We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet like the "pasteis"!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Belvedere by Shiadu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Ranked #18 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet like the "pasteis"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Travelled a lot, been in so many places - but the Monte Belvedere tops them all.
The neighbourhood is in the very heart of the city with the Camoes square in 500 metres distance.
The place is a recently renovated old city house with charming, clean, warm rooms in a mix of art deco/modern styling.
The breakfast buffet was small but included EXACTLY what one needs to start the day - all fresh, local cousine...
The rooftop has the best view especially looking to the south direction which means: sun all day!
But just next to the building you have the miradouro Santa Catarina: one of the city's meeting points for chilling and enjoying the view.
But what was the absolute number one is the Girls and Boys working there,who take such amazing care of someone and make you feel like really home!
I had to hug them when I left!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    81
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
311
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Lisbon both coming and going from our European vacation.
Initially we had guarded opinion of Lisbon, but on returning for 24 hours prior to return flight to US we saw Portugal in whole new light!
This hotel is utterly charming. Modern decor with antique touches. Gorgeous windows and fabulous views from rooftop terrace. They offer Portugese dining experience with fixed menu
in evening ( vegetarian option available), but we passed on this due to our schedule. They sent us off touring on own with map and suggestions for dining, shopping and sight seeing.
Tried two restuarants they suggested and loved them both! Everything is in walking distance if you can do the hills.
Had the best 24 hours of our three week trip.

Room Tip: We had room 22 and it is utterly charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callantsoog, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming place on an excellent location with stunning views from the rooftop terrace. Good beds, quiet (but rather small) rooms. Excellent breakfast with fresh juice, fruit and home made pastry. The warm welcome, helpfulness and tips of Nidia completed the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

What a warm welcome! Right when I arrived, I was treated to a personal tour planning session ... Then downstairs to a charming, tastefully decorated room ... Capped by a delicious 5-course homemade dinner with wines back upstairs at an incredibly low rate ... Slept like a baby. Charming and safe neighborhood. I would have stayed longer, but I booked late and they were full all weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globehopper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent two days at this little exquisite hotel in Bairro Alto, Lisbon. We had a marvellous dinner on the roof terrace the night we arrived. The hostess was very welcomming giving us good advice on how to spend our days i Lisbon.

nora-lise thorsen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora-Lise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything about the hotel was perfect, from the staff, the location, the stunning views from the roof terrace to the great breakfasts.

We were welcomed by the lovely Ines who gave us great insider tips ensuring we saw the true Lisbon and avoided all the tourist traps. Her restaurant recommendations were fantastic and we tried them all! She knew we liked having our breakfast on the roof terrace so always had a tray ready for us in the mornings so we could load up and enjoy breakfast with a view. She had such great attention to detail and really made our stay.

The location was perfect, close enough to Bairro Alto for bars and restuarants but away from all the hustle and bustle. The room was large and modern with all the facilities you could need.

Would definitely recommend the Monte Belvedere and would stay here again on a visit to Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arriving to Lisbon, after spending a week in chilled out Ericeria was a little intimidating, until we got to this hotel. Just around the corner from the city centre hub, located above the river side, a long Red building, with white windows...look for a door, a big brown door...with a tiny little sign beside it "Monte Belvedere". Ring the bell, and then look up. You'll be greeted most likely by a happy face popping it's head out the window, probably going to throw you some keys to open the door, or you'll hear them bouncing down the stairs, letting you in, as though you're family, big arms, big smiles and big laughs welcome you.

I wish I got her name, but the girl was so good helpful and energietic. She sits us down, pulls out the map and says.."how long are you here for..." and then upon hearing the bad news that we have to do Lisbon in 24 hrs..."AYE Y Y Y!! Noooo!!!! Ok then, this is what you must do!" she has a highlighter in her hand and it starts circling, drawing and making special notes, again so proud to show off it's city.

She shows us our room, which is brand new and modernly designed. The windows are huge and open onto the streets below, with charming music from the roof top restaurant next door sneaking it's way in.

Then she takes us to the roof, which has tables set on it, as well as lounge chairs at the end. Clear glass protects you from falling off the roof, and allows the stunning roof top views to overwhelm you. Overlooking the river, and roofs...thousands of roofs, sinking into the sunset.

She offers us a 5 course meal that pairs Portuguese wines with each one. It was very good, and well paired.

The room was perfect size and the bathroom had a very nice shower that was strong! Towel dry racks and a cute little table that offered soaps and hair dryers to the guests. A large flat screen tv, dresser drawers and extra linen were provided.

The next morning a very helpful man had taken over, and he helped book us the tour of Lisbon. And after checking out and going to see some of the city, I wanted to change into something a little less warm, and he let into one of their suites to allow me to change!

Very helpful and warm staff, with great sense of humour, which I greatly appreciated, as it was coming to the end of a very emmotional trip and finally having some happiness around made it so much better!

Thank you again and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The beds were a little stiff, and the noise outside if you are a quiet person, maybe ask for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmissmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Convento do Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Belvedere by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Belvedere by Shiadu

Property: Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-401, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say it has the best view of Lisbon! From our panoramic restaurant where breakfast is served every morning for our guests, you will not be indifferent to the Cristo Rei embracing Lisbon, the river Tagus [Tejo], the 25th of April Bridge with lights showing where the Atlantic Ocean begins and also the Basilica da Estrela that stands out between the rooftops of Lapa… However, the main feature of Monte Belvedere by Shiadu is not simply its amazing view! Its 13 rooms, some of which with a magnificent view of the river Tagus , have all the comfort you need for an unforgettable stay and our dedicated staff will welcome you, making you feel as if you were at home. Every day you will enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast prepared just for you! Near Monte Belvedere by Shiadu you will find the Northwind Statue [Estatua do Adamastor] (fictional character created by Luis de Camoes, in his master works The Lusiadas). The higher part of Santa Catarina is one of the most beautiful places of Lisbon and only two steps away from the city buzz. With views over the river Tagus it is said that since the 17th Century this plateau, once known as Monte do Pico or Monte Belvedere, is famous because of its lookout point. According to legend throughout the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries, from here one could see the moving ships: this is why still today there is a proverbial saying that is: “Ver navios no Alto de Santa Catarina” [“Watching the ships from the top of Santa Catarina”). Follow your instinct and we will be waiting…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Monte Belvedere by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing