We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years in Lisboa”
Review of 9HOTEL MERCY

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
9HOTEL MERCY
Ranked #69 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Years in Lisboa”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Arrived at the Mercy Hotel on the 30th and stayed three nights. The staff was great!

Before we arrived, we emailed for NYE suggestions. They suggested a wonderful restaurant (Eleven) for NYE Dinner and Silk Club ( a block away) for drinks and fireworks at midnight.

We stayed in room 601 which is a small suite. The best part of the room was the small terrace overlooking the city. The view was amazing. If there is one negative is that the place is dark (everything or almost everything is black) although we did not feel unsafe. The hall ways were dark the bath room all black...you get the picture.

I can't say enough about the staff. They were all very friendly in a real way and went out of their way to accommodate all of our requests. We needed an iron it was there within 15 minutes. We needed to borrow an adapter (forgot ours at Sintra) they provided several to choose from.

The location is truly central to everything. Upon our arrival into Lisboa, we left our car at a nearby parking lot (they took the care there and bought to us at the door at 6:00 a.m. on the 2nd of January when we departed. All with a smile and well wishes.

I would recommend this hotel for a young to middle age couple or singles.

Room Tip: 601 was a small suite but large by European standards and worth the extra costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytraveling055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    272
    60
    18
    12
See reviews for
65
429
45
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at The Mercy over Christmas. Location was the selling point for us with direct access into the Barrio Alto with its interesting streets full of good restaurants and shops. All of the staff we encountered here, including the housekeepers, were friendly and went out of their way to be of assistance. The front desk staff secured a last minute reservation for Christmas eve dinner for us and gave helpful advice on seeing the best of Lisbon.
We stayed on the fifth floor with a view down Rua Misericordia towards the water. Room was rather small but comfortable and well maintained. Perhaps a little too much black in the bathroom. Wi fi was patchy in the room but good in the downstairs bar and reception area.
The Umai restaurant had interesting Asian food at night but the breakfast was just OK.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pierre4823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We did not have reservations (possibly why it was so expensive), and had walked through the rain carrying luggage when we found the hotel. It's a perfect location for walking to most of Lisbon's sites, and the neighborhood is one of the best for capturing the flavor of Lisbon.

The hallways are a little funky (black interior), and the mannequins add an interesting and odd touch, but the hotel staff members are friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable. Ronnie gets special mention: he arranged for a rental car for us, and suggested some of the best restaurants and sites to see near the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The staff at Mercy hotel are the highlight of this hotel, along with it's great location minutes walk into the bar district of Bairro Alto.

Don't be put off by the mannequins - the hotel has a few other quirky features, but is clean, modern and the staff are great. Two stand-out staff members that my wife and I would like to thank are Ronnie at the front desk and Filipe who was looking after the restaurant. Their help and suggestions for sightseeing were great.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite good also, although not included for us for what we paid - but was well priced and good quality. Apart from that, we liked everything else in the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel which was modern & clean. The room was described as "cozy" but more than large enough for a 3 night stay with good facilities and a comfy bed. The staff were very friendly and polite.
For us the only down side was the lack of a working heating system. We mentioned this to 3 different members of staff but it did not get fixed during our stay. Our mistake was we did not ask to be moved on arrival....this does impact on the Room and Service Rating we have given.

That being said we would stay again due to the location & room quality :-)

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning unit works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Can rarely be bothered to post reviews however this hotel deserves an exception. The hotel is amazing, modern, comfortable and in a great central location. The staff are all without exception very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.

No need for a guide book - all dining and sightseeing recommendations were brilliant.

Lisbon is a diverse, historic and cultural city and the friendliest and most polite people you could ever imagine in a big city.

If I could change anything it would be a more substantial and varied breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cbenison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Mercy Hotel for about a week and had a wonderful time. We had a street side room on the 3rd floor that turned out to be very quiet thanks to the thick panes and curtains. The hotel was recently opened and has a modern, upscale look. The location in the Barrio Alto was ideal and close to many historical sites, shopping, restaurants and transportation. We have stayed in hotels in many European cities and never experienced a more friendly, helpful staff. Special mention goes to Filipe Rocha (food and beverage manager) and Ricardo at the front desk. Their recommendations for restaurants, shopping and sight seeing were the best! We will definitely stay there again when we next visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#19 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#56 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#45 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#47 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#83 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9HOTEL MERCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL MERCY

Property: 9HOTEL MERCY
Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 9HOTEL MERCY 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9HOTEL MERCY is a contemporary Four Star lifestyle Hotel, very charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally well-known and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012.The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the Castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon and a Terrace bar opened for your pleasure from April to October.Also available a lounge bar, an internet corner and Free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your 9HOTEL MERCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing