We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant restaurant overlooking playground”
Review of Canela Grill

Canela Grill
Ranked #3,291 of 4,229 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Principe Real
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Principe Real
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant overlooking playground”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice little restaurant open in the evenings for tapas and a limited selection of mains. Like its sister restaurants around the square, the main draw is the location- the Praca das Flores square with its little playground. The Canela Grill has a couple of tables outside, and some nice cosy tables inside. The service is friendly and attentive and the food is good. It is on the pricey side for Lisbon however, and many of the dishes and wines listed on the menu were not available on the two occasions we went.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shorham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place and excellent service”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had an evening dinner with kids in the restaurant. The waiter was extremely helpful without being too pushy. The food we chose was traditional Portuguese (codfish) and was deliciously prepared with a nice wine. All in all it was a cosy restaurant at abeatiful place with a good service at an affordable price.

Helpful?
Thank MilanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Uster, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Portuguese food in nice square”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We went to eat here with a local. The location is very typically situated in a nice small square with other restaurants nearby. Kitchen is portuguese and quality was good. The waiter was very friendly and patient. Recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Check the food first....”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We came here for some nice portuguese tapas, only we were very disappointed by everything.

Firstly, we ordered sautéed mushrooms along with a variety of other dishes (pork rissole and grilled chorizo being two others which I will talk about later on). The waiter went to the kitchen and then came back to tell us there were no more mushrooms. The restaurant is opposite a supermarket which was still open, surely one of the kitchen staff could have run across the road quickly?! Sautéing doesn't take hours to do, it's pretty basic cookery.

The rissole - my partner ordered this dish and when it came it looked as if it had come out of a findus packet...oh well, he said, I'll carry on eating it. Until he got to the middle and it was pretty apparent even from across the table that it was frozen solid. We sent it back and a few minutes later heard the microwave ping (all romance had totally disappeared by this point) and it was plonked back on our table looking like it had exploded over itself.

We were then brought the grilled chorizo and we were beginning to get wary by this point so before we ate any of it we felt it to see how hot it was - barely. By this point we had decided enough was enough and complained to the waiter, offering to pay for our drinks and the one dish that we ate which was passable (cod fish cakes). He politely said we could have them on the house, which was probably the nicest thing about the whole experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFifiMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food on lovely little square”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went here with 2 families and had a great, early (for Portuguese standards) dinner. The waiter who helped us was very friendly and set up a table for 10 on the street especially for us. The couverts were delicious, and so was the rest of the food. The kids played in the play area and in the little park so they loved it too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canela Grill also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Canela Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing