We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare true excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 246 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Rare true excellence”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a pearl in terms of price/quality, interiors, location and service. It is right in front of the Bistro 100 Maneiras, which has one of the best cocktail bars in town and next to the centre of night life, Bairro Alto.Try it before it gets upgraded!!

Room Tip: Get a view to Bairro alto
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasparca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    273
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
790
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent location -most things within walking distance, if not public transit was easy to access and close. The rooms are tastfully decorated with a terrific rain shower in the chic high ceiling bathrooms. The breakfast was the best we've ever had. The selection and quality of the food deserves a top rating with the presentation receiving a 10 out of 10. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would give this B&B a 5 star raiting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Pierrot" room, beautifully decorated. It was very quiet with excellent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved this hotel from the minute we got in the tiny lift with the old-fashioned concertina doors that you have to close manually. The hotel would be described as "boutique" in traveller-writer speak, as it has been extremely tastefully designed on the theme of the Comede des Arts characters, with proscenium arch and colonnade motifs running throughout the corridors and rooms. An excellent choice because of its close proximity across the road from the beautiful old Teatro da Trindade.
Though pushed for space, the layout of the rooms with the use of lots of glass and mirrors made them feel spacious and luxurious, with use of strong colours and very modish fittings - our room was red, black and white. The bed was wonderfully comfortable which is such an important aspect of a hotel!!
The most fabulous thing was the wonderful breakfast in the tiny dining room with glass tables and Philippe Starck 'Ghost' chairs. The intimate nature of this hotel, and the charming attention by director Henrique who serves at breakfast every morning made this a unique experience. The buffet groaned with cakes and delicacies of every sort, with lovely fresh fruits, cooked breakfast as well as different cold meats and cheeses. Even chocolate mousse was served by Henrique with volcanic rock salt - sounds bizarre but was delicious.
The only drawback for us was lack of shelf space in the bathroom, (not enough for two spongebags) and not really enough hooks for the three towels each.
But that was a minor issue compared with the incredibly friendly and attentive service by all the staff - obviously Henrique leads from the front - with Daniel giving us great directions and ideas for places to visit and things to do and telling us about things Portuguese which helped our understanding of the country.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes small hotels, with personal service and the opportunity to talk to staff. With only 15 rooms, and a brilliant central location, this makes Hotel Teatro a must for us to return to Lisbon.
As a tip, if you look on Google streetview, it is difficult to see the hotel entrance, because the Google images were obviously taken before Hotel Teatro opened in August 2012. When on streetview, facing a shop called Matador, you will notice signage saying Nova Democracia. The hotel entrance under the signs is the two right-side glass doors which appear darker (not curtained) and are closer to the wooden bench. Our taxi driver from the airport did not know where it was, as the hotel is so new, but because we had looked on Google we had a good idea. It does not look an inviting entrance, but get up to reception and then your room, and you will be stunned by the decor.
Another tip: our taxi from the airport cost E11.80, which was correct, but the taxi from the hotel back to the airport tried to sting us for E24.99. Make sure you ask before you get in the taxi how much it is likely to be - cheating taxi drivers are a worldwide phenomenon!

Room Tip: All rooms face the street and look out onto Teatro da Trindade, a beautiful old theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I found this to be a charming alternative to mainstream city centre hotels in Baixa, at a materially lower price point.

Room was spotlessly clean and fitted out to a high quality in a very individual, bold and wholly unconventional style (though I have to confess my preference is probably for more mainstream finishes). The bathroom in particular was super, with bespoke fittings and materials that ~I have never seen in this context before. My room had a great view to the front over the small square, and was very quiet.

Breakfast was great, with possibly the widest array of dishes I've seen in a breakfast buffet outside of Germany or Switzerland.

The hotel's staff are arguably its greatest asset, and all were charming, helpful and enthusiastic. I was staying for business and was by this stage familiar with Lisbon's tourist and social attractions, but from conversations I overheard these guys have a passion for their city and really engage with guests to help them get the most out of their stay. A very good base, then for leisure travellers and weekend breaks, with many attractions being within walking distance.

Downsides were limited, but as a business traveller, I would have appreciated more communal/lounge space - the reception is on the second floor and is little more than a cupboard while there was no desk in the bedroom to work from. Also, access from street level is by buzzer only, meaning that I had to wait on the pavement for a couple of minutes before being let in. If I'd been in tourist mode this wouldn't have been an issue, but with the stresses of a working day ahead, it was a little bit irksome.

Overall, I would recommend Teatro B&B most highly to leisure travellers and those on weekend breaks wishing to be close to the main attractions. Those travelling for business on someone else's account might be better placed in a more mainstream hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect location, super nice and friendly stuff members, new, spotless clean, very interesting and unique design. I have never had breakfast like this ever on my trips...the variety and quality of pastries...you would not want to leave...

Room Tip: Some rooms have see through wall in a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lisbon is a wonderful city to enjoy a city break holiday and Teatro the most perfect place to stay to make the whole experience faultless. Recently opened, great care has been taken to create a sophisticated experience. Every room has been lovingly designed with it's own character based on the theater: Harlequin, Columbine etc. The spaces are relatively small and the designers have been clever to create the sense of space by using mirrors and glass walls. This is an adult's place and certainly not suitable for young children. The location was excellent, right by the metro and in the heart of the evening action. Breakfast was astounding. It was a 5 star affair but better because it was full of interesting things to tempt you, not just the standard. Think groaning sideboard and you have the picture, they did not have enough space for all the food on offer. I stayed for three nights and did not manage to try everything! The staff were delightful and could not have done more for you. All in all it was clear a great deal of loving care has been put into creating the Teatro experience. I hope they can keep up the high standard. I really want to go back for more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location, very imaginative and interesting design . staff extremely courteous and helpful. Comfortable rooms with safe, bar and tea and coffee.Breakfast to die for ----the best we ever had. worth staying here just for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eithne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
958 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 248 in Lisbon
1,510 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
775 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Property: Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rua da Trindade 36, Lisbon 1249-245, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Teatro Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teatro B&B is the newest hand-crafted and unique Bed and Breakfast in Lisbon. Located in the heart of Lisbon, between the chic, cultural and trendy Chiado and bohemian Bairro Alto, is arguably the best location to know the city that sings fado and enacts her charms on stage in the theater. The Hotel is walking distance from major shops, theaters, museums, restaurants and bars. Surrounding the Hotel, through the picturesque alleys you can easily access all the places.Enjoy your best buffet breakfast in town, served daily. With no timetables, our staff is willing to help you all times in a familiar ambiance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Teatro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing