We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Chao De Pedra

Chao De Pedra
Ranked #108 of 4,224 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An ancient Garage Fire transformed into Carvoaria and Casa de Pasto in the thirties of the last century, was recovered in a process fraught with slow bureaucratic difficulties, to house this Establishment Food And Drink, which will get your name to the stone floor original. The Stone Floor features intact middle-warhead stone arches of the original construction, the massive wooden door with wrought iron windows of Moorish style and the whole structure of the original Casa de Pasto retouched with an access reticulated iron and glass, metal lamps scattered light, transparent lacquer wooden tables and chairs with cane seat, combining a warm, friendly and warm to enjoy a meal, a glass of wine, a glass of chocolate or a snack. The kitchen of the Stone Floor draws in our traditional culinary roots and develop a product that aims to satisfy the demands of a population with an urban and modern living.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Conviniently near the Metro station and a really good value for money food. We were very pleased and will definitely be coming back this week to try some more dishs from the menu. As for the price we paid under 80€ in a table of 4 which I think is very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    180
    39
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Below the average”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The food was poor , heavy , fat and expensive for what we paid. Everything was overcooked and the prices aren't cheap. The place is very nice and the service was ok

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wcdd1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the front desk staff of our hotel and I cant thank them enough. The atmosphere is interesting but its the food that is remarkable. The best I had in Portugal. We started with a pear and goat cheese appetizer that was wonderful followed by pork cheeks and cod. Reasonably priced and friendly as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank grsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exellent food, plenty to eat”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat with my family. We ended up here by accident and were really pleasantly surprised. The best meal in Portugal so far! Especially the pork cheek was exellent. The lady in the kitchen really knew what she was doing. Nothing too complicated, but excellent "home style" cooking. Good and friendly service as well. We will come back here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Sapemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We were walk ins and took a chance here. In fact I had to search for the name of this place as I wanted to write a review. I absolutely loved the poached pear with goat cheese and a red wine sauce. It's served warm with the cheese slightly melted. Wow, what a dish. I was less impressed with the sea bream which seemed to have been cooked in too much butter and was difficult to finish. Overall it was satisfying and good value - starters, entrées, main and a bottle of wine for ~45 euro.

Helpful?
Thank MarkAU14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao De Pedra also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Chao De Pedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing