We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere with a capital 'A'”
Review of Grapes and Bites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grapes and Bites
Ranked #59 of 514 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a review of Grapes and Bites the wine bar rather than the hotel. We had a fantastic time at Grapes and Bites: although the menu is tapas based it is possible to have a perfectly reasonably sized (and tasty) evening meal. Wine accompaniment is excellent as you would expect, and the general feel of the place with the live music sessions add to the atmosphere. There was a mixed demographic - it wasn't only young people eating there, and despite the music it was possible to have a chat amid the hustle and bustle: the noise was not overwhelming. Grapes and Bites is extremely popular (people on the busy street were hanging around the doors and windows to catch the vibe) so you are advised to book: especially at the weekend. Great place / great fun / not to be missed if you are staying in central Lisbon . . .

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank TonyandChris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Staffs were very kind and helpful all the way through our stay.
Nice cold/hot breakfast every morning, comfort rooms and value for money.
If you have a child (baby) then it's maybe hard for you to get to/from the nearest train station as steep hill is on its way and roads are stone paths.

Other than that, perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerekK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Grapes and bites (the hostel) has a great location and a nice staff, but our room (the junior suite) was not amazing. It was "rustically" furnished with wine crates, including behind the headboard, which clattered every time we got in bed. And the bathroom was basically just a grotto in the corner of the room with transparent frosted glass that didn't even go up to the ceiling! Not very private. We never would have reserved if we knew. And the bed was awfully uncomfortable. I think the pillows were filled with plastic. The restaurant was great and the discount nice, but the hostel has some problems.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The guesthouse/hotel is situated in historical neighborhood Bairo Alto. It has a cozy atmosphere and stylish rooms. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was a good experience. You get 20 pct. discount in the restaurant downstairs, which is recommended. There is a lot of noise from the bars in the street at night. The staff was playing music in the reception a little to loud a little too late in the evening, and they only change towels etc. if you ask for it.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place in the centre of the Bairro Alto. Beautiful room with patio. Nice breakfast with fantastic baked eggs. When you sleep here you should take in consideration that the restaurant has live music every night, and that most rooms are right above it. We didnt mind though, we loved it!

Thank RaymondPaardekooper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited Grapes and Bites 3 times during our week stay in Lisbon. The wine selection is huge. Alex our waiter was knowledgeable and passionate about Portuguese wines and chose a variety of selections for us from many different regions. Every wine we tasted was outstanding. Once we sampled the food - a great meat and cheese platter and yummy padron peppers stuffed with cheese, with balsamic and a concentrated tomato sauce. The atmosphere is fun, friendly and lively and it fills up quickly. The only downside is the smoking. Although the space has fairly high ceilings, the smoke can get oppressive. As well as being irritating, it really detracts from the tasting experience. Once we were ready to leave because of it but the hostess moved us to a table by an open window, which helped a lot. Aside from this detraction, we much enjoyed our visits and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liane606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had several glasses of wine here and a couple of dishes of some delicious cheeses and tapa style plates.

The waiter was very helpful with choices of wine and we had a fab evening.

There are two reasons it doesn't get a 5 from us.
1. They were very abrupt at closing time - we appreciated that their license didn't extend but don't feel having chairs put on tables around you at the dot of closing was very hospitable.
2. Although smoking has been banned in Portugal in public places the staff turned a blind eye to many tables of smokers whose smoke definitely lowered our enjoyment. This was the only place we found this.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LondonMap_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Nest House Lisbon Hostel
#49 of 514 in Lisbon
51 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#17 of 514 in Lisbon
276 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#29 of 514 in Lisbon
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 514 in Lisbon
381 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#70 of 514 in Lisbon
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapes and Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapes and Bites

Address: Rua do Norte 83 10 Andar, Lisbon 1200-284, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 514 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $15 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grapes and Bites 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapes & Bites - Hostel & Wines is a thematic hostel entirelydedicated to the delicious portuguese wine and where our guests may expectcomfort and personalized attention. At The Grapes & Bites - Hostel andWine you will find a wide and very complete wine list, including Ports andSparkling Wines, with seductive prices and a service to match ourreputation! For a full service, we also offer our guests nice trips tovineyards and cellars around Lisbon area.The GB – Hostel & Wines is located in Bairro Alto, a perfect location inthe center of Lisbon.The ideal place for those seeking a low budget accommodation and afabulous wine experience, with local traditions and good facilities.Great atmosphere and really helpful and nice staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grapes and Bites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing