We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relax and enjoy Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #32 of 244 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This looks just like one of the many modern tower blocks form the outside. However go inside and you will be surprised! The location is ideal as it is within walking distance (1.5km) of the main Lisbon squares and old town but far enough out to be away from the crowds. It is situated just off a large and historically important roundabout on the road to the airport. There are 2 metro stations within 300m with easy access to Lisbon centre. Surrounding the hotel is mainly a commercial area although there are many cafes and walking nearby is pleasant and safe. Our travel agent had not booked us in and despite being full the hotel found us a room (someone else had booked with a false credit card) and were very helpful. The rooms are slightly smaller than average but clean and well furnished with plenty of space for clothes. They would be comfortable for a long stay (we stayed 5 nights). The bathrooms came with white dressing gowns and a good selection of toiletries. The free wifi worked very well. There is a spa in the basement and also underground parking. Tea and drinks are served from a small bar in the foyer but there is no formal drinking lounge. The dining room is rather bland but the single evening dinner that we took was excellent with the chef visiting our table. Breakfast was included and although extensive, with hot and cold tables, the food was ordinary.
The staff were all very helpful and overall this is a good place both to relax and explore Lisbon.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the front overlook the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    557
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
238
609
73
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Big nice hotel, good standard and good service. Little old style but everything woorked and breakfast were good. I would recommend this hotel, lots of conference during week but more quiet in weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnyhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were overbooked at another Sana hotel and transferred to this one. Although one star more it felt a little bit more impersonal because of it's size. Lifts, corridors and most importantly bedrooms were all in excellent condition. It did not lack the friendly and efficient staff. This hotel is located in an area that allows you to walk to the historic centre is fit enough. Transport connections are excellent. Another excellent stay in a Sana hotel. Comfort, friendliness and efficiency as consistent as usual.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel overlooks the main carriageway which gets a bit noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is situated close to the Marquis de Pombal Square, and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The city bus tours leave from the square, just across from the hotel. Our room was standard size, with free wi-if. The breakfast was very good, all tastes catered for. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport. Be careful re taxis from the airport. We were quoted 20 euro on arrival. The return trip cost a mere 9.50 euro . A convenient hotel, no frills, good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is worthy of 5 stars: from attentive bellboys and the front desk staff, to tastefully decorated common facilities and subtle music playing in hallways, to renovated bathrooms with a good quality hair dryer (something most women appreciate )...this hotel pays attention to details and it's a steal at the price we paid. If i were nit-picking, the only fault I could find is the hard and not too comfortable mattress- this did not prevent me from sleeping well and the rest more than makes up for it. The hotel is also very conveniently located. A 1 min walk to a hop-on-hop-off bus that we used during our stay. A 7 euro cab ride to the old part of Lisbon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healthresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The SANA Lisboa is a new full-service hotel built in a modern style. The room was well-appointed with a large bath and free wifi. From the room, the view of the city and river was impressive. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive and the staff was attentive to the needs of the guests. The hotel is across the street from Marquis de Pombal Square and Eduardo Park with Hop-On/Hop-Off Buses. The SANA Lisboa was secured at a moderate price and proved to be an excellent choice in Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited Lisbon for several days in May and stayed at the Sana Lisboa. I found it to be of high quality from the foyer, to the front counter service, to the rooms and especially the breakfast, which was included in our room price.

Located on the main road just a short walk from Lisbon central, there were buses just outside to take you just about anywhere. The walk down the wide avenue was only 10 minutes and enjoyable. In that respect, it was good as it was not in the thick of activities but close enough so it was not inconvenient.

Breakfast was superb ... nothing more to be said!

We even had a local reality TV show being filmed at the rear of the hotel near the breakfast area one morning, just to add a little extra flavour.

Overall, I can only write nice things about the Sana Lisboa and would recommend it to any travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#57 of 244 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#13 of 244 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#29 of 244 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#16 of 244 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 244 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing