We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable beds, spotless, delicious home-made breakfast, quiet neighbourhood within walking distance from the historical centre (metro is also close by), very warm & friendly welcome from everyone at Casa Amora... I was even given a room upgrade! What more can I say? I would definitely stay there again.

Jessica

Room Tip: The Superior Suite Duplex is amazing. Spacious and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Jessica ,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay just as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us.We hope you will return again soon and that everything is good in the future.

Than you again.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
There are newer reviews for Casa Amora Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 824 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Casa Amora and wished we had booked an extra night. The room was tastefully furnished and very clean. Breakfast was sumptuous and the hosts delightful, helpful and very welcoming. The guesthouse is situated in a quiet street close to a leafy park with a couple of restaurants nearby. The metro is only minutes walk away to take you anywhere in Lisbon, although the walk into town was very pleasant. We would not hesitate to recommend this "home from home" and intend to visit again next time we are in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rainbowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest ,

We want to thank you again for choosing to stay with us , we hope you had a memorable stay and decide to come back very soon.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this jewel of guesthouse and from arrival to departure experienced the most wonderful and personal reception! Juan looked after every detail and gave us a lot of useful tips on where to go, what to see and places to eat... all out of the beaten track and we never felt like "tourists" . Nita, the good spirit in the kitchen and responsible for breakfast and housekeeping is the warmest person you can imagine and she pampered us every morning with her freshly baked quiches and other delicacies. The place is run with a lot of enthusiasm by the whole team and I wish them lots of success after all their efforts! We will certainly come back to this place! Extra credits for the excellent bed and the linen... five stars!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Networking_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Networking_lady ,

Having you over was such a treat , we already miss that outspoken beautiful personality , we have been very honored to have you with us for your birthday and hope we did everything possible for both you and your husband on this magical trip.

We hope to see you again soon and it was an absolute pleasure to have you here.

Kisses and Hugs.

Juan , Nita & Luis

The Casa Amora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a lovely place to stay in Lisbon. Juan was there to greet us upon arrival and was extremely responsive and attentive to our needs. He went above and beyond by coming back to the guesthouse one evening to receive a package we had delivered there. My family of 4 stayed in a pretty large room with a loft. The sofa bed was comfortable, which can sometimes be a concern. The whole guesthouse is decorated very nice and charming, and has a welcoming, homey feel. The breakfasts were great too. There was a mix of hot and cold dishes and all was delicious. The location is good, although not directly in the center of things, but within walking distance to a lot and close to a metro stop. However, for a family of 4, taxis might make more sense and be more cost-effective than the metro. There was also a great little restaurant around the corner from the guesthouse that we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear ExpatinCH ,

Thank you very much for the kind words.We appreciate it very much and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us , we are always happy to help with anything we can to satisfy your needs.

We are delighted to see your family also enjoyed their stay and you enjoyed our amazing breakfast to.

Kind Regards

Juan , Nita , Joao & Luis
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The guest house is amazing. We four stay at a top floor room. The hotel caters us an extra sofa double bed which is super comfy and soft.The decorations in room are artistic and the design and facility is modern (they have a smart tv there so you can pretty much surf the Internet on a large flat screen TV!!)The kitchen and breakfast area is surrounded by the gardens and the breakfast included are very Portugese.(EGG tarts and desserts!!) And you can always self help with fruits and coffee cookies there.:)
The location though is a little bit off the tourist center. and it's quite up in the district. It's only 5-10 minutes walk by Rato Metro station but its not high heel friendly. The district is quiet and safe.
Host Juan is amazing!!He ia ways there catering our needs. He give detailed suggestions, always smiling and that makes our stay really pleasant.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Arseian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment , we really appreciate it.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and whenever you are in lisbon again do not hesitate to come and stay with us again.

Than you again.

Juan , Nita , Joao & Luis
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a relaxing stay at Casa Amora.We stayed five nights there,and had a great time.Hot breakfast and fresh orange juice were really nice.When we arrived Casa Amora Juan was waiting for us and served drinks .He also told us the advises ,where to go on the day because there was a demo in the city center.So we should not go to the city center .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank asobou094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Amora. I called them from the airport and by the time we got there Juan was there waiting for us. He sat down with us got us drinks and spend a long time explaining the property and then all of the sights to be seen and how best to see them. Each and every morning he was there to meet and greet us and make sure if we neeeded anything at all. Nita provides the breakfasts and her home cooking is great, it was so good you really can't say no to everything she brings out ...especially when she gives you one of her huge welcoming smiles. The room just worked out perfectly for us, we barely spent any time in it so we went for the base level room. The place was kept really clean and the bed we found to be very comfortable. Luis the owner we met on two occasions and again he couldn't be more helpful. If they can help in anyway they will. The Metro station is very closeby and it is very easy to use and takes just a few minutes to get in to the center of Lisbon. When we come back to Lisbon we will stay here it really was perfect for us. My two words of advice are about Lisbon, Ladies don't wear heels as all the sidewalks are covered in granite small blocks which are very uneven in places, secondly on a Sunday you might find it hard to find a local restaurant open. We were sad to leave Casa Amora and Lisbon.

Room Tip: Clearly this place is popular for good reason, all the rooms are really nice if you really need the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thumperparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest ,

It was such a pleasure having both of you over for your stay.We are glad you had a wonderful stay and it is true what you said , you guys stayed for way to short . Hope to see you guys again in the near future.Hugs to both of you.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao.
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
605 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
398 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amora Guesthouse

Address: Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $131 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amora Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amora is a typical building of Lisbon’s early twentieth century petite bourgeoisie, renovated in 2012, with a small outdoor patio for rest or meals and 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom). Each room pays homage to one of the great figures of Portuguese art (painting, music, literature, film) of the last century. The process of renewal and adaptation carefully kept all the decorative elements existing in the rooms (plaster) and exterior (tiles, balcony), introducing a color palette that contributes to a peaceful and relaxing environment. Casa Amora is located in one of the nicest and most central districts of Lisbon, Praça das Amoreiras. In this neighborhood, where the 18th century Aqueduct (that survived the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755) reaches and end, Casa Amora is neighbor to Water Museum (Museu da Mae de Agua) and the Vieira da Silva / Arpad Szenes museum. Residents and visitors have easy and direct access to the neighborhoods of antique shops (Rua de Sao Bento and Rua da Escola Politecnica), historic districts (Bairro Alto and Chiado), Avenida da Liberdade and its fashion shops as well as the shopping center Amoreiras, all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casa Amora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing