We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect!!!!!!”
Review of 9 Hotel Mercy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
9 Hotel Mercy
Ranked #76 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mercy Hotel during the end of our two week trip to Portugal for 2 nights. Honestly, I do not toss this word around lightly but I can truly say that this hotel was perfect. From the location to the amenities and the staff, there is very little room for improvement. I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel based on some of the reviews but I was happy to find out for myself.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the Bairro Alto region; surrounded by shopping, nightlife, restaurants, and sightseeing. Mercy Hotel is quite new and modern. Our room was street facing yet we truly could not hear a sound. I believe we selected the room with over 200sq ft which had a great layout with an extremely efficient use of space. There was plenty of closet space, bath robes, slippers, hand held hair dryer, wifi unique to each room, a huge flat screen tv, large mirrors, and tons of lighting! Even the wardrobe had its own light! The bathroom was a good size with nice water pressure and the air conditioning was great as well. We can't forget to mention the delicious welcome fruit in chocolate sauce!

While the location and the room were excellent, the staff truly made our stay memorable. Every single person was friendly and went above and beyond each time we interacted. From printing out and translating directions to suggesting restaurants and answering our questions, every staff member made you feel as though we were their most important customer. A special thanks goes to Riccardo for his restaurant recommendations and for sending us to the most beautiful rooftop lounge on our last night in Lisbon! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snv4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 898 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for its friendly staff and perfect location in Lisbon. We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor that has a private balcony with an incredible view of the city and water. Clean hotel, comfy beds and a very accommodating staff provided a relaxing experience. We LOVED this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We unexpectedely stayed at the Mercy Hotel. Initial plan was to stay at another one but I had made the silliest mistake in booking it messing up with the month of the booking... When we arrived at the Internacional Design Hotel, we did realize I had booked for the wrong month, september i/o August.
So here we are in Lisbon, mid August, without a place to stay. I do mention the Internacional Boutique Hotel asthe front desk staff there was amazing, trying their best to find a solution in their fully booked hotel, but could not.
They let us leave our lugages while going out for breakfast and check other hotels.
We eventually reached the Mercy Hotel and were informed they had a room available so we took it. Our choice was positively commented by staff at Internacional.
So back to Mercy, we loved each and single staff we had to deal with. They were as helpful as it gets, from orientation to giving us beach towels when we told them we were going to Estoril.
Rooms are indeed small, but we were not in Lisbon to spend our days in the room. So as long as mattress is of quality and rooms are clean, we would be the happiest guests on earth. And that was the case.
Thumbs up to the staff who really were excellent.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Aureliochine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Our experience there was perfect! We were on a 17 day travel and this is where we stayed for the last 3 nights. The staff was very helpful and kind always making sure that their suggestions for restaurants and other things were worth it. Very clean, nice rooms, really well located! We had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having known Lisbon only from business trips, our two night stay at the Mercy Hotel gave us the opportunity to better know the city and its welcoming people. Ricardo and his staff were of unfailing assistance and good humor. Our room, castle view, was small (even by European standards) but well laid out and we didn't feel cramped.
Breakfast is served, not buffet, and got us off to a great start each day. Ask Felipe to prepare his cappucino for you - a work of art!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas_Hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights and we agree the location is fantastic.The staff was accomodating, however really trying to push the onsite bar and restaurant. The room we had turned out to be the smallest in the hotel. (my husband could locate it on the fire escape map) so not so impressed with that. The staff made reservations and recommended a great wine bar a few blocks away-Artis Wine Bar amazing staff and great tapas!!! (highly rated!!)
Overall a good place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the minute we walked into the hotel we were afforded some of the best service we have ever had anywhere in the world - not just from Ricardo, the Front of House Manager, but every member of staff we dealt with.... absolutely nothing was too much trouble: from places to visit; booking rental cars; showing us alternative rooms (having decided to upgrade) - nao ha problema!
I usually have to specify a quiet room away from the lift - but if like me this is usually a concern - it won't be an issue here (and we overlooked the main street, Rua da Misericordia, too).
The only thing we had not been clear about was that ALL Nespressos used were charged at €1 - not just the extra ones you had - but hardly a major issue.
The hotel is convenient to get bus tours; to get the ferry (at Cais do Sodre) over to the beach at Costa da Caparica - do plan this as we couldn't find the taxi rank to come back, we passed it, however, on the bus journey back to the ferry! (and the bus number coming back was different from what we researched - but all very easy really - just ask someone if unsure); to walk to the castle (hilly everywhere- take good shoes); to nip over to Bairro Alto (though very lively, especially at weekends, can get better restaurants than here such as around corner in Chiado - just ask the staff!) ....and so on. Just a great hotel which set the scene for a wonderful break in what is a wonderful, overlooked, destination.

Room Tip: The best room has a small balcony - and you can just see the water... was very nice but book it earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunn-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#58 of 255 in Lisbon
167 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
891 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#55 of 255 in Lisbon
1,628 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Hotel Mercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Hotel Mercy

Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $113 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Hotel Mercy 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9HOTEL MERCY is a contemporary four star lifestyle hotel, very charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally well-known and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012. The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon and a Terrace bar opened for your pleasure from April to October. Also available a lounge bar, an internet corner and free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 9 Hotel Mercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing