We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Olissippo Saldanha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Saldanha
Ranked #37 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just returned from two nights at this hotel. We had a stop over on the way to and from Italy on a trip we took. We had a full day and night on the way in and a night layover coming back. We chose this hotel because it is on the airport metro line, which made it easy for us to get to the airport as needed. The trip from the airport took only about 20 min. and the metro was very clean and easy to use. (The metro day pass also allows you to use the other transportation and allows for a trip on the elevator in town.) It was a really quick walk from the station to the hotel and the hotel as other reviews stated, is really nice, updated and clean. It was one of our favorite hotels of the trip. The wifi was excellent and there are many places walkable from the hotel. We took the metro downtown and saw all of the major sights easily. Great place to stay, I wouldn't hesitate to book.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bribart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments! We are please that you have enjoyed your stay at the Olissippo Saldanha and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Olissippo Saldanha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 667 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Could not have made a better choice - for its price this hotel was great. The rooms were spotless, breakfast was great and the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel is located close to the Saldanha Metro and is also close to Futbol Park - where the Hop on Hop off tours leave as well as where they showed Portugals World Cup matches. Quiet area with some nice restaurants and supermarket within walking distance.
Must say the customer service was brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad to read that you "could have not made a better choice" on choosing where to stay in Lisbon. We hope to welcome you back next time. Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for eight nights for business/pleasure and could not have made a better choice. This hotel is perfectly located in an area close to shopping and transportation. The Saldanha metro is just down the street as is a taxi station. But it is also a quieter neighborhood than the Chiado-Baixa area which is just a few metro stops away. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff helpful and the room comfortable with a beautiful marble bathroom and walk-in shower. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the coffee outstanding. Close by are one of Lisbon's better museums, the renown Versaille Restaurant, and a great place to eat, the Italian Caffe. The cost for this hotel was very economical and one of the best we have stayed in across Europe for the location, cleanliness and value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Reading that you rate Olissippo Saldanha as one of the best hotels you have ever stayed is very rewarding. Kind regards from Lisbon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break in Lisbon staying at the Olissippo Saldanna and I cannot fault the hotel at all. Our room was big, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very modern and equally clean and the addition of slippers and robes is a nice touch. My only slight negative comments are that a box of tissues in the bathroom and a slightly stronger hairdryer would have made for perfection (but it came very close!).

Staff were brilliant and always able to help with directions and recommendations for places to eat and visit. Two members of staff which went the extra mile were Ricardo Monteiro, who was especially helpful when we were hiring a car and Celia Carroso, who helped with numerous suggestions for places to eat. One evening in particular, Celia gave us details for a restaurant and then after we left the hotel, she realised how busy it was likely to be on a Saturday evening and called ahead to make a reservation for us. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were immediately shown to a table saving us over an hour's wait in the "no reservations" queue! Great customer service and totally unprompted.

The metro stop is a few seconds walk from the hotel so although it is about a 25 min walk to the centre, the old town can easily and cheaply be reached by Metro (6 Euros for a 24 hour bus / tram / metro pass). It is on the same Metro line as the airport - approx 30 mins transfer (beware make take longer on way back to Airport if using T2 as need to catch a bus from T1). There was metered parking on the street outside the hotel which was cheaper than the hotel facility over the weekend.

Breakfast was a little limited but was always fresh and tasty. It was available from 7am tll 11am for the late risers.

Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMJ_DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. we are very happy to read that Ricardo, Célia and the rest of the staff have assisted you in all you needed. We will be delighted to welcome you back next time you are in Lisbon. Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed four nights in standard double ($95eu, breakfast included). Hotel rooms were very nice and modern with large modern bathroom. Staff was well trained, friendly and very helpful with directions and sites to see. (Vitor was especailly helpful)
Breakfast was very good and with nice and good variety. No restaurant on site, and not to many options nearby. If it had not been for "Italy Restorante Caffe" two blocks away on Avenida Duque D'Avilla, this would have been a real problem for us at dinner time. Best Italian Restorante & Pizzeria in Portugal (good price, great food and the friendliest and best waiters we have had anywhere in the world, a real value and treat for us several different nights).
Hotel needs to upgrade their technologies, no guest computer, and very difficult to get even a plane boarding pass printed, staff was even frustrated. Metro is 1 block away.
Price was very good for Lisbon and room and breakfast good but you suffer with the location. Need to metro to any of the tourist areas. Not a major problem in Lisbon but the hotel location makes it an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Regarding the computer to print your boarding pass we do have a laptop that guests can use as well as a printer. This is written in the hotel directory inside each room.. We hope to welcome you back at the Olissippo Saldanha in the future. Kind regards from Lisbon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Beautiful modern hotel just outside of downtown area. Large rooms and great breakfast. Near metro and short cab ride to downtown sites. Easy walk to Plaza Pombal and sight seeing tours. Great site to discover Lisbon without the high downtown prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Many thanks for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and very nice decorated. The bathroom was very nice and tidy. The location of hotel is not so close to the city centre, it's about 30 minutes walking. However, the metro station is just round the corner, which is directly linked to the airport (about 25 minutes). Breakfast was disappointing with only few options!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elhaam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 254 in Lisbon
704 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#44 of 254 in Lisbon
424 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#23 of 254 in Lisbon
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 254 in Lisbon
1,332 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#57 of 254 in Lisbon
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Saldanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Saldanha

Address: Avenida Praia da Vitoria 30 | Arroios, Lisbon 1000-248, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $96 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olissippo Saldanha 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the square of the same name, the Olissippo Saldanha is located at Avenida Praia da Vitória nº30, very close to a modern business center, just 1,3 km from the Marquês de Pombal, 3,5 km from Bairro Alto and 5,5 km from Lisbon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olissippo Saldanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing