We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place in a special city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Special place in a special city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I was travelling to Lisbon for a holiday on my own, and wanted somewhere special to stay, with more character than a faceless hotel. Well, I certainly found it at the Whatever Art B&B, which is housed in a 1930s mansion. From the moment I arrived, with Carlos offering orange juice and cakes on the terrace, accompanied by the family of peacocks, to the moment I left five days later, every moment I spent here was charming and comfortable. The rooms are all tastefully and artistically decorated, with personal touches from Carlos, himself an artist. Breakfast can be taken on the terrace, accompanied by the chattering peacocks and distant sounds of the city. The two shared bathrooms were always spotless, with decorations again carefully chosen. There were no issues with noise of any sort, I have learnt over the years to travel with ear plugs in any case.
The B&B is situated next to the Campo Pequeno and its metro station, away from the hustle and bustle of a big city, but within convenient and timely reach. If you have any questions about the city, Carlos is happy to answer them and give advice.
All in all, a lovely stay, in a lovely city, and I will certainly return to both the Whatever Art and Lisbon itself.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
91
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What à great place. Dont be fooled by the entrance. Look for the little sign by the doorbells and enter an other world.
Carlos main mission is to make you feel at home. Nice room. Nice veranda at the little garden. It's just à great B&B

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this beautifully renovated and eccentrically decorated B&B for five days, and we loved every single one of it. Our room was spatious, the two (shared) bathrooms were kept meticulously clean, and the little garden terrace at the back provided a perfect space for cosy (and bird-accompanied) breakfasts. Carlos, the host, is a perfect gentleman whose discrete presence, generous nature and apparent knack for languages (besides Portuguese, he speaks fluent English and French) made this stay a never-to-forget experience. Located somewhat outside the historical centre, this 1930s Lisbon mansion provides a perfect refuge from the crowds, while its location near a central metro station makes it a perfect base of operations for expeditions into the city as well. Light sleepers must be aware, though, that with the charm of this old building also come thin walls and creaky floorboards - but nothing a cheap set of foam plugs won't solve. Don't let this wonderful place pass you by when you're visiting Lisbon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dries V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Simply one of the best places I have ever stayed at and definitely the most interesting.
Don't get put off with the shared bathrooms because you might miss out on a very magical and special experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was really Impressed with the sympathy of the owners of this guest house. I loved the localization, it's very central, with the metro station near by and buses. The decoration is really amazing and the back garden it's very relaxing. There's a small kitchen where you can make your own tea and tables outside on the balcony. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Highly recomment this guest house. The people running it are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are excellent, and a great breakfast, including some home-baked bread. Good location too, near a metro station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banksiaseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#38 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 231 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#22 of 231 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast

Property: Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast
Address: Av.dos Defensores de Chaves | 58 - R/C Esq., Lisbon 1000-121, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 1930 building, in a premium area of Lisbon, offers a relaxing atmosphere due to its terrace and little garden where you can listen to birds singing and peacocks. All rooms, with wooden floors, have LED Tv and crystal chandeliers illuminate paintings and sculptures. At 2 walking minutes from bus stops, Metro station and direct bus to the beach. We provide : -Medical assistance; -In-the-room massage service; -Simple laundry service; -Lisbon,Sintra,Cascais, Fatima and many other tours. Tickets available at the B&B; -Private and tailor made tours in comfort vehicle; -Private driver service; -Rent-a-Car; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing