We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come in the afternoon to avoid night crowds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelados Santini

Gelados Santini
Ranked #9 of 90 Dessert in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come in the afternoon to avoid night crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We walked by Santini's late at night and saw a huge line out the door, thwarting our gelato plans. Luckily, Preggo came back the next day to an only half-filled gelateria. They had tons of egg-free choices (it's not easy being pregnant in Europe where everything is undercooked and full of raw eggs) which I really appreciated.

Lisbon during the day is baking hot; it was a real joy to sit and savor my honeydew melon treat. Best sorbet I've ever had, bar none.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PreggoandHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    290
    107
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best ice-cream of Portugal?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This ice-cream is simply incredible, it's second only to one we tried in Rome. This is a must-visit place in Lisbon. It's also reasonable priced and you don't have to over-eat to try a lot of tastes - they can make combos of "1 ball - 2 tastes", "2 balls - 3 tastes", etc.

There is almost always a queue that stretches outside the shop, but it's well worth the wait.

Unfortunately, all ice-cream is hidden in metal jars, so you can't choose by colour and texture, you have to look at the chalkboard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Egor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
167 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a good ice cream”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I tried chocoalte and vanilla and the flavours are without a real taste, nice shop, good location, but if you want a real cream try another shop

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank massimo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was delicious gelato, in a great neighborhood (Chaido). The day we were there they had a cherry gelato promotion and we got a cone of fresh local cherries to go with!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Georganna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some of the best Ice-cream you'll have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Yes, the queues may be out the door and yes, it's a little more expensive but it's definitely worth coming here for some ice-cream. Easily some of the best I've tasted and there are so many flavours that there would be something for everyone - young or old. I particularly recommend the maracuja and the raspberry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelados Santini also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Gelados Santini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing