We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Carmo

Restaurante Carmo
Reserve with
Restaurante Carmo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We saw this place when heading to Restaurant Sacramento (put that one on your list) and we came back a couple of days later. Great place with really good food. There were four of us and we started with four dishes, which seemed to be on the small side but when we ordered 3 more we struggled to finish. Really nice ambiente and great quality food. Good cocktails to start with and good advice on wines which were all available by glass or bottle, which is a huge advantage if you want to try out some nice Portugese wines. All of the food was good and don't miss the wonderful ham which is cut off from the trolley.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FTRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    502
    99
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a very nice lunch in this restaurant after visiting Convento do Carmo on the same square. The restaurant looks quite "fancy" and we usually prefer places that are more simple, but the menu sounded so interesting and not too expensive at all. I had traditional cod fish balls with rice, absolutely super! The house wine was much better than average. My daughter liked her vegetarian lasagne very much. We paid 58 euros for a great lunch for four people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Koidu241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I were so pleased to come accross this restaurant after having struggled to find a restaurant spending ages walking through Alfama, then Baixo districts until we finally got to the lovely Praca do Carmo. The food here is exquisite - a real feast for the senses; the food is unforgettable; a real taste of traditional Portuguese food that you "petiscar" (share, like tapas). The ambience was so enjoyable, and the waiters/waitresses were so friendly and generally enhanced our overall experience in Lisbon! DO have at least one dessert from the extremely tempting desserts trolley. We went here three nights in a row for fear we'd have a disappointing experience going anywhere else!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex20kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great tapas in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were lucky to find this wonderful tapas restaurant on our first day in Lisbon. Located on the charming and delightful square, Largo do Carmo, Restaurante Carmo offers a tantalizing selection of original Portuguese tapas dishes. Although we had no reservation (we'd just checked in at four in the afternoon) we waltzed in "off the street" at 7:30 and the manager Pedro welcomed us and made up a table for us in the tiny bar area, as otherwise we would have had to wait till 10pm. In Vancouver we have a number of terrific tapas restaurants, and this one rivals them all. Pedro suggested several dishes, and all were great -- the gambas aioli, the octopus with patatas bravas, the monkfish with rice, the sliced beef with pica pau (?) sauce. All a taste treat. The "creamy" white wine with the name I can't pronounce was also wonderful. Even the chocolate cake and the espressos at the end were exceptional. We're here for a few days, and we will go back, looking forward to the variations on chorizo. Obrigado, Carmo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timotao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Portugal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

After a refreshing (and relaxing) Mojito we had excellent tapas style food. Absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. Considering the quality of the food, we thought the price was very reasonable. We had some nice meals in Portugal but this was definitely the best. The service was excellent and the vibe was great. We highly recommended his place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SRBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carmo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing