We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Olissippo Saldanha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Saldanha
Ranked #39 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and very nice decorated. The bathroom was very nice and tidy. The location of hotel is not so close to the city centre, it's about 30 minutes walking. However, the metro station is just round the corner, which is directly linked to the airport (about 25 minutes). Breakfast was disappointing with only few options!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elhaam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 692 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent hotel just outside the old town (centre) of lisbon. Couldn't fault the cleanliness, quality of breakfast nor friendliness of the staff. Everything about the hotel oozed quality & made our stay most welcoming & relaxing. Also very quiet area so no disruptions at night

Only slight negative is the location as it's approx 30 min walk from the old town however, the nearest metro station is just around the corner.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank alistair s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Olissippo Saldanha. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards from Lisbon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel had friendly service and big, clean rooms. It’s a bit out of the way (i.e. it’s not in the downtown, old, part of the city, but it’s not too far to walk to the old town and Placa do Comercio (~20 minutes downhill).  We tended to walk down in the morning, do our sightseeing, have dinner and then take a cab back to the hotel. One nice thing about it being out of the way was that it was easy find street parking. If you’re there over the weekend, street parking is free all day saturday and sunday! The breakfast buffet was fine. Nothing fancy but it did the job and got us through the morning and early afternoon.

Room Tip: Easy find street parking. If you’re there over the weekend, street parking is free all day saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexArcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel was very welcoming with excellent helpful staff only a short walk from the cities sights. The rooms were big and very clean with lovely facilities. Breakfast was superb and excellent value. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0nB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Olissippo Saldanha for seven nights in late May and early June. We both were most pleased with our choice. The hotel is small and modern with a very comfortable and relaxed feel. It is located in the central part of Lisbon, away from the tourist areas. The Metro is a two minute walk away and provides easy access to the rest of the city. There are many excellent restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk but I suggest asking at the front desk for recommendations as some of them are easy to miss (Restaurante Charrua Do Lavrador is especially good). The hotel has a small bar in the lobby which serves lite meals and snacks – the bar menu and room service menu are the same. There are also two grocery stores within a short walk that are fun to visit. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. But my highest praise goes to the staff. They were uniformly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and really seemed to enjoy the opportunity to interact with the guests. If you like to stay in tourist areas with all the noise and traffic this is not the place for you. If you appreciate a great location that is quieter and which provides opportunities to experience the less touristy side of the city, yet with very easy Metro access to the tourist areas, then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forever-lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We came to Lisbon 2 days early before our tour began and had a wonderful 3 night stay. The hotel is new and modern and is on a quiet corner. It is 6-7 euro cab ride from the central city area, but the Metro is one block away. There is free wifi in the lobby area. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable and the breakfast was fine with enough selections to satisfy anyone. The people at the desk were very helpful in suggesting places to eat. It was a great value price wise. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billybob65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014. The standard of accommodation was excellent for the price ( 85 euros per night, incl breakfast, booked via internet). Its immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, with charming staff. Only downside was the basement breakfast area which was immaculate but without windows. A small point in the overall context of value, price, location and professionalism. Some reviews have said there are no restaurants nearby. That's not accurate as there are some excellent places, but they are not immediately apparent. ( e. g. See my reviews of A Parte and Dell Anima, which are both very close. The hotel also booked us a table at Club Journalistas which is only a 10 minute taxi ride away and brilliant.

Room Tip: We had the basic double room and it was excellent. Just a tip. I didn't work out until the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#41 of 255 in Lisbon
765 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
354 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
1,474 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Saldanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Saldanha

Address: Avenida Praia da Vitoria 30 | Arroios, Lisbon 1000-248, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $101 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olissippo Saldanha 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the square of the same name, the Olissippo Saldanha is located at Avenida Praia da Vitória nº30, very close to a modern business center, just 1,3 km from the Marquês de Pombal, 3,5 km from Bairro Alto and 5,5 km from Lisbon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olissippo Saldanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing