We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spain and Portugal Vacations
Review Highlights
perfectly organized and fun trip to Spain

Greg and Jennifer set up a trip for us. Knowing very little about Spain we let them do everything... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed January 31, 2019
Michael L
A Fascinating Personalized VIsit to a Beautifull Portugal

Our tour was characterized by a combination of the coastal cities and interior world of wine... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed December 21, 2018
baywoo2016
,
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Read all 17 reviews
  
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
16
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
0
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked a week with Greg for me and my husband following a week of work in Lisbon after the International Rotary Convention. We were totally unfamiliar with Portugal, wanted to explore the country before coming home, but could not abide the thought of a bus/group trip. I found Greg here at Trip Advisor. We pretty much let him design our tour up to Porto, the Douro Valley, Ourem, and south of Lisbon. At the end of one super delightful week I thought, "Every country needs a Greg."

We loved our accommodations, especially the two nights we stayed at Casa Alta. For us this was a must-not-miss stay near Fatima. As we toured the area I was torn between wanting to see the sites and returning to simply experience the quiet and peace of Casa Alta and Ourem.

Not historians, we found ourselves slowly caught up in the history because of Greg's passion for his adopted country. As laid back travelers, we liked the the freedom to add to or subtract from our itinerary each day. Driving in Portugal seemed quite complicated and the value of being able to sit back and ride and not worry about directions was invaluable. Going where most tours do not venture was fun.

We highly recommend Greg and welcome any emails for further questions.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, General Manager at Spain and Portugal Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Lee, thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure showing you Portugal during your recent visit. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Portugal was a pleasant discovery. Greg helped enormously by the arrangements and recommendations he made, as well as his easy guidance (never overbearing) and the obvious wonder he himself felt in discovering the sites. The pace of our trip was relaxed but adequate to see the sites. If I could make recommendations they would be : to ante up the transmission of details about all the beautiful places we visited, and a better functioning aircon in the vehicle. It was pretty warm at the back. Otherwise, I would go back and recommend Greg to anyone who wants to visit amazing Portugal with an amiable and eager guide/friend.

Date of experience: September 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank NoraCManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, General Manager at Spain and Portugal Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Nora, we enjoyed spending time with you, your husband and friends during your Portugal tour. I remember well the places visited; especially the restaurant in Barcelos where you sampled almost all of the regional gastronomy at lunch! We hope to welcome you back on a future visit. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Greg was highly recommended by a friend. By then he had just formed his own tour company. He recommended we start from the north in Porto and end up south in Lisbon for our week's stay in Portugal. So glad we approved of his recommendation! My husband and one other couple who were with us were surprised how beautiful Portugal is. The places we saw - Guimaraes, Ponte de Lima, Coimbra, Ourem ( stayed at Casa Alta of Fr. Mariani), Fatima, Alcobaca, Batalha, Lisbon and Sintra are all unforgettable. Greg did everything for us, from picking us up at the airport on arrival, taking care of accomodations, driving and acting as guide all throughout. And the price was unbelievably so reasonable!
We are glad to have found this American who decided he will stay in this country and passionately think that Portugal will soon be "discovered" as a popular tourist destination some day soon.
Thank you Greg, and some day we hope to be back.

Date of experience: September 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Viviandlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Coming back to Portugal this year we experienced a great 5 day vacation with the owner of the company. He opened his own travel agency to give people like us the alternative to group trips and I can honestly say he delivered. We had planned this some time in advance and had to wait until another party left the weekend before. Although our itinerary was pre planned Greg told us about the experience from his last clients exploring the nature in Portugal and we decided to make some changes at his suggestion. First this has never happened where we could change a trip already planned on any tour we have taken.. second wwre the places he took us to which were a great mix of cutlure history castles (seems he and our husbands have a passion for them) food and nature. We all agree that our visit this year was successful because of these changes and the professional and hassle free way it was done. We cannot recommend enough Discover Portugal Travel if you are looking for a decidely unique travel experience in Portugal. Sincerely, Jennifer W.

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is amongst the best travel experiences I have ever had. The knowledge and attention to detail was outstanding. The points of interest, hotels, and restaurants on this private tour brought to life a side of Portugal I never knew existed. This tour by far exceeded our expectations.Do not miss this unique experience.

Date of experience: October 2012
2  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews