We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well and truly funked”
Review of AVENUE - CLOSED

AVENUE
Price range: $47 - $71
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant located at the most glamourous Lisbon Avenue, Avenida da Liberdade. Aside with Sofitel Hotel and Hugo Boss store. Contemporary portuguese cuisine, in modern and elegant decor, displaying a at site wine cellar, where the wine coul be selected to match with your meal, or simply appreciated at the bar.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Modern, hard, funky decor together with hip staff and clientele (except yours truly) combined with very good Portuguese fusion food in a great location. Not cheap at 93 euros for a good bottle of Douro red a shared starter and mains, but value for money.

And get a seat on the window and be entertained by the locals who cordon off the parking bays outside and tout for vehicles and charge them a fee as they wave them in - great stuff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dropkick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Gerente de relações com clientes at AVENUE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Dropkick 59

We would like to thank your visit and, of course, your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you in our restaurant, and feel that your experience was positive.
We also agree with you about the value perception, and we'll make the best effort to keep pleasing people.
Once again, it was a real pleasure to meet you, and we'll be very glad to welcome if you visit Lisbon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 338 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

I thought we were in the Sofitel bar, but my husband Said we were at Avenue, he had looked it up on TripAdvisor and it ranked well, so we continued to have drinks in the bar until a table was available for us to have dinner. The bartender was very attentive, but not overly so and he poured some strong drinks due to it being happy hour. We had a starter at the bar which was scallops and a mushroom type mince. The scallops were perfectly cooked and the mushroom (whatever it was) was delicious. We both chose the suckling pig as our main and were both amazed at the tender, tasty and crispy piece of pork, served on n apple type mash with some sort of little crispy chips. I must say, since moving to the UK two years ago, this pork was by far the best either of us have tasted to date. I know pork is very popular in the UK, but I have yet to have it so expertly prepared like we had in Lisbon. Having spent the week in the Algarve, Lisbon was a pleasant surprise of lovely buildings, friendly locals and wonderful food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Gerente de relações com clientes at AVENUE, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Patti B

First of all, we would like to thank you for the visit and your kind comments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we are, of course, quite happy with your comments, despite being a very busy night.
The pork that you mentioned is a must in our restaurant, modern interpretation of the classic "Roasted Piglet from Bairrada" in center west coast of Portugal.
If you pass in Lisbon you would be very welcome in our restaurant a nd to taste some of the new things that we offer currently.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked a table on the strength of TA reviews and were not disappointed. The ambience is good with well spaced tables, the staff are attentive and observant. The menu offered an appealing tasting menu and we went with that. All the dishes were excellent and well presented. The bill came to €103 including wine and water

Everything was perfect and we would return if we found ourselves in Lisbon again.

Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Gerente de relações com clientes at AVENUE, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear LifeinHerault

First of all we would like to thank the visit and your kind comments.
It was for us a real pleasure to welcome you, and have the feeling that your experience with us was rewarding.
Of course you would be very welcome if you visit Lisbon again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We reserved a table in this restaurant as the reviews on Tripadvisor were very good. The restaurant is easy to find, close to the southern entrance of the metro station Avenida. The waiters were very friendly. They answered all our questions concerning the food and wine showing a lot of expertise. We were given some 'amuses bouches' which were all very nice! Next, I've never eaten such a tender steak in my entire life, and I think I can speak for my entire family that their dishes were also top notch. Finally, the overall price was very attractive (16 à 17 euros for a main course on average). The value for money is really high!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CedricDeBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Gerente de relações com clientes at AVENUE, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear CedricDeBoom
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. We are happy that our aim to promote a nice gastronomic family evening was accomplished.
Really nice to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We decided to book this restaurant after sampling some of Avenue's food at the Peixe em Lisboa seafood festival, which showcases the talents of some of the finest chefs in the city.
The restaurant itself looks really classy, with minimalist decor. The waiting staff are all young, elegant, and very friendly. We opted for the tasting menu which at 36 Euros, has to be a real bargain. We also accepted the sommelier's suggestion that he choose a wine to go with each course, which proved a very wise move as he came up with some really lovely choices. The food was delicious and beautifully presented: - we particularly enjoyed the pork belly and the poached egg with crispy Portuguese sausage. Would not hesitate to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Gerente de relações com clientes at AVENUE, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Caroline M
It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you in our restaurant and most of all, we're quite happy that your experience with us was rewarding.
Allow me to inform you that since early May we changed the menu, a bit more ambitious grounded on prime ingredients, but keeping the same concept. Modern portuguese food.
Looking forward to welcome you once again, if in Lisbon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AVENUE also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing