We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but it could be really good”
Review of Hotel Santa Justa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Santa Justa
Ranked #19 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good but it could be really good”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've just returned from a 5 night stay and overall were pleased with our choice of hotel.

However, to make it a really special hotel, they desperately need to address some issues:

1) The allocation of rooms seems haphazard and not in relation to what has been paid. We booked a 'superior' room well in advance and put in a special request for a balcony (had read on TA that room 402 was superb with double balcony) At first we were told that was fine and then a few days later we received an email saying we would have to pay a supplement to ensure a room with balcony. We reluctantly agreed. On arrival we were allocated room 502 which I excitedly thought would be similar to 402 with double balcony etc. I was wrong. We had one tiny balcony despite the supplement paid and despite the fact we'd booked for 5 nights in a superior room. Maybe there needs to be more different price categories for the rooms ?

2) The lighting in the room is a real problem if you want to read. Yes, there are directional reading lights over the bed but if you want to sit on the bed or in a chair its so dimly lit that its impossible to read. We mentioned this to reception but they said the idea was that the room should be romantically lit. That's fine but just provide some additional lighting in the form of an angle poise or something for those that want/need it. Also the shelving units alongside the bathroom were so poorly lit, it was like unpacking in the dark.

3) There was nowhere comfortable to sit (except on the bed) By the table in the corner there were 2 office type chairs - not exactly comfy in a 'superior' room (see photo)

4) The design of the bath area was dangerous. The bath was enclosed in a fixed glass panelled area and it was like an obstacle course to get in. It was hazardous to get out of when wet and slippery. Moreover, it was impossible to access the taps/shower without getting into the bath first, thereby potentially being sprayed with freezing cold or very hot water. Reception accepted that it was a design fault and they were slowly changing the bathrooms.

5) On our second morning at about 9am we had no hot water at all.

6) Providing a Nespresso coffee machine and a free mini bar was much appreciated and a nice touch but how silly to provide just 2 capsules of coffee, regardless of length of stay - it will inevitably frustrate guests. Luckily we'd read on TA about the' 2 capsule only rule' and took some from home with us. (One could also buy from the Nespresso shop on the corner of Rua Garrett)

7. The front desk staff seemed to vary a lot in terms of efficiency, helpfulness and experience. Mariana was delightful but another lady and one man were quite abrupt. Also you felt that some of the staff were rather inexperienced - we wondered if the management were new to the hotel business? It would have been nice to have been warned about the train strike on the day they knew we were heading off to Sintra.

On the positive side, the location of the hotel cannot be beaten. Its bang in the centre of things and so close to all transport links, shops and restaurants - a huge plus. Also if you don't want to pay 15 Euros for the hotel breakfast, there are loads of lovely cafes very close by.
For us the housekeeping was efficient although we were out all day on most days so had no idea what time they did the room. Mini bar always replenished with water etc.
The hotel doesn't claim to be 5 star and for the amount paid we felt it was reasonable value, mainly due to its brilliant location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor appear to have the best balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    387
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
329
819
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed as a couple for almost a week. The room was small but functional (though as other reviewers have noted, more hangers/drawers would be good). The free mini bar was very welcome, however the provision of only two capsules of nespresso for such a long stay needs to be improved.

The room had only one tiny window and no balcony, which took a bit of getting used to, but the soundproofing from the street noise was great. The sound proofing from our noisy neighbours next door was not great. Lots of screeching as they pulled out a fold away bed for their child 4 nights in a row. We could constantly hear them dragging the couch around the wood floor. Lots of doors banging repeatedly late into the evening and again early in the morning. Fire doors are important but these were very loud.

Lovely front desk staff, always ready to help and provide recommendations. However, the cleaning of the room (bathroom and the floors) was inconsistent. We were normally gone first thing in the morning until early evening so there was plenty of time for the room to be cleaned properly.

The location is wonderful for those who want to walk around historical Lisbon. Very central and in close proximity to many squares, major sites and the train station.

Fairly expensive with no discount for a longer stay, but the location and the free mini bar are likely to account for that. The front doors are located right on what I'd term "restaurant row" with lots of tourist like food venues, with front of house staff trying to lure you in. We never ate at the hotel or in the immediate area as there are so many lovely food establishments just a short walk away.

We would stay again but would hope for a quieter room with a balcony/bigger window to provide better lighting.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on a higher floor and would ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really lovely, friendly staff. Brilliant location. Reasonably sized rooms. Very nice welcoming gesture on first night. Free soft drinks in mini-bar which is fantastic.
Breakfast is totally fine but I would say slightly expensive for what you get. The breakfast buffet layout isn't great if lots of people arrive together as happened, one morning. However, not sure what they could do about this given the room and it's fine really.
We had lunch in the hotel on the first day and this was really good (only sandwiches though). However took what felt like an age to arrive. But it was worth the wait.
So main improvement would be to just make the room rate inclusive of breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddock4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location! A really short walk from Rossio Metro station and so an easy connection with the airport. Was a little worried on arrival that being so central the room would be noisy - but sound proofing is excellent and we were not disturbed at all by street noise. I booked a suite for the weekend for a city break with a female friend and was a bit disappointed to find we had to share a bed - or one of us had to go on the sofa! Really surprised the bed didn't separate like it did in the standard rooms.... Not exactly the hotels fault as we booked via a third party agency, but slightly surprised the hotel couldn't really offer any alternative.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at the Hotel Santa Justa. The hotel has just had a refurb and is extremely stylish. Location is perfect for walking and all public transport. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, advising on restaurants,parking, sightseeing etc. The accommodation was excellent we had a comfort room which had a small balcony and a street view,the beds were the most comfortable we had slept in on our trip and the bathroom was like a mini spa. If this is the standard of the comfort rooms then the superior rooms must be amazing! Would throughly recommend this Hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chshpeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

One of the greatest hotels we've stayed in during our trip through Spain and Portugal. Location is fantastic, right smack at the center of the action, close to restaurants and main attractions. Staff service was fantastic. Super accommodating and helpful, particularly in recommending a great restaurant nearby and not the typical tourist traps (which were right outside the hotel). Rooms were also fantastic with a welcome gift of port wine and pasteis... Only issue for us was a terribly handled parking situation. Basically, make sure you enter the garage with the hotel card if you go with the car.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank alifeoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Hotel Santa Justa was a big disappointment for us. This was the first time that our own experience deviated dramatically from the ratings from other trip advisor participants !

The Hotel is located in a narrow, traffic free street in the old city but the street is somewhat crowded with restaurants with on-street seating. These lanes might look romantic with sunshine but become a bit dark and dull without. The Hotel is one of the smaller city hotels which appears to have been recently renovated but with some cheap and cheerful decoration in a "trendy Scandinavian" style and pronounced to be a "boutique hotel".

The attic room we had booked for reasons of quietness, suffered from a severe lack of light during the day (very small attic window only) and at night since the lamps were very gloomy. There was almost no wardrobe (about 40 cm next to the Nespresso machine - photo) and no alternative storage or even a coat hanger. The seating in the room turned out to be nothing more than floor cushions and was quite uncomfortable. As there is factually a lot of unused space in the room, the layout and planning appears to be simply amateurish.

Cleaning was poor: late and negligent (e.g.tufts of hair in bathroom and shower).
For those for whom it might be important: minibar got a cost-free re-fill with soft drinks, there was Wifi in the room, TV-channels in Portuguese and English (only).

Staff was very friendly but also a bit helpless. When we first checked-in and complained about the attic room, we were offered an alternative room with a bigger wardrobe from the reception but with a connecting door. Bad noise experience made us turn this offer down. In the hotel cafe they could not deliver one order correctly. So we gave up trying to enjoy a night cap sitting outside the hotel. On our 2nd day we got an early wake-up call which we did not order.

During our 3 days that we stayed in the Santa Justa, we did not feel comfortable at all. To us the hotel seems to be somewhat a "3 star garni hotel".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milo-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#31 of 251 in Lisbon
793 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 251 in Lisbon
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Justa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Justa

Property: Hotel Santa Justa
Address: Rua dos Correeiros, 204, Lisbon 1100-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Justa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Justa HotelDesign Boutique 4 stars Hotel located in the commercial and financial center of Lisbon A Baixa. Also located in the surroundings of one of the most famous monuments in the city the “Elevador de Santa Justa”.Its excellent location between Praçca do Rossio , Chiado and Praçca do Comércio, allows Santa Justa Hotel to offer its guests the best shopping and cultural attractions.Besides the surroundings tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are the charm and grandeur of the Santa Justa Hotel. Enjoy the light, enjoy the history, enjoy Lisbon, enjoy Santa Justa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Mirai, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Justa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing