We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Apartment in a wonderful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living
Living Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Living
Living
Living
Living
Living
Dining
Living
Dining / Kitchen
Kitchen
Hall
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom (shower)
Bathroom
Bathroom
The building
Charming view from the balcony
Charming view from the balcony
Stunning view at Portas do Sol
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
David-Cla...
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment in a wonderful location”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was ideally situated in the heart of Alfama on a tiny cobbled alley. It is too narrow for cars and hence was quiet. The apartment is spotlessly clean with a wonderful living area and kitchen. We used the kitchen to make 2 evening meals and there were sufficient pans, crockery and utensils to self cater if required. The nearest supermarket is within the Santa Apolonia train station close by where there is a fresh fish counter and lots of choice - the well known pastelaria Alfama doce is only 70 meters away and offers wonderful pastries and coffee. Ideal prior to a hectic day seeing the sights.
Joao who owns the apartment was excellent as he quickly responded to emails and met us at the apartment to explain how everything worked and to assist with any queries.
We have stayed at other city apartments around Europe and this must rate as the best - spacious, clean, well decorated, equipped and furnished. It is in a wonderful old neighbourhood and we thought it was an excellent choice. Added to that, it was really quiet of an evening and it was perfect to relax after a hectic day sightseeing
Well done Joao, I would highly recommend the apartment to all.
I would also commend the easy booking process through Trip advisor - no issues at all and a very smooth process
David and Claire

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Hi David, Hi Claire, I'm glad you had a nice time! :) Thnak you for this great review. Hope to see you again in Lisbon. All the best!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
987wander...
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in the heart of Alfama”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

New apartment in the heart of the historical part of the city. You have all that you need and the owner ist kind and very helpful. I can just recommend it!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth1672
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in Portugal for a month, using this charming apartment (great location) as a "base camp". We are really glad that we had this apartment to come "home" to - makes travelling to the other parts of Portugal much easier (we used day-packs for our travels instead of hauling everything). Our host was most kind and thoughtful (really enjoyed the wine and crackers he left for us upon arrival, after a long day of travelling). All of the amenities we needed were included (wifi; weekly cleaning; full kitchen; washer, etc) - we would definitely do this again.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geege2015
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why would you stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Two of us spent four nights in this cozy apartment before heading to the coast for 6 days of hiking. Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip. .It was clean, perfectly equipped and we were able to make ourselves at home right away. The location is superb. Anyone who visits Lisbon ought to experience Alfama and there is no better way than to stay there. It has a lovely, historic feel to it. We treasure having had the opportunity to stay in the midst of daily living in the Alfama neighborhood.

We were able to find good restaurants nearby and also found it easy to catch taxis and public transportation. We like to walk and found that we could walk to many attractions.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisling C
1 review
“Lovely apartment in historical Alfama”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wonderful host and SO responsive to all queries !
Such a beautiful apartment impeccably kept.location us without question , pedestrianised area so access slightly restricted, but if you do your research its not a problem .
Gorgeous bright living area feels do spacious !
Perfect accomodation for two ,good facilities, very cleans, comfortable .we really enjoyed our stay and will return if in Lisbon

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Hi there! thank you so much. It was also a pleasure to have you both as our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed and I really hope to see you again some day. Also thank you so much for leaving such a nice note on the table! :) All the best! Greetings from Lisbon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place to live and experience the Alfama”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The appartement is small, but cozy, super clean and recently renovated, or at least kept actual in decoration. We loved the place and the charm of the surrounding streets.

The owner was super helpful and friendly, he waited for us as we came by plane and had no cellphone to advise of our arrival time.

If I were to go back to Lisbon, I would most certainly try to book this appartement again.

Only downside, no car access and there is some steps to get to the appartement, but it is well worth the charm of the place!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Clean, homey unit in the Alfama area; walking distance to restaurants, bakeries, small markets, metros and buses; comfy. Good location as a base to see Lisbon and surrounding barrios. Joao was helpful, in suggesting local places to eat.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
Hi Sharon, Hi Claude,
Thank you so much for your five stars review! :)
I'm glad you liked it. I hope you keep on having a nice time. If you ever want to come back we will be glad to have you as our guests again.
All the best, João
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing