We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Lisbon”
Review of 9HOTEL MERCY

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
9HOTEL MERCY
Ranked #73 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just finishing up a four night stay at the Mercy hotel.
Location was excellent.Very close to the Metro and many restaurants which abound in the alleyways close by.
The staff could not be nicer and the doorman Ronnie was a gem.
Our room was in the rear and very quiet.
Breakfast was more than adequate and extremely fast service
The bathroom was very stylish but somewhat impractical - e.g you could not bend over the wash basin without bumping your head on the mirror and the shower drain was directly underneath the shower head and with a low lip, meant water easily on the bathroom floor.
Would we stay here again
-yes

Room Tip: Fourth floor or higher for a view and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefanotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for 9HOTEL MERCY
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 834 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excelent location - less than 5 min walk from Chiado, the center of Lisbon where Brasileira and Bernard are - as wonderful rooms with nice views and with everthing you need. Staff is outsdanding. The Porter is the best. Perfect city hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

the hotel is in a great location, the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms are designed very nicely ad the small touches are cool; like the floors having names of famous Portuguese people from the past. Really enjoyed the stay. And we want to thank the door man - Ronny - really a nice fellow, was always greeting us with a great smile and helped with many suggestions.

Room Tip: they are all probably great, we had a twin with views of the Lisbon Castle and loved it !
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mercy Hotel during the end of our two week trip to Portugal for 2 nights. Honestly, I do not toss this word around lightly but I can truly say that this hotel was perfect. From the location to the amenities and the staff, there is very little room for improvement. I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel based on some of the reviews but I was happy to find out for myself.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the Bairro Alto region; surrounded by shopping, nightlife, restaurants, and sightseeing. Mercy Hotel is quite new and modern. Our room was street facing yet we truly could not hear a sound. I believe we selected the room with over 200sq ft which had a great layout with an extremely efficient use of space. There was plenty of closet space, bath robes, slippers, hand held hair dryer, wifi unique to each room, a huge flat screen tv, large mirrors, and tons of lighting! Even the wardrobe had its own light! The bathroom was a good size with nice water pressure and the air conditioning was great as well. We can't forget to mention the delicious welcome fruit in chocolate sauce!

While the location and the room were excellent, the staff truly made our stay memorable. Every single person was friendly and went above and beyond each time we interacted. From printing out and translating directions to suggesting restaurants and answering our questions, every staff member made you feel as though we were their most important customer. A special thanks goes to Riccardo for his restaurant recommendations and for sending us to the most beautiful rooftop lounge on our last night in Lisbon! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snv4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for its friendly staff and perfect location in Lisbon. We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor that has a private balcony with an incredible view of the city and water. Clean hotel, comfy beds and a very accommodating staff provided a relaxing experience. We LOVED this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We unexpectedely stayed at the Mercy Hotel. Initial plan was to stay at another one but I had made the silliest mistake in booking it messing up with the month of the booking... When we arrived at the Internacional Design Hotel, we did realize I had booked for the wrong month, september i/o August.
So here we are in Lisbon, mid August, without a place to stay. I do mention the Internacional Boutique Hotel asthe front desk staff there was amazing, trying their best to find a solution in their fully booked hotel, but could not.
They let us leave our lugages while going out for breakfast and check other hotels.
We eventually reached the Mercy Hotel and were informed they had a room available so we took it. Our choice was positively commented by staff at Internacional.
So back to Mercy, we loved each and single staff we had to deal with. They were as helpful as it gets, from orientation to giving us beach towels when we told them we were going to Estoril.
Rooms are indeed small, but we were not in Lisbon to spend our days in the room. So as long as mattress is of quality and rooms are clean, we would be the happiest guests on earth. And that was the case.
Thumbs up to the staff who really were excellent.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Aureliochine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Our experience there was perfect! We were on a 17 day travel and this is where we stayed for the last 3 nights. The staff was very helpful and kind always making sure that their suggestions for restaurants and other things were worth it. Very clean, nice rooms, really well located! We had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#62 of 253 in Lisbon
141 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 253 in Lisbon
992 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 253 in Lisbon
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 253 in Lisbon
1,507 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#63 of 253 in Lisbon
500 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9HOTEL MERCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL MERCY

Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $157 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 9HOTEL MERCY 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9HOTEL MERCY is a contemporary Four Star lifestyle Hotel, very charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally well-known and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012.The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the Castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon and a Terrace bar opened for your pleasure from April to October.Also available a lounge bar, an internet corner and Free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your 9HOTEL MERCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing