We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Ideal Location”
Review of 9 Hotel Mercy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
9 Hotel Mercy
Ranked #76 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel which was modern & clean. The room was described as "cozy" but more than large enough for a 3 night stay with good facilities and a comfy bed. The staff were very friendly and polite.
For us the only down side was the lack of a working heating system. We mentioned this to 3 different members of staff but it did not get fixed during our stay. Our mistake was we did not ask to be moved on arrival....this does impact on the Room and Service Rating we have given.

That being said we would stay again due to the location & room quality :-)

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning unit works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 885 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Can rarely be bothered to post reviews however this hotel deserves an exception. The hotel is amazing, modern, comfortable and in a great central location. The staff are all without exception very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.

No need for a guide book - all dining and sightseeing recommendations were brilliant.

Lisbon is a diverse, historic and cultural city and the friendliest and most polite people you could ever imagine in a big city.

If I could change anything it would be a more substantial and varied breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cbenison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Mercy Hotel for about a week and had a wonderful time. We had a street side room on the 3rd floor that turned out to be very quiet thanks to the thick panes and curtains. The hotel was recently opened and has a modern, upscale look. The location in the Barrio Alto was ideal and close to many historical sites, shopping, restaurants and transportation. We have stayed in hotels in many European cities and never experienced a more friendly, helpful staff. Special mention goes to Filipe Rocha (food and beverage manager) and Ricardo at the front desk. Their recommendations for restaurants, shopping and sight seeing were the best! We will definitely stay there again when we next visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked twin room (through British Airways Exec club) as sharing with my sister but shown to a double, they found us a twin but it was definitely one of the 'cosy' ones on the first floor which they suggested had a terrace. The terrace was just the 3 foot gap between the hotel and the wall separating us from the building next door. If you looked directly up you could see the sky several floors up!

The location was great, good for sightseeing in the day and also good for going out in the evening for drinks and restaurants.

The staff were helpful with local information and directions etc.

I know they call themselves a boutique hotel but really I just found the decor a bit strange, e.g. mannequins staged around the lobby, black black and more black in the rooms (the bathroom had floor, walls, fittings, even the shower curtain all black). That might work if the rooms were bigger or had more light but in the cosy basement like room we had it all felt a bit dark and depressing. Lovely comfortable bed and excellent bedding, perfect for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonerOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in September 2013 and were very happy.
Our room was clean, modern, nice furniture, good size, and the situation is great.
The hospitality was great too.
I loved the black bathroom, even if the water came a bit out of bottom of the shower.
We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

1. Stylish
2. Great Location.
3. Friendly Staff
4. Don't think they do a pretty good job cleaning the room/bath and hallway seemed it hasn't been vacuumed in days...
5. Don't freak out about the maniquans. Kind of odd! LOL

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggaby8620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Very modern boutique hotel in a perfect location amongst bars, restaurants and transport. Walking distance to just about everything. Had a suite on the 6th floor with our own terrace overlooking the rooftops and the river. Room was large with a huge bed and a separate living room. Small bathroom but separate shower and toilet. Small touches such as the beautiful biscuits they provided, Nespresso machine and tiny bottles of local port were a welcome touch. The staff were great and nothing was to much trouble for them. From booking tickets to taxis always with a smile on their face.
Didn't eat at the restaurant but tried the bar which was lovely and very cheap for an upmarket hotel. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget choose a suite on the 6th floor. Large room with separate living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#52 of 255 in Lisbon
163 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#23 of 255 in Lisbon
1,018 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
873 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,613 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 255 in Lisbon
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Hotel Mercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Hotel Mercy

Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $130 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Hotel Mercy 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9HOTEL MERCY is a contemporary four star lifestyle hotel, very charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally well-known and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012. The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon and a Terrace bar opened for your pleasure from April to October. Also available a lounge bar, an internet corner and free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 9 Hotel Mercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing