We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great spot”

Wine Lover Bairro Alto
Ranked #1,473 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $1 - $33
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: .
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Definitely a great spot”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just wandered into this place one night and was rewarded with a fabulous experience. The food was phenomenal, the service was great and the owner chatted with us for most of our stay giving us some fabulous advice about Lisbon. We had various tapas and wine as well as delectable desserts.

They have live music in the bar area after 9pm at night and it is jammed. Do yourself a favor and check it out when you are in Bairro Alto,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank islndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    92
    34
    19
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tapas, wonderful wines”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food was simple yet well executed. The wine list was extensive but great value. The staff were a little overwhelmed over the new year's weekend, so service was likely a bit slower. However, it also allowed for more time to enjoy the wine and food. There was no sense of being rushed to finish. Definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a must visit on any trip to Lisbon! We loved it!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I went to Portugal on our honeymoon. We spent five nights in Lisbon and went to Wine Lover twice. We loved it! They have hundreds of local Portuguese wines, all of which you can get by the bottle or try by the glass. They also have delicious food, including local cheeses, meats, and traditional petiscos, or small plates. There is a mix of comfy couches and high-top chairs with wine barrels as tables.

One of the owners greets each customer as they come in and you feel as though you are one of the family. The wait staff is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about wine. Over the course of two nights we tried about 16 different types of Portuguese wine and learned a lot about wine from the servers. I have always liked wine, but now, thanks to Wine Lovers, I have started to develop a love for it!

I would highly recommend this spot if you want to try a wide variety of local Portugese wines, have a light dinner, and enjoy some live music. There is great live music starting at 9pm (at least on Friday and Sunday - the nights we went) and it is located in a great, central location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex4289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top attraction in Lisbon- I'd go back just for this :-)”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was one of my highlights during my recent visit to Lisbon. It is such a down to earth venue, with a chilled ambience and live music during the evening.

The hosts have such a passion and breadth of knowledge about their carefully selected Portuguese wine selection. They introduce the wine in such a way that you cannot help to be captivated, as though they are relaying an epic tale with suspense and mystery, in which all of your senses will take something away from the experience.

The wine list is guaranteed to appeal to wine drinkers of all tastes and budgets (or no budget) and even if you don't know very much about wine, I'd still recommend it to see these wine philosophers in action.

'Wine Lover' also serve a selection of delicious petiscos to accompany the wine, and of course they will help to select the best wine to accompany the food and ensure that it all tastes divine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seren_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an absolute find!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We found this bar whilst going for stroll after a meal. When it caught our eye, we were instantly drawn to this fine place. It was just oozing with character. Once we took our seat the waitor came to us and asked us what kind of wine we liked. We described what kind of flavours we liked and he went away and came back with the most tastiest wine Ive ever tried for just €6 a glass. We also had some really tasty local cheese. The second waitor came along to talk to us about wine and port and we were blown away by his knowledge. There was a live musician playing some classical guitar. We were told that there were different artists every night. The setting couldn't be more perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Christophelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Lover Bairro Alto also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Wine Lover Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing