We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully executed fresh food, friendly staff and reasonably priced”
Review of Xapuri

Xapuri
Ranked #61 of 4,112 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Description: Xapuri, It is a place with a welcoming and relaxed decor where the line is a "brand" of recovery and recycling of various parts, from the furniture to the wall intervention with doors in a vaulted interior of the fifteenth century. Specialties from Here and There ... A mixture of flavors and cultures, a menu rich and differentiated. We propose therefore a range of tastes/flavors of an exquisite journey through the various horizons of contemporary cuisine. We are open to the public six days a week for dinner. Good appetite !!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully executed fresh food, friendly staff and reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a fantastic lunch here after we stumbled across this place after discovering Cantinho do Avillez closed for Easter Sunday a few doors up the street. Service was very friendly and our waitress was knowledgeable about the food and how it was prepared, she was clearly passionate about both the menu and the wine! We had the mackerel on a cold-prepared tomato sauce with olive tapenade and parmesan sponge; beautifully done. The mackerel had great texture. That was followed by salted codfish topped with chickpea puree, a trio of suitably spiced portuguese sausages on sweet potato and a baked goats cheese "gratin" with walnuts and honey....all delicious in their own right, the courses were served one at a time in the centre of the table which was a great way for us to enjoy the flavours together. 4 courses and a side of home-cut fries was easily enough for 2 people at lunch. With a glass of Rose and a large bottle of sparkling water the bill came to EUR40 which we thought was very reasonable for the quality of the cuisine. All in all this lunch was a true highlight of our Easter weekend in Lisbon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    200
    54
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced and... well... odd!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a disappointing final night in Lisbon. The place has an air of oddness - service and decor range from sweet to slightly offbeat, and it's one of those places where service feels a bit intrusive. They overdo the menu explanations of the dishes (I know what an apple strudel is, thank you - most Europeans do!). The food is nicely cooked and presented, but is not filling enough or spectacular enough to warrant the drawn-out, course by course service like a nouvelle cuisine tasting menu. What had looked reasonable on ordering felt expensive once we'd experienced the portion sizes, and the bill had some extra nasties too (€4.50 for a large bottle of still water!). We were asked outright for a good Tripadvisor review when we left. Well, sorry Xapuri, here it is.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really friendly, unassuming place with quirky menu”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We really liked this place, mainly because the service was just so lovely. The food comes in stages, 'raciones' portions made for sharing and all explained to you before you order. We had the sirloin with apricot, gratin polenta and goats cheese with cheeses - all good. Desserts were good too. Excellent wine menu - but it's really the really warm welcome that makes this place stand out. A great escape from a lot of other Lisbon restaurants that all merge into one. Recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Tapas - Quality Staff - Awesome scenes”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We found this place by accident whilst looking for somewhere suggested by a friend, but it was really really good. The staff where super helpful, and attentive. They explained everything to us, and helped us through the menu. I had Pork cheek and prawns, which was amazing, as was the mackerel. All topped off with really nice sparkling white wine sangria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garfunkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tapas style, very small portion.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The food tasted good and the service was good. But it is Tapas style, the portions are very small and after a 5 course meal my husband and I were still hungry. We are very skinny people, in case you are wondering... The dishes come in sessions and to us that was annoying. But in most of the Tapas restaurants that was the case too. We had to seat and wait.

Helpful?
Thank crm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xapuri also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Xapuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing