We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Princesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Princesa
Ranked #217 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
ZH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cramped en stuffy public rooms en hotelrooms. No bar or restaurant. Hotelroom dirty with lots of broken and deteriorated things. Floor hadn't probably seen vacuumcleaner foor ages. Fungus in bathroom. Hot, stuffy. noisy. We asked and got after one night other room, which was the same in shape but a little bit better maintained. Breakfastroom too small but service adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VakantiegangerZh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    129
    168
    55
    36
See reviews for
85
172
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel needs a revamp. It is very run down and dowdy. Having said that the rooms were adequate for what we paid and breakfast was excellent and always fresh. Location was good. You could walk to town in 10- 15 mins as all downhill but had to cab back. Good and regular bus service right outside though.our original rooms were a joke but they were swiftly changed to bigger balcony rooms with a view on complaint. Staff pleasant but communication a bit of a problem with some of them.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trotty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in the Residencial Princesa for 2 nights, in mid February. The accomodation was basic, but we knew this before we went. The room was clean and we were provided with a safe, free of charge. The staff were very helpful in pointing us in the right directions of which bus to get to the areas we wanted to go to and there is also a taxi rank just a few minutes walk away. On the note of taxis I would avoid getting a taxi from the arrivals end of the airport as they charged double what it cost to take us back to the airport when we left.

Overall it is exactly what we paid for. We wanted a good, clean hotel where we could get to the heart of Lisbon with ease and the staff were very helpful in making us welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Posca92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Hello,

Me and my friend stayed at hotel Pensao Residencial Princesa last weekend and we were more than happy with the service. The hotel is absolutely lovely, in a very good and safe (police station nearby) location only 10 minutes walk from central Lisbon (and when i say 10mins I mean 10) and only 2 minutes from nearest metro station. Our room (401) was fantastic, very modern, new and clean. Staff at the hotel was helpful and always smiling. I dont understand how people can say anything negative as this hotel is exactly what you need for a city break stay for a great price. Breakfast was simple but fresh, we did enjoy it. I would without a doubt recommend this hotel to anybody who want to have a great time in Lisbon ! money well spend, well worth it !!! Suzana + Zaneta (its only a shame we didnt take pictures of the hotel to proove how lovely it is)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank SuzanaZanetaLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

I travelled to Lisbon over the Easter weekend - I booked the Princesa off of the internet. As always I checked on Trip Advisor to read reviews - as they werent really too bad I booked in for 3 nights B & B. Again as always I asked if we could get there from the airport by bus and was given directions. After walking for what seemed miles from the bus stop we arrived at the Princesa. First impressions were not great as it looked very seedy - but as the receptionist opened the bedroom door this overpowering smeel of mould hit us. The room was so tiny the bed bareely fitted in it and behind a curtain we found a mouldy window with condensation dripping off the frame and a rail to hang our clothes. We straight away said that no we would not stay in this room. The man proceeded to show us 2 other rooms each marginally better than the one before. In the end we accepted the keys for their "best" room. After the man had gone my Husbanad said there was no way he would sleep in this room. We did take photos of the mould and filthy carpets, broken toilet seat mouldy bath and are using them to try to obtain some of our money back. We have stayed all over Europe and the Carribean and have never seen such a bad room. We darnt even look at the bed. After going to the Tourist Information and spending2 hrs queuing we managed to get a room at the Fenix Lisbon which although was more money was in a whole different class. Rooms top class and spotless breakfast excellent - My advice go for the Fenix dont waste your money on the Princesa.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tinycandyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaLisboa, Manager at Hotel Princesa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Md,
Our apologies for your unpleasent stay, and so we would like to invite you to see and stay one weekend for free in our new rooms.
As you saw the information at the reception we are making the renovation for a total new hotel, and until the end of the year we expect to complete.
Please send an email for: info@residencial-princesa, so that I will reconfirm my invitation as well will be attached the pictures of the renovation.

With my best regards
Paulo Lopes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hellsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Small enough. Clean enough. Nice staff. OK breakfast. Quiet neiborhood. Pingo Dose near by and right at the end of very good bus line. (carris 790)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HellsinkiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

WE CHECKED IN LAST SAT FOR A 3 NIGHT BREAK-what a dump of a hotel-rooms are very basic and carpets are worn and rugged-we requested room change and were given a worse room so we returned to 1st room-breakfast is basic-i recommend toasting the brown bread-internet access is 1 euro for 10 mins-not 3 euro's like what we were told by staff. the advertised bar was a vending machine behind reception-and when we misplaced keycard in room and went looking for it-we found a pair of grotty shoes under the bed-not ours. the highlight of this hotel was that taxi arrived early to take us to airport-you've been warned!!!but 2 members of staff were helpful!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorkViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencial Horizonte
#193 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#213 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#218 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residencial O Paradouro
#144 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#220 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#196 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesa

Property: Hotel Princesa
Address: Rua Gomes Freire 130, Lisbon 1150-180, Portugal (Formerly Pensao Residencial Princesa)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Princesa 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Princesa Lisbon
Pensao Residencial Princesa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing