We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pizza, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Esperanca da Se

Esperanca da Se
Ranked #417 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pizza, bad service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a real nice pizza in this place. Waitress was very grumpy and did not pay any attention to us as a costumer. It took 30 min before she ook our order. And that day they didnt serve any beer?! After having the pizza we decided to walk to the waitress and pay, as she didnt come once to our table. She wanted to charge 2 couverts, we didnt even have!
I would remmend this place if you just feel like having a nice, thin pizza. Defenitely not for the nice and superfriendly service we are used to in Lisbon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirrimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Great restaurant! Excellent service and outstanding meal!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I would like to share how good is food experience in Esperança da Sé! You have friendçly service, an outstanding meal with Sé as scenario!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ritamelogalvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This romantic italian restaurant lies in the heard of the Alfama. In summer time you can sit outside at the ancient roman church wall. Don't forget to reserve upfront and take a jacket with you. Could be a cold wind from the water.
We were there three times. Always very good service and food. The young staff is very polite and always looking for a guest and his wishes. The starters are great and the italian style pizza too. This is not a regular pizza. Very specific and spicy.
The only negative point is the beer. They serve it in tiny glasses. So, I had to order constantly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
“Better pasta than in Italy?”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Amazing pasta! After a week of seafood, we needed pasta and this seemed a nice place. We went for pasta with scallopes, which was amazing, with freshly cut vegetables...delicious. Great the risotto with prawns.
Portions are quite small, but they do the job.
Location is amazing, we were in a table outside beside the cathedral walls, great quite street.

Probably the best pasta I had in a restaurant...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTraveller8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved it so much we came back again! :) This place was a great find just wandering Alfama. It's located on the wall of the Se Cathedral, and they have awesome outdoor seating right at the outer wall. The pizzas are perfectly thin, made in a brick oven. The burger was great too (the Se one I can only speak for, but it was cooked to perfection). Portions are normal and not huge, and the prices are standard. We have never paid more than 30 euro for two people (including drinks).

They also have a lunch special thats 12.50 for an entree, drink, and desert, which is a pretty good deal considering.

One thing though, the service is a bit slow, although I'm coming to think that's customary in Lisbon. We felt like they forgot about us sitting outside and we ended up waiting a while before someone came out so we could ask for the check.

All around though, a great find in a neighborhood that's becoming increasingly difficult to find non tourist fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperanca da Se also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Esperanca da Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing