We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lunch place near Se”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canto da Vila

Canto da Vila
Reserve with
Canto da Vila is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 4,058 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: O Canto da Vila Bistro has reopened! Be welcome!
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch place near Se”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

After visiting the Castle of São Jorge we were looking for a not too touristy place to have lunch nearby. Found it just a little down the hill along the historic electrico 28.
We sat outside, watching the trams and tourists alike climb up the narrow cobblestone street. Service was very friendly and nice, just the food took a bit long due to a big party (of 12) inside. Food was delicous, prizes reasonable, location entertaining and service great. What more do you want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    257
    28
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Friendly service and very good, authentic food which was beautifully cooked. The vegetable risotto and traditional cod and potato in a creamy sauce were good value and imaginatively presented.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelledpartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another local Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Were looking for somewhere to eat the evening we arrived in Lisbon; jumped on a #12 vintage tram and got off by the scenic view over the Tagus from Alfama, and stumbled across this little restaurant. Tucked away in a corner, if the tables hadn't been outside we probably wouldn't have seen it, it was well worth it though. Wonderful food, with some very interesting epicurean collaborations. Not particularly expensive. Service was good, staff spoke several languages (including thankfully English) and we were later entertained with some wonderful, gentle live guitar playing. So much enjoyed he place that we went back for a beer the day we were leaving just for the ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i8ubutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Morsels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a quaint place, great service, with personal touches and delicious food. Being from America, the portion sizes were a little on the smaller side, but maybe I am just used to larger portions. The ingredients were high quality and fresh, with interesting combinations: pomegranate sauce with the duck, beet root mixed in with the cheese spread, for example. The prices were very reasonable as well. I would definitely visit this restaurant again, if I found myself in Portugal in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mon4li5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nothing special but good food and excellent ambiance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just stopped for the nice life guitarmusic, looked at the card (nothing special) and decided to stay just for the nice ambiance. The food was really better than expected, normal prices, good wine, and a good saltimbocca of chickenmeat. The service, the outdoor eating and last but not least the life guitar music makes this places ideal for a complete nice eveningdinner.
Well done starters, and a maincourse made with passion.
Thanks guys, also for your advice for Fadomusic, we hope to enjoy that tomorow!
After an expensive and bad experience yesterday, this was nice and what we needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canto da Vila also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Canto da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing