We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off... Scam” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisbonhost

Lisbonhost
Ranked #152 of 446 Tours in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO LISBON! New in Town? Lisbonhost is a tourist and cultural animation company that focus is on being very “LOCAL“, exploring Portugal´s deepest traditions, food and places. Lisbonhost tours are planned for someone who really wants to feel Portugal in an intense and unique way, experience Portugal amazing beaches, our fresh fish and sea food, visit wine cellars, enjoy a fado show, visit the roots of the footprints of our great discovers, basically, The “REAL PORTUGAL”, WE DO NOT FOLLOW TOURIST CHAINS! :)
Parkville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip off... Scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Dont waste your time, money and energy... Booked this trip for my young son and husband while I was on work trip... They bever showed up for the tour and my family waited over an hour. Was unable to reach by phone, and when finally reached by email there was no apology or offer to make resolution. Was told i would receive refund and 3 weeks later and several emails, I have yet to receive!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLisbonhost, Gerente at Lisbonhost, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Unfortunately this was a problem with the agency that made the booking and did not inform us about the reservation.

We explained the situation to the client and garanteed the refund. After some days i have personally made a transfer whille waiting for the reply of the agency.

We are vey sorry for this situation and hope it never happens again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Was like hanging out with a friend - Fantastic Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

David was recommended by the hotel that we were staying. There were 8 of us so he brought van to pick us up. It was exactly like visiting a country and an old friend comes to say hi and show you around town. He came into the hotel lobby and just spend about 15 to 20 minutes chatting with us. Then we took off. As he drove, he told us stories about Sintra, Lisbon and Portugal as a whole, and not in a dull drone fashion. It was actually interesting to listen to him. And he didn't just take us to the monuments, buildings, etc. He also took us to pastry shops (where he made sure that we tried their signature pastries) and he also took us to a nice little store where we had a great time trying different wines, cheese and just having great conversation with the owners. He took us to a hole in the wall spot for dinner and we had a wonderful meal. During dinner, the was making faces and playing with the 2 year old daughter of 2 of our friends. We had such an excellent time with him. I wasn't looking forward to a tour but this was such a great experience because it wasn't your typical tour. When we got back to the hotel, he hung out for an additional half hour just chatting and meeting other friends of ours. He ended up taking another group on a tour a couple of days later and even made arrangements to take a group of people to the airport for an early flight. If you're in the Lisbon area and you'd like to see the sights, I highly recommend David. You are guaranteed to have a blast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yomi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Private Tour with Lisbonhost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived by cruise ship in Portugal in May 2014. I contacted Lisbonhost to get a private tour of Lisbon and the surrounding areas. We were met off of the ship by Olesja Mansurova (her first name is pronounced as Alicia). She is a wonderful tour guide and spoke English fluently. She is extremely educated and knows all about Portugal and its history. She took us to Sintra, Lisbon, and the most western part of Europe called Cabo da Roca. We had a wonderful 8 hours with her. I highly recommend that you use Lisbonhost (their cost is very reasonable for an 8 hour tour) and especially Olesja. My husband and I can't say enough of how much we enjoyed out trip with her. Thank you again Lisbonhost and if we ever again visit Portugal we will keep you in mind.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sintra tour with the BEST GUIDE EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a wonderful-wonderful trip to beautiful Sintra with David. He picked up us (4 girls) near our hostel at 10-30 and our trip began. While David was driving us to Sintra he was telling different stories about places we were passing by and about Lisbon and Portugal in general. We didn't have breakfast in the morning so David brought us to a very nice cafeteria in Sintra centre to try some local pastries (very delicious, by the way!!!). After we went to taste portugal jams, cheeses and chorizos, porto vines and liquors (included in Sintra tour). And then – palaces!

There are many palaces in Sintra so you'd better choose one-two-three. We've chosen two: Quinta da Regaleira (it was an advice of David – and I'm so happy we went there) and Palácio Nacional da Pena (must seen!!!).

The palaces were so interesting that we spent there more time than we could expect so we didn't have enough time to go to Cabo da Roca (which was included in our tour too). But despite of this David had driven us to Cabo da Roca and to a beautiful surfer beach nearby! And it was amaaaaaazing! Rocks, ocean, strong wind that makes you feel you can fly... Impressive!

After all, David brought us to our hostel in Alfama and our trip was finished at 19-30. It was an unforgettable day! With the best guide ever! I would even say that not an ordinary guide, but a real friend who will help you to plan you tour as you want to, who will advice and show you only the best!
So if you want to experience Lisbon and Portugal in the best way – call Lisbonhost :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlinaFumanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best tour thanks to fantastic guide - Kristian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We booked a tour with Lisbon hosts and have to admit - this was the best tour we've ever had! I have to highlight that we were a group of people working in tourism as tour leaders, product managers and professors but we decided to check what Lisbon hosts can offer us that we couldn't find out on our own. Lisbon actually could not offer us more that we expected, but our guide Kristian showed us hidden gems of this amazing city. His stories were interesting and we found out things that one cannot find in guidebooks. Not only that he explained us history of Lisbon, but he also gave us comprehensive information about current affairs of Lisbon and Portugal. Having a group of professionals working in tourism is demanding but Kristian answered all the needs group had as a true professional tourist guide. This was amazing experience and all thanks to our professional guide - Kristian!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JasminaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbonhost also viewed

 
 

Been to Lisbonhost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing