We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SANA Malhoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SANA Malhoa Hotel
Ranked #59 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Posh Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Posh hotel in an area that is all hotels. Situated close to the Metro, 20 mins from Expo and the airport. A taxi to the airport is around 10 Euros DONT pay 40 Euros like we did on our first visit! Not really any bars near by or eating places and to be honest the area is a bit grotty. Airoplanes fly overhead but you can't hear anything in the room. A real bad point is the breakfast! Im sure the continental section is better than average? but if your like me lured towards bacon and eggs and all that goes with it your in for a bad one! How can anyone get it so wrong? Scrambled eggs must of had a few off ones whisked in? Dunno?
Beer prices are £6 / pint! Shocking for Portugal posh or not.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spadgeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    346
    47
    13
    1
See reviews for
173
222
26
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Our stay at the Sana Malhoa for four nights was perfect! Very friendly, professional staff. When we checked in they hadn't received the confirmation of the travel agency and the hotel was fully booked. To solve this serious problem they offered us a suite for that night, as there were no other rooms available. They would contact the travel agency the next day. Because it was not the fault of Sana or us (we prepaid) we were very happy with their offer. The next day the issue was solved and they told us that we could stay in the suite for the rest of our stay for no extra charge!!! So our stay was really great; the suite was on the top floor, very large en luxury with a bedroom and a living room. The location of the hotel is good: a 5 min walk to the metro station. You can park your car for 10€ overnight in their garage or in the streets for free. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of food, (for example sparkling wine, salmon and large choice of pastries) I definitely would recommend this hotel for a visit to Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very modern, clean and well positioned hotel on the outskirts of Lisbon. Very good brekfast with a wide choice of food and dring (also sparkling wine !!!). Very attentive staff, good city/metro maps available. Airport shuttle stops almost in the front of the hotel .Metro station only 5 min walk with frequent trains to the city or in the oposite direction to the larget shopping centre in Lisbon (4 stops with the Benfica Lisbon grounds just across the road if you into football...) . Highly recommended, would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Sorry, but this is a dealbreaker these days. I know Portugal is going through hard times economically, but come on. Staff at the front desk and bar were friendly and helpful enough. Breakfast was nice. Rooms were clean. But paying €10 per day extra to use the internet is a bit 1990's, isn't it?

Oh, and I could hear the music in the hall as I was trying to fall asleep in the room. I managed okay, but for someone who REALLY can't stand Sade might not.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCurmudgeon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Very efficient and friendly staff at reception, all our requests were attended.
Listening the piano at the bar before dinner was great, and the food was excelent!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camacho16041977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

I have been a guest at Sana Malhoa for the past few months, going back and forth on business trips. The word that sums up my experience - would be “professional”

The hotel is great, the rooms, the beds, the lobby, the check-in and out procedures and the usual descriptions that go in a hotel review
But the summary of my stay would be : That it is run in a very professional way.

The staff: Very attentive, efficient, serious (but friendly) professionals.
The cleaning staff: I have stayed at this hotel for over 3 months. I would expect at least one mistake or incident. That has not been the case.
The rooms have always been spotless.
I don’t see them in the corridors, or get waken up by them (as happened in other hotels)
They start cleaning after I’ve left. They work behind the scenes. Like fairies.
If I’ve been working in my room or overslept (example: on weekends) – I just ask the front desk if the room to be cleaned, and it’s done. Brilliant.
The bathroom is spotless. The room smells fresh. Every day that I return to my room it looks like the first time I checked-in.
I am very appreciative of their hard work and professional conduct.

The rooms: Excellent. Comfortable. Clean. Large. Accessories. Air Conditioning. Mini-bar. Lights. Interior design – Nothing but praise.

There are a few things that rubbed me the wrong way (but the hotel is still excellent)

Check-in reservations – Double rooms
It has happened to me a couple of times, that I arrive late on a Sunday night to find that there are no available double rooms, although I had booked and reserved one.
I get offered a twin bedroom for the night,.

Irons.There are never any irons available in the hotel when you need one.

Breakfast:
Breakfast is adequate. Not bad, not terrific. Personally I would like more variety,
I have eaten breakfasts and dinners at the hotel, and used the neighbouring hotels and restaurants nearby.
The Mexican restaurant (2 minutes down the street) is the best. Novhotel had a nicer, and less expensive buffet. The hotel next door has impolite staff. The vegetarian restaurant is good for taking Jewish religious colleagues that can’t eat at non-kosher places. Fast food at El Court Ingles is ok. …and don’t eat at Twin towers.

Dinner:
Dinner at the hotel is a nice experience. Quiet, pleasant, nice interior, pleasant staff, nice atmosphere.
The price is very high (although the company pays for my dinners, the bill is still high compared to the neighbourhood opportunities).
The prices on the bill are higher than those published on the menu in the room You get billed for things you didn’t ask for like ‘Couvert’ (I was told it was for the complimentary bread and cheese E3.5 ).
In the end you pay for a standard dinner for one – 30 Euro (and that’s before the tip…)
The food is good, not fantastic. The portions are small. Although I enjoyed dining there a couple of times a week, I would not say it is “value for money”


I have enjoyed my stay in Lisbon. Lovely city, warm people. The hotel is located in perfect spot. Five minutes’ walk to the office.
A shopping mall, El Court Ingles, nearby.
On weekends there is a Metro close by the hotel. A bus terminal nearby that can take you to the Caiscais beach in summer.
You can even walk from the hotel, through Liberdade, to downtown Baixa to the river.
Although I’ve seen the Oceanarium, the parks, the city, the malls - I found Belem to be the most exciting place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

The Sana Malhoa was no comparison to the Sana Lisboa, which we also visited. The Sana Malhoa is located far outside the city centre in a neighbourhood which has nothing to offer except other large hotels. The rooms are relatively small but complete. The greatest let down was the reception staff, four people strong, that stood watching while we struggled through the rain with our toddler and luggage. Yes, the hotel has a porter, but when he is occupied it is not too much work for a receptionist to leave her/his post for a second to lend a hand. Two people gave differing instructions to the car park. The baby bed was not installed properly and towels for the baby were missing. The bar staff were nice and friendly, though service was extremely slow. As we had to leave before the opening of the breakfast room, the reception staff offered to provide us with a breakfast box, this was appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budgetglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acores Lisboa
Hotel Acores Lisboa
#67 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.0 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#60 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#76 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#35 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#57 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Malhoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Malhoa Hotel

Property: SANA Malhoa Hotel
Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 8, Lisbon 1099-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#38 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Malhoa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lisbon, in the heart of Avenida José Malhoa, SANA Malhoa Hotel stands out for its contemporary decoration and comfortable atmosphere, and provides relaxed and healthy accommodation in Lisbon. A few minutes’ walk from Praça de Espanha and El Corte Inglés, near various access routes and public transport connections and with a private car park, SANA Malhoa Hotel also offers added facilities for trips to business or pleasure trips to Lisbon: Health Club with gym, sauna, Turkish bath and Jacuzzi and 7 meeting and events rooms with a capacity for 700 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SANA Malhoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sana Malhoa
Sana Malhoa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing