We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Ranked #27 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we did eat dinner at the restaurant. It was wonderful! The space on the roof top is absolutely perfect, and provides beautiful views of the river. The service was spectacular! The waiter really made you feel important even though he was the only server, and he explained all the dishes and wines to us. The food, while not perfect, was very good. We enjoyed every dish, especially the first, which was a simple potato and onion based soup with cabbage and chorizo in it. It was soooo good, and done probably pretty close to as perfectly as it could be. If you can eat dinner here while in Lisbon, do it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Monte Belvedere and absolutely loved it. We were greeted with fresh orange juice by a very friendly member of staff. We ate breakfast on the terrace upstairs, and the view was simply amazing. We were given maps of the city and helpful tips for walks that would be interesting to our taste.

In addition to that, our room was very clean and modern. We were given a complementary bottle of wine that was very tasty, and the water pressure/heat in the shower was excellent. The only reason I did not give the hotel 5 stars, was that there was construction going on right outside of our window. In this case, the hotel could do nothing about it. However, I am sure it will all be sorted by the time we visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleNomad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it! The location is perfect: very near the #28 tram and the old city but in a more peaceful neighbourhood. Our room was lovely, the bed was ultra comfortable. The terrace was magical. We had the dinner and can't recommend it highly enough. Sergio did an excellent job explaining each dish and wine which really enhanced our appreciation. All of the staff was warm and friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed the dinner twice. Excellent food accomponied with very good wine at very affordable price - altogether with a beautiful view across the Tejo.
Our kids (10 and 13) enjoyed the dinner as well. The standard menu was modified to suit better the kids - and they loved it.
Great value! We will for sure return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was extremely happy spending 1 day in this House for Guests.

Monte Belvedere has perfect location, it is easy to find. On the roof terrace you will get the amazing view over the river and the city.

I was a guest for party wedding and enjoyed the time and the place VERY much, because the service was good and well organized, and the staff is so kind and helpful there, so there were no problem with language at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RenatKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Although we did not actually stay in Monte Belvedere, we did enjoy the tasting menu dinner here! The service was fantastic, our waiter was very friendly and helpful and told us all about the food and wine. We had 5 course and 5 different wines all for £25ish! the food was delicious, as was the wine! It was my girlfriends birthday at the time and I had mentioned it to them before arriving (Just chancing my arm basically...) but they went and baked an entire cake! it was fantastic! I should also point out that you eat on a roof terrace overlooking the sea so the views are fantastic. Highly recommend coming here for the dinner at least!

Room Tip: I would advise to book in advance on the day as the restaurant did not appear to be the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This guesthouse is marvellous! Centrally located, within walking distance to Bairro Alto or other places of interest. Roof-terrace with a magnificent view. Cosy guest-rooms. Best of all: the people who host you. They are really nice and friendly, they really care and make you feel at home. And whatever you like to know - they know and tell you. Excellent service! I really loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 255 in Lisbon
1,526 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
645 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
311 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Convento do Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Belvedere by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Belvedere by Shiadu

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-401, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $127 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say it has the best view of Lisbon! From our panoramic restaurant where breakfast is served every morning for our guests, you will not be indifferent to the Cristo Rei embracing Lisbon, the river Tagus [Tejo], the 25th of April Bridge with lights showing where the Atlantic Ocean begins and also the Basilica da Estrela that stands out between the rooftops of Lapa… However, the main feature of Monte Belvedere by Shiadu is not simply its amazing view! Its 13 rooms, some of which with a magnificent view of the river Tagus , have all the comfort you need for an unforgettable stay and our dedicated staff will welcome you, making you feel as if you were at home. Every day you will enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast prepared just for you! Near Monte Belvedere by Shiadu you will find the Northwind Statue [Estatua do Adamastor] (fictional character created by Luis de Camoes, in his master works The Lusiadas). The higher part of Santa Catarina is one of the most beautiful places of Lisbon and only two steps away from the city buzz. With views over the river Tagus it is said that since the 17th Century this plateau, once known as Monte do Pico or Monte Belvedere, is famous because of its lookout point. According to legend throughout the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries, from here one could see the moving ships: this is why still today there is a proverbial saying that is: “Ver navios no Alto de Santa Catarina” [“Watching the ships from the top of Santa Catarina”). Follow your instinct and we will be waiting…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Monte Belvedere by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing