We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left after five minutes”
Review of Adega do Teixeira - CLOSED

Adega do Teixeira
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: Ha una pagina su facebook
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We left after five minutes”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to go to this place as it stood out on Trip Advisor with some good reviews. Tripadvisor reviews have served us very well on our week in Lisbon and this was the penultimate night. We were immediately seated inside even though the restaurant is 39th on TA and it looked nice and homely. The table was immediately loaded with 'couvert', the biggest we have seen. An entire plate of melon, some rather ancient looking Jamon, a large bowl of olives, some semi-stale bread, butter and one other thing that I can't remember. We've been stung with some couverts in Lisbon and were only after a starter and main course so asked how much (restaurants are legally obliged to publish this information) but he ignored me stating he didn't understand. So, a few minutes later I asked again and he said it was 12 Euro (each or together I do not know) so I asked him to take it all away (which is fine, according to the guidebook). He took away half of it, clearly unimpressed. It was clear that the table next to us were having the same issues. We decided to leave as the first five minutes had been so stressful. We had not even been shown the menu or the wine list.

We ate nothing here, so can't comment on the quality of the food, but another table had the raw fish and the raw steak brought to their table for inspection. I am not sure why they do this as the fish looked dry and the raw steaks had flies on them.

As we left the restaurant the waiter who had been serving us noticed and muttered something (possibly complimentary?) under his breath.

Lisbon has better places. See my other reviews.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agoentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Place!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was staying in Lisbon for a few days with a couple of friends, so for our final evening I wanted to find a nice restaurant serving traditional cuisine where we could enjoy ourselves and spend most of our remaining Euros before heading out for the rest of the night. I looked on Trip Advisor in the hotel and found this place.

It was quite easy to locate but once we got there I thought we must have the wrong place! The front doesn't look how you'd presume as the restaurant building's actually set quite far back from the road unlike the rest of the street. Anyway, we were met just inside the door by two elderly gentlemen who sat us down straight away and brought us some bread, a tapas starter as well as water, bottles of beer and a bottle of wine!

The tapas was nice and whilst we were trying it all one of the gentlemen brought over some delicious cheese to go with our bread. It was so good, I'd meant to ask him which cheese it was but, having been caught up in the whole experience, completely forgot to at the end of the night! As we were nearing the end of our tapas starter, the other gentleman brought over two large food trays, one with a variety of steaks and the other with a variety of fish. He talked us through the options and while I was tempted by the local fish, the steaks looked so good I had to go with one of them!

Once the tapas was all gone we were brought an unexpected dish, a sizzling sharing starter of all kinds of seafood which was really, really nice. Then came the massive steaks, in a lovely sauce and served with fried potatoes and a side dish of various veg. Despite it's simplicity, it was incredible. Probably the best steak I've ever had.

Following on from the main, we were brought a sumptuous port-soaked pear dessert. These were soon gone so one of the gentlemen decided we should try the chocolate mousse dessert as well because he didn't think we were full enough! He was wrong but the mousse was so good we each polished one off quite easily.

Finally, despite still attempting to finish off our beer and wine, we were treated to a coffee prepared tableside the old fashioned way. I'm not really keen on coffee but it was actually quite enjoyable.

So, all in all, it was easily the best meal of the holiday and, we all agreed, probably one of the best meals we'd ever had. I'm not gonna lie, it's about as far from Michelin star food as you can get, but the enjoyment is in the sheer quantity of locally-sourced, freshly cooked food by the hosts' wives in the semi-open kitchen.

Incredibly, the whole meal came to just €100 for the three of us. Remember, we had tapas, a sharing seafood starter, a huge steak main, two desserts each, coffee, a bottle of wine, bottles of beer and water. Whilst finishing our coffees we had deliberated how much we reckoned it'd all come to and, having read on Trip Advisor how reasonable the place was, settled on a figure around the €150 mark. Therefore, we were astonished to see how little it came to so decided we'd still pay the €150 we were expecting to. We weren't trying to show off or anything, it's just the first time any of us remember being shocked at how cheap a meal had been, rather than how expensive, and felt they really deserved more than what they'd asked from us.

To conclude, going for this meal is a holiday highlight experience in itself. You walk in, are seated, brought starters and drinks and the only question you'll be asked is what meat or fish you'd like for your main. Everything else is brought out for you when they feel you require something and their judgement was spot on. Normally when you visit a restaurant and you don't see a menu and the hosts keep bringing you more and more food and more and more drink you expect the bill to be astronomical. Not this place! I hope one day we'll get to revisit Adega do Teixeira. But if there's one thing I'd change it's the time of night we'd go. We made the mistake of eating quite late which meant we were way too full to properly take advantage of the great nightlife just a few streets away!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank o-ensan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Third Time's The Charm”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have visited this restaurant every time we've visited Lisbon.... Delightful wait staff ,wonderful ambiance ,can't miss fresh fish,especially loved the cataplana ! Authentic Portugese dining experience ! My wife and I have shared the Adega Texiera with our family and friends and have loved it each and every time !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flick115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dona Di Piave, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We tried this place on a crowded evening, but it was really disappointing: the customers are only tourists and it's definitely not a tipical portuguese eatery. We had some peixe galo and it was not so bad, but the atmosphere was unpleasant and the service was annoying, the waiter was trying all the time to take something HE wanted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaesar_and_Topo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What an experience......”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We found this through Trip advisor as it was located behind our hotel and rated well. We actually walked past it and needed to use the map as it looks like you walk into someone's garden. Once inside it was very cosy and rustic looking. We were warmly greeted by the waiters who were amazing to watch at work and we had hardly sat down when toasted bread and buttery cheese was put down for us. Then the olives arrived followed shortly later by melon and Parma ham. As previous reviews said no menu was ever seen. The waiters then produced a platter of veal cuts and a platter of fish for you to choose from - or you could have the house steak. Once we had chosen our main meal they then chose the wine to suit which was a lovely full bodied red and one small beer. The main course arrived and the crisp like chips were simply amazing and came with a side of garlic beans. They do not let you say no easily and when we said we were too full for pudding they brought us strawberries in port to share and followed this with a coffee. Was one of the best meals I have ever had and the service made it an unforgettable experience too. It was so good we ended up going back the next and last night of our trip and were not disappointed! Even getting a further 1/3 bottle of red (as they had opened it and it had not been finished) and a complimentary port. The fish although we did not have any was brought to the table and prepared and served in front of you and judging the response was as good as it looked. The meal for two of us cost €63 and was money well spent and we thought it would have cost more for what we had and the quality. I would highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega do Teixeira also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing