We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique decor, great location, and wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique decor, great location, and wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon in Lisbon and we couldn't have been happier! We chose this B&B because the decor seemed so unique and the reviews raved about the breakfast, we weren't disappointed! Our room was small but tastefully decorated - I love the opera/theater theme throughout. We did get one of the rooms with the clear glass bathrooms that were mentioned in some of the other reviews - but we didn't mind it at all. I appreciate that it wasn't your typical hotel room with the same boring decor - a lot of time and effort was put into designing this B&B and it definitely shows. The breakfast offered a huge variety - lots of fresh fruit (including mangoes and persimmons!) and fresh-squeezed juices and sweet and savory Portuguese pastries. Everything was delicious!

What made the stay really special though was the incredible staff! Everyone, especially Ines, was so friendly and helpful. They gave us fantastic recommendations for eating out and getting drinks. We were recommended a great place that some locals didn't even know about, so we felt pretty special. This B&B also has the most perfect location right in the center of Lisboa - you're minutes away from shopping and great restaurants as well as two different train stations, which means day trips to Sintra and Estoril are a breeze and the staff will help you get anywhere you want to go. I highly recommend this B&B! We'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnguyen612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the amazing review and for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion. It was an honour to have you both as our guests and we hope to have you back at Teatro B&B real soon.

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    242
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
82
739
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are considering staying at the Teatro B&B don't hesitate to make a booking. This place is packed full of character with a unique theatre-based design concept inspired by Commedia dell'arte of 17th century Italy (but also has Parisian influences). It's all white, black with splashes of colour and silver theatre character wall decals. Every furnishing, decor embellishment and architectural detail was clearly very well thought out. The design is truly outstanding. Sure, the rooms are small, but the space is well-planned and stocked with all the necessities you'd find at a 5-star chain. And smart use of mirrored surfaces make the small foot print feel more roomy. The bathroom is all modern and shines with sparkly black marble-like surfaces on floors, walls and ceiling.

The 3 girls working the reception desk (a tiny space at the 2nd floor staircase landing) are friendly and accommodating, pointing out all the best restaurants, sights and bars including one that is new-to-the-scene that transforms the roof of a parking lot into a trendy, terrace lounge with a view (simply called Park). No sign out front makes it feel like an in-the-know kinda place.

Breakfast is also worth a mention - a spread (massive actually) of different kings of pastries, cold meats, cheese, fruit, toast, cereal, yogurt, eggs and a few other goodies. Excellent fresh juices and great coffee as well.

Situated in the heart of the Chiado at the entrance of the maze of narrow cobbled streets which define the Barrio Alto neighborhood, the Teatro B&B is an easy walk to some of the main sights, or the tram/train that can take you there.

Keep in mind that it is a B&B not a hotel, so no lobby, no common ares (other than the kitchen), no fitness, spa, etc. It's quite intimate and private; perfect for couples, no kids allowed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow! What an amazing review! We really appreciate all reviews (especially good ones), but to get a review like this from such an experienced traveller and TripAdvisor user, well, that just makes it all the more meaningful and worthwhile. Thank you so very much for this wonderful review. Just a quick remark: while at the moment we do not have a common area for our guests, if everything goes according to plan that will change by the end of August. By then, we’ll have a new breakfast room that will work as a bar throughout the afternoon and evening, open to both our guests and regular customers. So we’ll be expecting you and eagerly awaiting your return. See you soon!

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

really nice place, right in centre of Lisbon, near to Metro too.
Breakfast is worth of 4-5 stars Hotel and we hardly could imagine somebody eating that much...

The only small problem we faced in our room (number 33) was the quality of the right side windows which was somehow defective and letting the noise to enter the room on nigh time (it can be fixed very easily we guess)

Excellent ration price/quality of the room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us on such a meaningful celebration for both you and your wife.
Noise has always been one of the main concerns for us as Teatro B&B is located in an area that tends to be noisy outside, especially at night during weekends. That’s why we’ve installed double glazed windows that assure our guests the best possible soundproofing in the room even on those noisy weekend nights. We believe the problem with the window in your room might not have been that it was defective, but most likely that it was not closed properly. The windows open in two different ways: from the side as all normal windows and from the bottom, in a way that allows fresh air to come into the room through a small gap along the top of the window. When they are not properly and fully closed, they let some of the outside noise in, which can understandably be distressful for some. We will nevertheless check the window just to be sure everything is ok.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

An excellent B&B where the brunch is delicous and diversified; the quality of the hospitality exiquisite and the rooms lovely decorated
Located in the center of Lisboa from which you can walk almost everywhere downtown!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review and for choosing Teatro B&B. We look forward to your next visit!

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Teatro has THE perfect location in the centre of Lisbon. And as taxis are very cheap this is the best place to stay and see everything in Lisbon and also have the shops and restaurants within 1 minute walking distance. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic with mouthwatering pastel de nata and lovely empada's. And fresh orange juice. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, really grat. The only negative remark I have is about the relatively small room and the fact that everything is made, it seems, for very tall people: I could not reach the hooks in the bathroom or the coffee machine. Also the TV is very high, out of reach when the remote control is broken (which it was)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for the positive review on display here. We do know our rooms are not the largest, and we do understand and accept your criticism, but we did our best with the space we had available. The TV’s for instance, are placed hanging from the ceiling in all our rooms in order to maximize the useful space available. Unfortunately if the remote breaks or if the batteries are dead, the TV becomes quite impractical, as you regrettably experienced, seeing that they are not placed to be in reach of even fairly tall people. Nevertheless, and despite some negative remarks, we’re glad to see that you liked a lot of things during your stay as well, and we hope to have you as our guest again sometime in the future.

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location is perfect; between good shopping and good evening out to nice bars and restaurants! The breakfast is very good, fresh and with a lot of choice! We had a room with two seperate beds , but just above the breakfastroom so that woke us up very early...but we could go back to sleep. The staff was friendly. The only thing we didnt like was all the glass..so there is no privacy if you need to go to the toilet! And the room smelled somewhat funny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Teatro B&B and for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We would also like to apologize to you for being awakened in the morning by the noise from the breakfast room. The staff always tries to keep it down in the morning but sometimes it does get a bit hectic. You’ll be glad to know that the ‘funny’ smell in the room has been taken care of and we’re really sorry it didn’t happen while you were staying with us. Despite the fact you didn’t appreciate the glazed bathroom walls (which is understandable) we’re very happy for the fact that you did enjoy many other things during your stay with us. We hope you give us the chance to correct some of the things you didn’t like on your next visit.

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

we stayed for one night here and can really recommend this as a place to stay; the rooms are luxurious with very nice touches, the breakfast is wonderful; staff are very kind and helpful , location perfect and easily accessible by underground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroBB, General Manager at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Teatro B&B and thank you for the small but very positive review. We hope next time you get to stay a bit longer!

The Teatro B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Property: Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rua Trindade 36, Lisbon 1249-245, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Teatro Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teatro B&B is the newest hand-crafted and unique Bed and Breakfast in Lisbon. Located in the heart of Lisbon, between the chic, cultural and trendy Chiado and bohemian Bairro Alto, is arguably the best location to know the city that sings fado and enacts her charms on stage in the theater. The Hotel is walking distance from major shops, theaters, museums, restaurants and bars. Surrounding the Hotel, through the picturesque alleys you can easily access all the places.Enjoy your best buffet breakfast in town, served daily. With no timetables, our staff is willing to help you all times in a familiar ambiance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Teatro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing