotel is uphill from the centre, the pavements are very attractive to look at, mosaic designs in black and white, but uncomfortable to walk on for any length of time - bring comfortable shoes! Lovely riverfront.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. RBSouthport,
Good afternoon.
Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade and also for your nice compliments about our facilities, our friendly and helpful staff and the hotel´s great location.
It's very important to us to hear such a great review.
We hope you visit us again with the promise our standards will be the same.

Best regards,
António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    370
    103
    11
    8
See reviews for
185
338
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel staff, rooms, and location were all wonderful. From the moment we walked in, they greeted us with a smile and helped us find our way to meeting our tour group, looking up online what buses to take. Where to catch them and where to get off. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good with breads, cereals and more. No hot foods. All the trays were kept well filled.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeahawksReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de relações públicas at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear SeahawksReign,
Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade and also for your nice compliments about our facilities, our friendly and helpful staff and the hotel´s great location.
As per your comment on the breakfast items, it is in fact the standard continental buffet breakfast. We choose our products in our breakfast very carefully. Our bakery is the best in town.
We hope we can meet again in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel.
Kind regards,
António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

All

Please be warned, this hotel has an overbooking policy (as acknowledged by their reception).

I had made an advanced reservation, secured by my credit card.

Reception advised m at check-in that my card had insufficient funds and the hotel had tried calling me several times (seemingly they have a policy of trying to pre-authorise credit cards before their guests even arrive in the country!).

However, no missed calls or messages on my mobile phone and a working credit card (used subsequently). After eventually finding an alternative hotel (after 1.5 hours), the reception advised that they had actually overbooked the hotel (subsequently denied).

The alternative hotel offered to me was further out of town and more expensive. No offer was made to reimburse the difference,

Be warned, this hotel's treatment of its customers is a disgrace!



,

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Mr. marc j

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write your review and would like to thank you for your comments.
Our team values feedback whether positive or negative so that we can monitor and assess our service standards, so that we may improve our guests experience.

Whilst we highly regret your disappointment with our service, as discussed, by booking our Hotel you agree to our policies and conditions, and because your reservation was not secured by credit card it did not comply and was not guaranteed for a late arrival.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you in our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Brand new, clean and smart. Our room fine, bathroom compact but adequate. Air con quiet and efficient. Beautiful old building on outside, very modern on inside - we thought this an imaginative convertion. Breakfast is standard HIXpress continental, more than adequate and served in spacious, light and airey basement. Breakfast staff very attentive, everything replenished and used plates etc cleared away super quick. Would defo stay again. Little bit away from centre but nearer than many and 2 mins to metro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mikebrindle,
Good afternoon.
First of all thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade.
We are glad to hear such good comments of our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product.
We work hardly every day to make sure we have Hotels that guests love, we are glad you did.
We are looking forward to meet you again with the same standards and attitude you found during your stay.
Kind regards,
António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Location fine, easy to walk to some most interesting areas of the city, close to next subway station, rooms clean, bed comfortable, WLAN weak,
Unfortunately the bar run out of beer late in the evening ...... So we went to bed after having some Luso

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the back side of de building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Maximilian,

Thank you very much for your review, we were glad to hear you enjoyed not only our Hotel in itself but also its location and surroundings.
In fact we experienced a small issue with the internet connection due to our provider update of the system. Still we took note of all our guest’s comments about it and even upgraded our Wi-Fi speed to make sure was no longer an issue at our Hotel.
Looking forward to meet you again.

Kind regards,
António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is close to metro station but not located within tourist area. Nevertheless, one can take metro to various places easily. It seems that few restaurants are nearby. The room size is of standard one in Europe. The hotel is suitable for budget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KF_Hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear KF_Hongkong,

Thank you for your review, it is highly valued so that we can monitor and assess our service standards in order to improve our guests experience.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is very modern and clean. No restaurant, but a young and friendly staff, nice and confortable rooms. Choose a room on the side street (however, the windows stop any noise). Sometimes the taxi drivers don't know this new hotel, quote «Rua Alexandre Herculano» and not «Av. Liberdade».

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are better (facing a bank, no noise or lights in the night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commissairebourrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Commissairebourrel,
Good afternoon.

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our Hotel.
These kind of comments makes us want to work even harder everyday to make sure our guest just have the perfect stay.
In case you come back we hope to see you visiting our Hotel.

Best regards,

António Monteiro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#133 of 247 in Lisbon
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 247 in Lisbon
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#104 of 247 in Lisbon
2,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#88 of 247 in Lisbon
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano No. 40, Lisbon 1250-011, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, a charming new contemporary and stylish approach to accommodation set in the heart of the city of Lisbon. Lose yourself in Avenida da Liberdade, one of the main arteries of the city, home to fashionable mansions, cafes, theatres and, more recently, designer boutiques like Louis Vuitton, Prada, Miu Miu, Trussardi, Burberry, Tod's, Cartier, Emporio Armani, Longchamp, Gucci, Carolina Herrera and many others. Only a few steps down from the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade you will find the Blue and Yellow lines of the Lisbon Metro stop at Marques de Pombal Station, with connection to the Red line that serves Lisbon Airport, or eighteen bus lines that also serve the Marques de Pombal square. Relax in your modern guest room whilst enjoying complementary tea and coffee and awaken each day feeling revitalized. Lay back in the comfortable armchairs of our avant-garde 24-hour lobby bar, where our friendly staff will be happy to serve you coffee, Portuguese beer and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing