We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than the pictures - an ideal...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
bbindc
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even better than the pictures - an ideal apartment.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Pedro's apartment far exceeded our expectations, even with the dramatic pictures, which don't do it justice. The apartment is spacious, bright, beautifully decorated, ideally located, and the views are just magnificent. We stayed for a month, and were so glad we chose this perfect location near the Praça das Flores. Easy (for Lisbon, there are hills) walk to the Principe Réal, which we really loved, the Chiado and Bairro Alto. Buses, tram, and cheap Uber made getting around easy. And easy walk to a 7-day a week grocery, lots of other shops and restaurants right in the neighborhood, not to mention several gay bars. Yes, it is a steep five flights up, but worth it when you get there. We never tired of the views. The open-plan kitchen, dining, living area was perfect for us, just a couple for one full month. The bedroom had lots of storage, the bathroom (really 1-1/2 baths) lots of light. Large refrigerator, dishwasher and clothes washer. Plus the added bonus of the loft area above the living. With such great views, and so many windows, it feels even more spacious than it is. And Pedro was a perfect host, so eager to share his love of Lisbon and his neighborhood with us. He accommodated our requests with good humor and flexibility. We just can't say enough positive about our experience in this apartment. Don't hesitate. You won't regret it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2018
Thank you so much Barry and Jim for your review - I am truly happy you had a wonderful time and this review really touches me at heart. Thank you. I am hopeful that you will be back next year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Waking up each morning in the apartment was a delight! The views of Lisboa were truly “amazing” .The apartment was even better than we had anticipated. It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. It had everything you needed.
Pedro was absolutely wonderful. He was waiting to greet us at the apartment and provided us with books,maps and shared information. He took his time and made sure we were comfortable with all aspects of the apartment and our surroundings. Pedro always responded to us in a timely fashion.He went above and beyond by arranging a taxi for our return to the airport.
As stated in many of the reviews, the location was perfect. We highly recommend this apartment. it made our vacation in Lisboa perfect!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare H
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This apartment is lovely - walk up the stairs and into the main area and the view is completely WOW! Everything you need is here and anything that isn't can be bought at the little supermarket around the corner. The neighbourhood is beautiful with lots of leafy squares, bars and restaurants. We caught taxis a couple of times to particular sights (I highly recommend the Gulbenkian Museum) and then walked back to the apartment taking in the different areas and enjoying the feel of Lisbon.
Pedro was overseas but his friend Francisco met us and was charming, helpful and friendly. Pedro also checked in by email to make sure all was well. I cannot imagine why anyone would be displeased with the apartment or the hosts. Maybe if mobility is an issue, I would say think twice as there are quite a few stairs, otherwise I would unequivocally recommend this place. We certainly want to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R
1 review
“Very cosy apartment with charme and amazing view”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had such a wonderful time staying at this apartment. The location was great, very centrally located and walking distance to plenty of restaurants, shopping and the prime areas of Lisbon. The apartment offers a beautiful nearly 360 view of Lisbon allowing you to catch sites of the famous bridge, river and Chiado neighborhood. Additionally, you can sit on the terrace and enjoy breakfast or sunset, which was a nice extra treat each morning and evening. The apartment is roomy and has everything you can ask for. Pedro was a great host, very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. We were especially grateful that Pedro allowed us to drop off our bags early in the apartment as we arrived into Lisbon early in the morning. I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone looking to stay in Lisbon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE APARTMENT/HORRIBLE HOST. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this apartment, several months in advance of our arrival, through our travel agent, and pre-paid $4,000 for a 23 day stay.

The owner, Pedro, agreed to meet us upon our arrival, show us the details of the apartment and walk us through the neighborhood to show us his favorite restaurants, bars and stores.

As with everything else, he lied. We arrived to find that he had taken off for Germany and a friend of his let us in, handed us the keys and promptly left.

We had no idea how to operate anything in the apartment, where we were in relation to the areas of Lisbon that we know, nor even how to find a mini-market to buy water. We had no information as to how to contact Pedro or anyone else. And, in fact, we never met Pedro nor heard from him.

The description of the apartment, and the pictures, are a complete misrepresentation. We knew it was a fourth story walk-up, which was fine with us. In fact, it is five stories, not so much of stairs but basically ladders! I have only seen such steep, short stairs in the townhouses that line the canals of Amsterdam. And, these were so poorly lit, I missed a bottom step on one of the landings the first morning and badly sprained my ankle. Access in and out of the apartment is miserable.

The apartment has no television. The bed is neither a king nor a queen but an old fashioned double. Besides the bed, there is one short sofa and one dining table with six chairs - that is the extent of the furniture. The shower cycles warm for 15 seconds then cold for 45. The view of the river is a glimpse of it through either an elevated living room window or from the 30 inch wide balcony. Even the most aggressive Beverly Hills realtor could not justify calling this a "river view" apartment.

We have rented apartments in Lisbon before, and elsewhere, and the hosts have always provided a two or three day supply of basics - milk, O.J., bread, butter, cheese, etc.. Pedro's welcome was a box of cereal that had been opened and half eaten - disgusting - a half jar of instant coffee and five tea bags. No water, and not even any ice in the ice trays in the freezer.

The day before we left for Portugal, our travel agent advised us that suddenly Pedro was demanding 148 euros from us on our arrival to reimburse him for his Pay Pal fees - what??? Who does that?

We left this miserable place after the second night and checked into a hotel. Pedro refused to return any of our money, although he no doubt re-rented the apartment immediately, as June is the height of the tourist season in Lisbon and hotel rooms and apartments are in scarce supply.

In short, it was a very bad experience. Please avoid it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
As per this guest's review, they were welcomed by my friend - who has welcomed many of guests before and lives right across the street. My friend greeted this couple outside in order to help carrying up their bags. According to his description, these guests arrived heavily alcoholized from their long-haul trip from LA. They were inappropriate with my friend (who is also gay, but felt really bad about the type of comments received and the whole situation) as well as inviting random strangers from the street to come to the apartment. After these incidents, one of the guests hurt himself going up the stairs - which could be linked to the large amounts of alcohol consumed. This behaviour continued with heavy shouting and complaining about everything, including their long-haul flight in Business Class (instead of First Class). In this building there are "real people" living, not just tourists. Daniel and his husband felt insulted when they were kindly warned about how to behave and how not to and they continued with their unruly behavior. Having stayed in Lisbon before, I now ask myself why they are not accepted in the other apartments as repeated guests. The guests left the apartment feeling insulted - and I do apologize for that: it was not at all our intention. All we wanted to avoid is problems between any unruly guests and our neighbors. The travel agent had described Daniel and his husband as a fit, wealthy, 70 years old couple; she had not mentioned they lack of respect for others and for the apartment itself. Both will not be tolerated in my apartment - because experiencing "local life" is respecting the local life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetwa
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Lisboa stsy”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Loved the Lisbon apartment everything we needed was close mercado ,restaurants and Pefro was very helpful highly recommend this location we love to walk so could walk everywhere but not in the busy tourist area fabulous views from the apartment overlooking the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjelwood
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The apartment is in a great location, within walking distance of all the major Lisbon attractions - Rossio, Baixa District, Placa do Comércio, and Castelo S Jorge. The views are incredible and the apartment makes for a very authentic stay in Portugal. Additionally, Pedro's customer service is great - he is responsive, helpful, and friendly. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Lisbon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Thank you so much Stephen for your review. I was very happy to exchange with you ideas about how to make the best out of your holidays in Portugal and I am happy to read that this was helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing