We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet next to the head end of your bed! But for the rest fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residencial Valentina
Ranked #109 of 455 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Toilet next to the head end of your bed! But for the rest fine”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's a very small guest house on the first floor of an old apartment building in central Lisbon, It looks a bit simple and old, and the fact that there was no wall between the bathroom and the bedroom was a bit of a shocker when we came in. But once your passed that, you will find that the rooms and the rest of the hotel are clean, the beds are comfortable, there is a larger, shared bathroom and it's on a central location.

The street where the hotel is located is a bit of a dump, but surprisingly the Portuguese parliament, housed in a magnificent palace, is literally around the corner! Also it's only a short walk from Bairro Alto (the area with the most nightlife) and a 20 minute walk from the largest shopping district "Chiado"!

If you value a certain level of luxury and style, I would not recommend this hotel, but if you're just backpacking, or staying for a few days and just want a cheap and central place to stay: Then you should definitely give this hotel a try!

Room Tip: pick one in the back of the hotel, so you don't have that much problems with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
18
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel few times in June 2013. Girl in the reception was extremely nice and helpful and gave us the best tips of Lisbon. Location of the hotel was great, just next to Bairro Alto and walking distance to the centre. Rooms which have windows to the Calcada da Estrela are a bit noisy because of the trams. Big supermarket just around the corner. Free wifi :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soikkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at the Residencial Valentina for four nights in June 2013, paying a total of 140 Euros. Payment by credit or debit card is not possible, so I ended up paying cash, which was not an issue for me.

The hotel is located on the popular No 28 tram route, within a stone's throw of the Palacio da Assembleia, where Portugal's parliament meets. It is also easy to get by 'bus to the Cais do Sodre (for trains to Estoril and Cascais) and to Belem (for the Belem Tower, Jeronimos Monastery and Carriages Museum). There are also cafes, restaurants and small supermarkets nearby, as well as a post office right next door. It looks a little way out of the centre on a map, but it really isn't, as the public transport connections are so good. The area struck me as being quite safe, even at night.

My room was light and spacious and decently, though simply, furnished, with a king-sized bed, dressing table, wardrobe and bedside table. I liked the wooden floor. There was satellite TV (with a good range of English language channels) and the wi-fi Internet connection was efficient. The sound-proofing was adequate, although I could hear the noise of the trams in the street (even though my room overlooked a side alley). I did not need to use the air-conditioning, so cannot comment on its effectiveness or otherwise. I found the bed comfortable and slept very well for the duration of my stay. The standard of cleaning (which was done every day) was very good. There was no en suite bathroom, but there was one just along the corridor, in which everything worked OK, including the shower. I suppose that it the hotel was full, you might have to wait your turn, which might prove irksome.

What I particularly liked about the hotel was the warmth, friendliness and helpfulness of the people running it - Sandra and her parents. Full marks for customer care!

I would definitely stay at the Valentina again and also recommend it to others travelling on a budget. I might, however, opt next time for a room with an en suite bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drunen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Right nex to Barrio Alto so in a great location. Also great value for money, as it was really inexpenisve. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions etc.

Negatives were that the trams outside make quite some noise. Also the shower was inside the bedroom (not in a seperate room). Not very common, but on the other hand no problem for us. I can imagine people could have propblem with that though. Als we asked for two singles, but got assigned a double.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We usually look for charming little places like this because the experience is much more personal. Stayed at Valentina for 5 nights in Lisbon and it turned out to be a great choice. The girl who runs the place did her best to make us feel like home. We had en-suited room, which was cleaned every day and wi-fi which is pretty much all we are looking for. It is also great value for money and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is good, just next to Bairro Alto, but the rooms can have an unexpected layout... some have the toilet and shower just next to your bed, without any curtain or wall, and some don´t have a window... and others have a basin and a shower but not toilet

Room Tip: Be sure which facilities the room you are choosing has. In some rooms the toilet and shower is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Principe Real
Lisbon City Break Apartments
Parque das Nacoes
Panoramic Living
Panoramic Living
#80 of 455 in Lisbon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pateo Saudade Lofts
Pateo Saudade Lofts
#54 of 455 in Lisbon
56 reviews
Jardim de Santos Hostel
#191 of 455 in Lisbon
84 reviews
Sao Bento Best Apartments
#90 of 455 in Lisbon
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Valentina

Property: Residencial Valentina
Address: Calcada da Estrela 27 | 1 Fllor, Lisbon 1200-661, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 455 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residencial Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing