We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay”
Review of Memmo Alfama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Ranked #13 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel is still relatively new so all furnishings are new and in good condition. Love the deco (it's a boutique hotel after all) and the al fresco dining area. Fantastic view of the coastline. Thoughtful gesture of complimentary champagne and 1 hr walking tour made our stay even more enjoyable. Staff were helpful in attending to our queries. Will definitely recommend to friends visiting Lisboa!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeePeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 964 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

On Valentines Day my fiancé and I stayed in this hotel, and the experience was nothing short of spectacular! The views of Lisbon and the water are amazing, the wine bar and breakfast were fantastic, but the best part was the staff (especially Rita the manager). I proposed to my fiancé here, and the help and knowledge that was given to me made it perfect. Rita helped me pick out a fantastic restaurant and help me with my plan to surprise her with roses set up at the wine bar. Best of all she booked me in a beautiful room with a view (which she let me check into early) and surprised even me with candles and complimentary champagne, pastries, and strawberries when we arrived back to our room. Recommend staying here 100 times over! Rita and her staff made this special day even better than I thought it could be!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

we stayed in this amazing hotel for valentine's weekend and fell in love with it!
amazing arquitecture, perfect location in the typical alfama neibourhood, great room, very comfortable, great view and wonderful staff!
also a beautiful infinite swimming pool - perfect for a summer afternoon!
will sure come back many times in the future :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritanaharropires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The design of the hotel is very special, with a great mix of modern and old Portuguese architecture. The location has some negative aspects (difficult to find) but overall is great, particularly for those visiting for tourism. There is a public area/restaurant/bar with a swimming pool and nice terrace with a great sea-view. The service has been consistently excellent during my stay. Abundant and sophisticated breakfast.

My only remarks are the room rates (not cheap) and the size of my room (very small, particularly for two people).

Overall, though, a great experience and I have already recommended it to my friends planning to visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edoardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is an absolute gem. The location is fantastic, the interior partially filled with Arne Jacobsen furniture is fantastic, the views over Alfama and the river are fabulous, room was small but well laid out and very functional. I would recommend it to anyone and would love to come here again! And btw the breakfast in the hotel's "living room" is extremely cozy! Five star experience!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Dan123486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

New hotel, very nicely renovated!!! Wine bar offers a gorgeous view!
-In the evening, the offer 'finger food', not a lot of choices. The breakfast is very nice, a buffet of breads, cereals, fruit, yogurts, juice,... You can also ask for a cooked egg.
-The location is pretty nice, close to the St george Castle (10 min by foot)!
-However, be aware of the fact that only 1 taxi out of the 10 i took the week i stayed knew the hotel's location! Taxi drivers don't all talk english, so it's better to print a plan!!
-Not a lot of nice restaurants in the area of the hotel, only one worth recommending, the italian restaurant behind the Se Cathedral!
-staff is pretty nice and helpful, although it is obvious they are quite new and don"t always know what to answer.
All in all a very good experience staying there!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the building have poor internet connexion!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great views from the wine bar. This hotel is below St George castle in Alfama old town with narrow cobblestone streets, the hotel is on a dead end street. Rooms with terraces overlook the river and are worth the added charge. Nice base to explore Lisbon

Room Tip: Try to get terrace room or one with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
875 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Alfama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Alfama Hotel

Address: Travessa das Merceeiras 27, Lisbon 1100-348, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $174 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Alfama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most typical district of Lisbon - Alfama - steps away from the Cathedral and the Sao Jorge Castle, memmo Alfama is already considered as one of the best hotels in Lisbon and is the first boutique hotel in the city's historic area, with it's narrow streets, traditional shops and the famous Fado restaurants. Memmo Alfama redefines the standards of hospitality in Lisbon: the authentic and contemporary style, perfectly integrated in the surroundings, the 42 rooms overlooking the river Tagus and Alfama, the special feeling of being at a Portuguese hom and the attentive staff that will make your visit to Lisbon unforgettable. The memmo Alfama Terrace with a service of wine bar and pool on the first floor offers a perfect combination between the authentic Portuguese gastronomy and wines and a sublime vantage point to take in the sights and sounds of the city and the Tagus River. Just minutes away in downtown Lisbon is the emblematic Avenida da Liberdade and the historic centre to the bohemian Bairro Alto and the trendy Chiado. The famous yellow tram "28", also known as the tourists tram stops nearby the hotel and it's the perfect way to discover the most interesting aspects of Lisbon's historical and architectural heritage. This hidden treasure in the heart of one of Lisbon's most picturesque districts has mastered the art of local integration, offering a truly authentic Lisbon experience with unmatched views of Alfama and Tagus River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Memmo Alfama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing