We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD LOCATION”
Review of Olissippo Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olissippo Castelo
Ranked #45 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BAD LOCATION”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly, and the breakfast foods are well made, however, despite what the website might show, the hotel is located in a not so great part of town. Surrounding the hotel are graffiti covered buildings, homeless, and an unfortunate view of an abandoned apartment building. Additionally, the entrance to the hotel is located in a not so flattering back alley. When we first arrived at the hotel, even our cab shared a small laugh with us as we exclaimed, "This is the hotel?". A better recommendation would be to stay in the Bairro Alto, a nicer, trendier, more tourist friendly part of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    143
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
46
250
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Reallt like this hotel set up on the hill overlooknig Lisbon. Rooms spacious, modern , clean. Staff really friendly and helpful. Best area to stay in Lisbon, next to castle , in old district and with lovely views as long as you dont mind the climb back up the hill. However trams are available!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a beautiful room with a great view overlooking the city. Breakfast was very good. The location was within walking distance of the sights we wanted to see which was important since we were only there one night. It is in the Alfama area and very close to St. George Castle. Front desk people were very helpful informing us about the 23 trolley and restaurants. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you want to stay in Alfama this is a great base. Very helpful and friendly staff, good facilities and great location, set in a quiet street with views from the room, but in the middle of Alfama. Slightly challenging to find but get the number 12 tram and its 3 minutes walk back along the street from the first stop at the top of the hill.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I thought I had booked Olissippo Lapa Palace for a very good price and was initially disappointed when I realized my mistake. Once I arrived all disappointment disappeared though. The hotel is big and elegant enough to give that extra feeling you want for a vacation but small enough to convey something out of the mainstream. The front desk staff was very helpful and we were upgraded to a nicely decorated and quiet room with a large terrace and excellent view. The area around the Castelo is very nice to walk around, with lot´s of good restaurants and cafés. The breakfast buffé was tasty and the only drawback was that you had to pay 14 euros per day for parking the car. To conclude we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaPaqariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A lovely small hotel behind the Castelo Sao Jorge. Really not hard to get to but we went the wrong way around the castle (go Left from the trolley stop) and had a very long walk with suitcases on very bumpy cobblestone streets with narrow sidewalks from the trolley stop. A cab would have been smarter but we are adventuresome. Nice room, nice people, great view, not bad location unless you want to be central. Easy to get to anywhere with a short walk and trolley ride (fun). The Alfama is a great place to visit anyway. Walk down the hill from the trolley stop at Portos do Sol and listen for Fado to find a local bar with the traditional local "blues".
(BTW mine is the correct spelling)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olsondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were welcomed by Joana (I think) who is a credit to the hotel. She couldn't have been more helpful, checked that we weren't too tired and then out with a map to explain the local sights, transport and ticketing - brilliant.
The hotel is right behind the castle in Lisbon, and well up a steep hill. However, it is easily accessed by the trams which go within a few hundred metres.
We were upgraded to a suite and what a wonderful one it was! Modern spacious, separate lounge area, large balcony area with table and chairs, x2 TVs, x2 aircon units, free usage of the safe. Breakfast was a very reasonable continental with a wide choice and a small hot selection of eggs, sausage and bacon. But, oh, the coffee was a bit bitter in contrast to the excellent coffee almost everywhere else in Lisbon.
The hotel is quiet and backs on to the castle walls - so, sadly, the views are back into the city.
All in all, highly recommended, and we may well pay for a suite next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orreryBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#87 of 248 in Lisbon
884 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
819 reviews
Olissippo Saldanha
#39 of 248 in Lisbon
651 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Castelo

Property: Olissippo Castelo
Address: Costa do Castelo 120, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#73 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olissippo Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Lisbon and ideally located aside the walls of St. George Castle, the Olissippo Castelo Hotel affords one of the most impressive panoramic views of Lisbon. The hotel is located in the famous Bairro do Castelo, between the well known Mouraria and Alfama quarters; it is also the perfect starting place to discover the Patron Saints Festivities that take place every June. This very special hotel combines the familiar atmosphere with the most modern technology and above all luxurious facilities and exceptional service together with traditional art of Portuguese hospitality.Over 4 floors (served by 2 lifts), the Olissippo Castelo includes 2 Suites, 2 Suites Jr, 10 Standard Rooms and 10 Superior Rooms, fully equipped with individual air-conditioning, direct dial telephone line, mini bar, satellite TV, personal safe, hairdryer, internet connection and ample wardrobes. Our Bar offers a service of light snacks and drinks, and Room Service until 23:00. The hotel also provides laundry service and Garage for 6 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olissippo Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissipo Castelo Hotel
Olissipo Castelo Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing