We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Castilho House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castilho House
Ranked #34 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We extended our trip in Lisbon after the tour group left. Found Castilho House through trip advisor. This B&B occupies the fifth floor of a nondescript building in a great location. The rooms are tastfully decorated, neat and clean. We were walking distance to public transportation, restaurants, and Rossio Plaza, Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 266 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a pleasure to stay at the Castilho House. The online photos are very accurate - a well appointed, modern, clean and crisp boutique hotel with all the amenities well situated near the center of Lisbon. The staff was friendly and helpful and available 24 hours a day. Breakfast was good. Most everything was within walking distance, but when needed, bus and metro access were only a couple minutes away. Our trip back to Lisbon airport was oh so easy and only took ~30 minutes by metro (very little walking required). Lisbon is a great place to wander about and take in the sights - and the Castilho House is a perfect place to stay/

Room Tip: We had the basic room (best price) with the window opening onto the light atrium. For an additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_USA90254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Castilho House is a perfect place to stay while visiting Lisbon. We spent there 5 days in October. Not only the location of the hotel is great (just 3 minutes walking from Marques de Pombal square, which is also a subway station), but also the rooms are beautifully designed whith a modern touch. The "continental" breakfast is included in the price, so you don't have to worry what to eat in the morning :)
I would recommend this hotel especially for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalina_Krassowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

5 star accomodation this small B&B, just about 15 minutes walk to the centre (down teh street if you go to the centre). If available, definitely try the suite! The bed is a little small though, because of the frame. Great personal service at breakfast in the morning and an amazingly large assortiment!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miekeb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a lovely 4 days in Lisbon this past month.We had the great pleasure of staying at Castilho House,a cute,modern,zen,extremely clean "hotel"=b and b.It was so well situated near the centre of town ,the Pombal roundabout.Maria, the owner, is a charming,pleasant ,helpful
delight. She supplies a lovely breakfast to all her guests,which we found so convenient.It means you don't have to set about looking for breakie.You are energized to attack the day touring.
The hotel is in a safe district of Lisbon,central to a lot of sites.Don't be thrown off by the entrance.There behind heavy doors..and walls with some tagging(a blight on the city)lies a little jewel of a hotel.Maybe I should have kept it to myself?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadiana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The owner told me the hotel used to be a (massive) apartment for one whole family. It is now turned into a really nice B&B with 8 rooms. It's clean, has great finishings and very nice owners/staff.

Don';t get put off by street-entrance, as this used to be an apartment it has a regular entrance, not like a hotel. Make sure you have the address (with house-number) ready for the taxi driver! Once you get through the tiny reception I guarantee you';ll love the room (have a look at their website for an exact pic of each of the 8 rooms). The staff speaks a bit of english, but you'll be relying in body-language as well :-).

I stayed here with a friend for 1 night and my place was then taken by his girlfriend. For my stay the owner arranged an extra single bed (brand new, they had to take the plastic wrapper off!)

The breakfast is served in the kitchen with seating for about 8-10 people, all served by the owner. Don't expect a big spread, but breakfast was really nice.

It's a bit of a walk to the centre of town, but close to the metro and other public transport.

I'd especially recommend this hotel for couples, as the room we stayed in (501) has an 'open' shower and toilet.

Great place, nice people and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Have a look at their website, you'll see exact pics of the room. The place really looks like wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Expo Astoria
Hotel Expo Astoria
#129 of 255 in Lisbon
927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castilho House Cais
Castilho House Cais
#67 of 258 in Lisbon
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
71 Castilho Guest House
71 Castilho Guest House
#57 of 258 in Lisbon
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castilho Lisbon Suites
Castilho Lisbon Suites
#141 of 494 in Lisbon
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 258 in Lisbon
631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Republica Bed & Breakfast & Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castilho House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castilho House

Address: Rua Castilho 2, Lisbon 1269-073, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castilho House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castilho House is a local lodging establishment located at Rua Castilho, right in the centre of the city of Lisbon, close to Marquês de Pombal square and very close to the Eduardo VII Park.It’s located in a privileged area, in the centre of the business and cultural districts of the city, near the Avenida da Liberdade and the historical districts of the capital. With a subway station located 200m away, as well as several bus stops to all different areas of the city, it allows easy and accessible means of transportation to any destination.It’s a place of excellence, prestige and quality, using a minimalistic and avant-garde concept with a unique and exclusive design, and setting a modern, up-to-date and sophisticated feel.Here, the client is our main concern, and as such we strive to offer all the comfort, satisfaction and privacy you are looking for.All public and private areas are well decorated with hardwood floors and a combination of dark and light colours that radiate a warm and welcoming atmosphere.CASTILHO HOUSE has a reception desk, a waiting room, 8 suites, a lounge area and a meal area.The attentive staff is at your service to assure you enjoy a relaxing and memorable stay with the permanent availability of someone from our personnel in the reception area. There is also a public parking lot open 24 hours a day, right opposite the location.Castilho House has 8 suites, all of them furnished with elegantly decorated double beds and equipped with all modern comforts, such as: - Private bathroom with personal hygiene products - Air conditioning - Flat screen LED TV - Free Wi-Fi web access - Electronic Key - Wakeup call service - Daily housekeeping - 24 hour room serviceThe clients can enjoy a buffet breakfast, included in the boarding and served in the meal room, with a hint of the casual and homely, typical of our Portuguese hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Castilho House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing