We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, modern and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #344 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean, modern and great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and the facilities were good. The rooms were clean and there were large windows looking out over the square. The gentleman also showed us a private bathroom we could use. They also provided transportation to the airport for me for a very early morning flight so thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    42
    23
    16
    23
See reviews for
13
70
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We really enjoyed the location. It's right on the main square of Lisbon and we walked to most of the places that we visited.
We stayed in the room with bathroom that was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is not very big, but it has a door!
The breakfast was also very good for what we expected and we could have it until 11AM.
I think that the price was very good, considering the location, room, breakfast and staff.
The peep show on the entrance can be strange at the beginning, but it was fine for us, since this was our 2nd stop right after Amsterdam.
About the stairs, I have to agree that they are not easy to climb, but get used to it because the whole city is up and down.
Overall it's a central place for a very good price with all the confort you need but with no luxury. I recommend it.

Room Tip: It you are not used to some city noise, choose a room on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've been here twice. It's the best place to stay in Lisbon downtown. Near public transports, monuments... Worderfull view over city. They are very kind and Helpfull. Love the food, very portuguese tradicional. I'll ceartainly return. Thank u.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Firmino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

3 flights of stairs to negotiate, top of the stairs the railing is actually hanging off the wall. Friendly chap on reception actually suggested to us that we may not want to stay..Odd. Our room was a private one with a tiny, tiny shower and loo en suite with no actual door on it. Lovely view of the square. Woken up first by some lorries arriving to bring equipment for the concert that was going on the next day, next by the recycling lorry, this must have been about 4am. Then at about 6.30am the drilling started from the building site next door. We had no warning of any of this. We checked out without stopping for breakfast. I asked the chap why he hadn't mentioned the building site, he just said that he hadn't realised. He charged us half of the cost of an extra night on top of the night of hell. Not very apologetic. At least we could pay by card, but I think if he had said no he knew that would have sent me over the edge.
We moved to this hotel just across the square, which was lovely. Residencial Florescente.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lelfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the family room (1 doble bed, 2 single beds).The problem was the terrible smell of cats piss.
The bathroom is shared.
The day we wanted to leave they told us that we cant pay with credit card because the machine doesn't work. The credit card machine worked perfectly but they wanted to save the taxes...??

Next time I will try a different Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków, Malopolskie, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayer here with my mom as part our family trip, the experience was great we were really happy with everything. Good breakfast included, nice view of the city and I believe the key was the staff, the guys were extremely nice to us, helping us to plan everything, special thanks to Carlos for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at this hostel with my boyfriend. We had a private room with shared bathroom and stayed one night. The hostel itself has a great relaxed atmosphere, with friendly English-speaking staff. You can access the place 24 hours and it's in a great central location. There's also a great restaurant right across the street!

Free breakfast is good but get there early if it's busy as it does get eaten (but will be replaced)! Beds are comfortable and the rooms are big! Shared bathroom didn't pose much of a problem as there are other toilets in the lounge area. Lounge area has fantastic views and free digital TV and wifi (with a computer to use too). There's also a fully-equipped kitchen you can use any time too!

Can't recommend this place enough, great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzieHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
5 SINS Chiado Hostel
5 SINS Chiado Hostel
#175 of 457 in Lisbon
84 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
#289 of 457 in Lisbon
97 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
We Love F.Tourists
We Love F.Tourists
#46 of 457 in Lisbon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Feel Lisbon B&B
Feel Lisbon B&B
#62 of 457 in Lisbon
68 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#27 of 246 in Lisbon
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast

Property: Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 231 3D, Lisbon 1100-578, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hostel located in the most important square of Lisbon Downtown, with an amazing view over the historic parts of Lisbon. We wanted to raise the quality standards of an hostel so we created a comfortable place with a distinct design where you can enjoy your days in Lisbon. We have a special breakfast with fresh bread and fruit, cereals, eggs, toasts, milk, coffee, tea and home made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing