We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great night out”
Review of Restaurante Carmo

Restaurante Carmo
Reserve with
Restaurante Carmo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“another great night out”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having been to the Sacremento on the Saturday night the eight of us booked for this restaurant on the Sunday. What a good choice. The menu was a little less elaborate than the Sacremento - and significantly cheaper - but still very good value and quality. Once again we were impressed by the standard of service and general atmosphere - perhaps not surprising when we saw that the same maitre d was in both restaurants - he laughed when we asked him to explain how he could be in two places at once! Very good 3 course meal with copious wine and coffee for less than 75 euros per head.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    538
    110
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant surprise!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a storming argument with my boyfriend and stumbled upon this restaurant. It was so good, we had to make up! The best value for money, classiest restaurant in Lisbon. The food, service and atmosphere is what you'd expect of a 50£ a head London restaurant. A must visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohchristinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Originally tried to dine at Sacramento without a reservation, but they were full. They suggested their sister restaurant, Carmo. How lucky can you get! It was a deliciously satisfying experience. Everything on the limited menu (only about 15-20 choices) was served tapas style. And every dish was very, very good. Some of the local Portuguese dishes were a new experience for us, but everything was delicious. Service was a bit inconsistent when we went back a few days later. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lifeatseaforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very good second best”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I was in Lisbon for a couple of days and decided to go to Sacramento (just down from carmo) but it was full so the waiter recommended this place.

It turned out to be a lovely little place, the service was excellent and the food and wine were both lovely from starter to dessert! I don't think I had the best dish (veal croquettes) but my friends had fish and chicken/chorizo which looked great. Total cost for a 3 course meal was €65 which felt good value. In summary an accidental trip which turned out to be a little gem.

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy little place”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ate there last Wednesday and we really loved this place. The service was delighful and attentive. We found all the satff lovely and keen to help. We sat in the window and overlooked the square and the historical building opposite which was lovely, all lit up in the evening. The wine selection was good and very reasonably priced. We really like the "small plates" idea. The steak dish was the highlight, the other two dishes didnt quite live up to this dish. The "game" sausage was diffrent and had good flavour but not really my cup of tea. The desserts were a real treat - the trolley had a very tempting array to choose from. The chocolate cake made with condensed milk and the creme brulee were both excellent. A good experienc at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda and John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carmo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing