We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divine and authentic Portuguese tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Carmo

Restaurante Carmo
Reserve with
Restaurante Carmo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Divine and authentic Portuguese tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The prices here, for truly marvelous food, can't be beat. Portions are ample, flavors are unusual (even sublime), and service is efficient, friendly and helpful. Try the monkfish and shrimp rice with cilantro, the chorizo and black rice with an apple compote, the octopus and garlic stew, and the calamari dish or shrimp with garlic. One miss is the vegetarian lasagne with shiitake in a cream sauce; so was the mushrooms with goat cheese (something was off). But the waiter generously offered to replace the one or two dishes that we did not love. A superb wine list is offered at excellent prices by the glass or bottle. This was our favorite restaurant in Lisbon, and we came twice in 8 days. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    502
    99
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had our best meal in Lisbon at this restaurant, which was steps away from our hotel. The chorizo/chourico and steak we had were both excellent. The wine suggestions were perfect and the service was great. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisabee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had just gone up the Santa Justa elevator, and gone through the National Police headquarters and spied this restaurant across the square. Food is tapas style, but each dish was so good and so different. Just the right size. Their wine selection was as good as any we had in Portugal, but excellent pricing. Make it a destination!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaryKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Tapas ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We discovered this restaurant while walking in the bairro alto in Lisbon. The tapas were delicious, some of the best we've ever tried. Great ambiance and delicious deserts. Definitely worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NathDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious service but very loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stumbled into the restaurant at 8:30 on a Friday evening. Without a reservation we were told the wait would be 30 minutes. We decided to stay and the owner very kindly brought us glasses of a sparkling vinha verde. Carmo is essentially a tapas restaurant with a nice selection at around 9 or 10 Euros per small plate. We chose a tiger prawn, small cubes of beef and a serving of sole.
All were good, if not exceptional. Our waiter chose for us an excellent red from Duoro. The dining room was a virtual United Nations with Dutch, Italians, French, German and Brits. The noise level was so exuberant that we were not really able to have a conversation. In the background some music was being played but above the noise all one could hear was an incessant, repetitive bass drum sound. So, although the sevice was excellent, the food acceptable I would not likely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pinemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carmo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing