We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Modern Hotel”
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #36 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a busy hotel with all the standard amenities, but nothing special. It is a little distance from the centre of town, so you need to be a good walker or take plenty of taxis. It is perfectly comfortable but beware the queues for the lifts.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I visited this hotel on a bussiness journey. The hotel is very well situated near the places of interest in Lisbon. Breakfast is rich, rooms are spaceous and personell is proffessional. I would like to have sleepers in my room. However the whole stay was really pleasant and I would visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Sana Lisboa hotel is a clean, modern hotel in Lisbon with all the latest conveniences such as Gym and sauna. The food is of very good quality with a tasteful mix of traditional and fusion Portugese cooking. Thehotel is located near the Marquis de Pombal plaza which is about a 15 minute walk or 5 euro taxi ride to the Central station and the Rossio square.

Room Tip: I had a front room on the main street that was a bit noisy if you left the window open overnight. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The best breakfast - lots of choice & comfortable setting. Friendly & helpful staff. Modern hotel with very good free WiFi in the room. Very good location near Metro & Buses for short ride to downtown & Belem. Room was large and bathroom more than adequate - not your typical small European room. Room very clean and maid service excellent. Nice bar in the lobby and large screen TV.

Room Tip: Select room near top floor. Front of hotel faces a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobnBarbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As stated by other reviewers this hotel is around 20-25 minutes walk from Lisbon city centre. Located on the Av Fontes Pereira de Melo it is a stone's throw from the Marques de Pombal square (round-about) where all the major city sight seeing tour buses converge. The King Edward park is also right opposite which has enough to keep little ones busy. The biggest department store/shopping mall is at the top of the hill just to the left of the park when facing the lisbon city centre.
The reception staff are fluent in English, courteous and even the bell boys are very attentive. For the five days that we had interactions with them I would say that they were always very friendly and efficient.
The restaurant staff were unobtrusive but always there to answer queries. The breakfast was a wide variety of hot cooked and cold cuts of meat, pastries, fruits, cereals, breads and coffee, variety of juices, tea, cold milk as well as hot milk.
The rooms are decent size, would not say large (atleast not the one that we had) but tidy, clean and functional. Bathroom was a good size but must say that for people with any disabilities the bathtub will be quite difficult to get into for a shower. Mini fridge, an ice bucket and safe is provided - but do not expect tea/cofee making facilities and there was no iron provided. There is however an ice machine in the corridor which is a definite plus.
The free WIFI is excellent. In terms of sleeping comfort, our room was at the back on a lower floor but we did not hear any traffic or disturbance. The air-conditioning works well which will definitely be necessary in the summer. Mattress is firm to hard but comfortable and the pillows are very soft. The hotel itself offers a buffet lunch and a discounted dinner (which we could not take advantage of) which is similar to price to any of the eating places around the hotel. But as there are many patisserie's around one will be spoiled for choice of eating places.
The aerobus provides a convenient and cheap means (3.5 euros) of transport to get to the hotel - one needs to get off near the Marques de pombal stop rather than near the Saldhana square. The taxi rides are not expensive either - the prepaid option from the airport is expensive compared to the meter if there is no traffic congestion (23euros) and the hotel will also do a taxi voucher for 15 euros to the airport. The actual meter ran up to only 6 euros but there may be extra charges for bags/luggage and waiting or if one is caught in traffic. It is only a 15-20min ride to the hotel from the airport. If one is travelling light it is definitely possible to take the metro into the city centre, however we cannot comment on the convenience as we did not have a chance to do so.
The leisure facilities are minimal and we did not get a chance to use them so cannot comment on the quality.
In all this hotel makes for a pleasant stay. Will definitely consider this hotel for convenience.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of either the park or the city, ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As my immediate predecessor reviewer Scharfer wrote. agree on everything.

We has a front room on 7th floor but even with windows closed (double glazing) we could hear the low roar of traffic.

I should also mention the magnificent gesture of staff who noticed it was my birthday. Nice touch and appreciated. I won't embarrass them by saying what was my surprise.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SWRural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at the SANA Lisboa for 3 nights.
Solid all the way around:
Reception and staff very friendly, efficient, and knowledgable.
Lobby very nice - piano player evey night we were there.
Room, bathroom good size, clean and comfortable.
Free WIFI which was quite good.
Breakfast - very good with many hot and cold options.
Tthe hotel had aout half business people and half tourists.
The location makes it excellent for both. A block from Palombal square, which is a transportation hub - buses, metro (two lines), and all hop on/off companies.
It is a non smoking hotel, except for the rooms on the top floor.
Price very reasonable - about 100 euros/night, making it an excellent value.
Would highly recommend, and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#74 of 255 in Lisbon
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Lisboa Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $133 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing