We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still The best Spanish corner in Portugal after 21 years!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Andaluz

Meson Andaluz
Reserve with
Meson Andaluz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Andalusian Cuisine in Travessa do Alecrim. On your way from the Chiado hill to Cais do Sodre, you'll find Meson Andaluz in a restaured seventeenth-century building with brick arcades, where the tapas are the star. The list of wines includes Spanish and Portuguese names, and the new list, Iberian and with some new names in it stands out for its quality and modernity, without losing the essence of the traditional flavors. Be it on our terrace or in the interior lighted by a small light, the atmosphere invites a degustation of a tapas, raciones and charcuterie's festival.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
“Still The best Spanish corner in Portugal after 21 years!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've visited Mezon for the first time about 21 years ago and since then only the place has changed, but excellence is maintained through an excellent cellar, the food is even better than the Spanish one. Quality, sensations, presentation all together make this an unique experience for gourmands, definitely a must go.Thanks Mestre Almeida

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PVitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    196
    60
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are on our first trip to Lisbon and noticed Meson Andaluz by chance when walking past. We had absolutely delicious tapas here, starting with the tuna two ways, which was perfect, followed by walnut/goat cheese pastries. We also enjoyed the seared scallops and an incredible foie gras dish with apples. Also excellent were the desserts. We shared the sweet potato cake with olive oil ice cream and a ginger/chocolate cake. The service was friendly and attentive. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Excellent spanish cousine in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great place to eat Spanish food in Lisbon.
It's not cheap, but overall experience is excellent.
Food delicious, the service good and you can taste most famous spanish dishes here.
From tapas, to paella, and great wine (portuguese of course!)
Don't miss it

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were in Lisbon for four days and happened on this restaurant one night. The food was fantastic, in particular try the scallops on cauliflower to start - they are delicious. The mains were the real highlight, we had the oxtail with pumpkin and the fillet steak on a potato rosti. Both dishes were amazing and the man who served us was friendly and welcoming. We will definitely go back if we get a chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Desmondstrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply the best ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I confess I am Mr. Almeid's fan since his first place in Parede in the eighties. Since then I have wondered how he does it ... truly raising the ordinary to extraordinary! taking for granted the first rate service and focusing on the the food ... hey the ultimate reason for dinning out ... how does he manages such extraordinary and unique flavors and still so familiar, so "like granny did it"? If you are really lucky he'll cook for you, on the moment and that is a really life shattering experience ...! I am sure it is not wise and in my best interest to write this review - after all some gems are better enjoyed if left for some lucky few - but he surely deserves it, Obrigada Sr. Almeida pelas fabulosas experiencias gastronómicas que nos proporcionou. Ana de Barros

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnadeBarros_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Andaluz also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Meson Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing