We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not spectacular”
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #36 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a nice hotel with all the standard amenities, but nothing special. The gym is small and Breakfast is nice with a good choice but not spectacular. It is a little distance from the centre of town, about 15/20 minutes to the centre.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife booked us an ocean view room at a slightly higher price which was to be expected, however when we arrived we found it to be a twin room instead of a double. After explaining the problem to house-keeping, they simply pushed the twin beds together and expected us to be satisfied with this solution for the next 3 nights.

We then spoke to the front desk who told us that the only other double room available did not have an ocean view and wasn’t available until the next day.

We decided to take the double room and forfeit the view, however after asking for a refund for the more expensive ocean view room that we no longer had, we were told that it was ‘our choice’ to take the cheaper room and they had provided us with everything we had initially requested and were not prepared to refund anything.

This coupled with the hard, uncomfortable beds, a hair dryer that barely worked, heavily outdated 70’s décor, and a loud main road just outside meant that this is was the first and last time we will be frequenting the Sana Hotel.

A cheap and nasty hotel which couldn’t care less about their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandAmyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This looks just like one of the many modern tower blocks form the outside. However go inside and you will be surprised! The location is ideal as it is within walking distance (1.5km) of the main Lisbon squares and old town but far enough out to be away from the crowds. It is situated just off a large and historically important roundabout on the road to the airport. There are 2 metro stations within 300m with easy access to Lisbon centre. Surrounding the hotel is mainly a commercial area although there are many cafes and walking nearby is pleasant and safe. Our travel agent had not booked us in and despite being full the hotel found us a room (someone else had booked with a false credit card) and were very helpful. The rooms are slightly smaller than average but clean and well furnished with plenty of space for clothes. They would be comfortable for a long stay (we stayed 5 nights). The bathrooms came with white dressing gowns and a good selection of toiletries. The free wifi worked very well. There is a spa in the basement and also underground parking. Tea and drinks are served from a small bar in the foyer but there is no formal drinking lounge. The dining room is rather bland but the single evening dinner that we took was excellent with the chef visiting our table. Breakfast was included and although extensive, with hot and cold tables, the food was ordinary.
The staff were all very helpful and overall this is a good place both to relax and explore Lisbon.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the front overlook the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Big nice hotel, good standard and good service. Little old style but everything woorked and breakfast were good. I would recommend this hotel, lots of conference during week but more quiet in weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pnyhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were overbooked at another Sana hotel and transferred to this one. Although one star more it felt a little bit more impersonal because of it's size. Lifts, corridors and most importantly bedrooms were all in excellent condition. It did not lack the friendly and efficient staff. This hotel is located in an area that allows you to walk to the historic centre is fit enough. Transport connections are excellent. Another excellent stay in a Sana hotel. Comfort, friendliness and efficiency as consistent as usual.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel overlooks the main carriageway which gets a bit noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is situated close to the Marquis de Pombal Square, and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The city bus tours leave from the square, just across from the hotel. Our room was standard size, with free wi-if. The breakfast was very good, all tastes catered for. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport. Be careful re taxis from the airport. We were quoted 20 euro on arrival. The return trip cost a mere 9.50 euro . A convenient hotel, no frills, good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is worthy of 5 stars: from attentive bellboys and the front desk staff, to tastefully decorated common facilities and subtle music playing in hallways, to renovated bathrooms with a good quality hair dryer (something most women appreciate )...this hotel pays attention to details and it's a steal at the price we paid. If i were nit-picking, the only fault I could find is the hard and not too comfortable mattress- this did not prevent me from sleeping well and the rest more than makes up for it. The hotel is also very conveniently located. A 1 min walk to a hop-on-hop-off bus that we used during our stay. A 7 euro cab ride to the old part of Lisbon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healthresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#74 of 255 in Lisbon
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Lisboa Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $133 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing