We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best location of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CAN the CAN Lisboa

CAN the CAN Lisboa
Reserve with
CAN the CAN Lisboa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #709 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $25 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Description: Conserves have always been around. But there is one small group of them (and one that it is worth getting to know) that resides at the margins of Lisbon's Terreiro do Paço – or, more precisely, at the Can the Can restaurant. This is a place where Portuguese canned and fresh foods meet every day and where, at the hands of chef Akis Konstantinidis, they combine to create a new concept in Mediterranean cuisine.Various typically Portuguese products are on show here, such as, for example, the best Port wines. And if you find that you like them as much as we think you may, you can always take them with you, too, courtesy of our first-floor store.On top of all this, we believe that if we sometimes eat with our eyes, then our ears can also help us to savour the best flavours. That's why you will find your meal accompanied by Portuguese guitar music every afternoon on the terrace and, in the evenings, by unique kinds of Fado. Our FadoLab project is the place where the Fado of yesteryear meets and is rejuvenated by Fado styles of today in a musical atmosphere free of grand ceremony or rules of behaviour.With all this in mind, we wish to say no more than our door is always open and no-one needs to ask in advance if they may enter. You'll find us here at your disposal.
Wurenlos, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the best location of our trip!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

good food, amazing service, perfect atmosphere on the most beautiful square of lisbon! I can only recommend even if a little bit pricey... but worth the price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank askben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    160
    65
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, imaginatively done.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a great find, we had a wonderful meal here, my wife and daughter loved it.
The service from the waiters was good, but the service and attention from the owner was superb, charming and fun!
The location is amazing, looking over the square and the water, beautiful.
Then the food...... Sublime. In London it would be £100 per head, it's a fraction of that here for Amazing grub.
The anchovies starter is excellent and the pork medallions were served with a delicious mash and cooked perfectly.
The bad bit, we found it on the last night...........:-(

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Try the Cherry Mustard”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here in June and decided to just have cheeseburgers. It was good but the best part was the cherry mustard. It was very different and had a zip to it. I went back a few days later to purchase some to take home. The owner was very apologetic that they did not sell it to the public. It thought it would be a great gift for my mom. We sat outside and enjoyed the tiny bird that visited our table. He (she?) would take the bread from the palm of your hand. Lunch for two with two drinks was about ~$43 US. The inside is air conditioned and the restrooms are nice as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarciaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, good service and sangria is delicious!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've been to Can the Can twice. The place is beautifully decorated. Waiters are very smiley and I believe a bold guy who is always there to make sure everything runs smoothly is the owner. Waiters are smiley and had good knowledge of the menu and could give us lots of suggestions. Food was very good. Location is cool and safe. The WiFi works amazingly. You absolutely have to try the sangria! Is the best I had in Lisbon! Well done guys!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Three of us had lunch here yesterday - just perfect! The location is spot on - near the water on Praca da Comercio - with tables fronting onto the square.
Two of us had the Traditional Cod Sausage and the other had a tiborna (a kind of toasted bread) - all pretty good. Service just fine and prices very reasonable, particularly for the amazing location.
One of the best restaurants in this part of town - give it a go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAN the CAN Lisboa also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to CAN the CAN Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing