We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel that does not feel like a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #371 of 514 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed September 4, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank dslshines
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed in this nice little hostel for 3 nights and I was very happy with my choice. The young staff is very friendly and their help concerning mapping, sightseeing, Lisbon culture and so on was very welcome. So was the airport service. I really loved the effort that was put into the design of the bathrooms (a.o.). Overall: simple but tasteful, clean, GREAT location and even more great view (from the suite), friendly, value for your money. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suiker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Loved this trip to Lisbon, which was just greatly improved by the lodging. Beautiful antique building, very central, close to buses and subway, restaurants and night life. Gorgeous view, we were right in the middle o the action and still managed to sleep quietly during the night. I am definitely coming back.

Great value for money, LOVED it. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed at Downtown Design Hostel for 3 nights in May 2012. The hostel is brand new and has many positive aspects and some kinks that are being worked out.
Positives ...First of all the beds are the most comfortable I slept in during my 8 months in Europe (hostel or hotel). The hostel is clean and has streamlined modern look without a lot of clutter. The view is amazing overlooking Rossio Plaza. The manager provides airport transportation at a reasonable price. The breakfast is fresh and includes a variety of fruits and cakes, fresh bread, and meat and cheese.
The hostel itself is very small and intimate. It feels more like you are sharing an apartment rather than staying in a hostel. There are not lockers yet, and only one of the dorm rooms locks. The bathroom is very small and needs more privacy for women and men. However the shower heads are amazing and there was always hot water.
If you can deal with at the cramped bathroom, lack of privacy, then everything else about this hostel is award winning. The managers are young, friendly and working on getting organized. Good Luck! I highly recommend a stay at the Downtown Design Hostel.

Aloha

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picaflorsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed here only for 1 night but the experience was excellent. The owners are very helpful and are available to give advice about the city, sights, restaurants and more. The kitchen and common areas are clean and fun with lots of resources available to guests. The bedrooms are also very clean and bright. You literally cannot beat this location. Overall a great hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was there for ten days and the room was quite nice. Unbelievable internet bandwidth.
The staff were quite nice and very helpful.

Donald M. Smith

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgmozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Rui is a great host - a very nice, friendly and easy going chap. He speaks good English which really helps when you try to get things organized. His hostel is in a greatt location. Most of the tourist spots in Lisbon are either a short walk away e.g. Elevator St Justa, Castle St George or a short ride on the historical tram e.g. Belem. Rui also organized trips to Sintra for a small fee and I managed to visit 3 different tourist spots in Sintra when I was there on a Saturday afternoon. I suppose I would not have seen as much in such a short time if I were to rely on public transportation. For a small sum, his mum could also prepare a dinner so you can have a taste of home cooked Portuguese food too. I enjoyed my stay with Rui and would stay again if I go back to Lisbon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 255 in Lisbon
543 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#8 of 514 in Lisbon
463 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#10 of 514 in Lisbon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#7 of 514 in Lisbon
570 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#160 of 255 in Lisbon
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 231 3D, Lisbon 1100-578, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 514 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $54 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hostel located in the most important square of Lisbon Downtown, with an amazing view over the historic parts of Lisbon. We wanted to raise the quality standards of an hostel so we created a comfortable place with a distinct design where you can enjoy your days in Lisbon. We have a special breakfast with fresh bread and fruit, cereals, eggs, toasts, milk, coffee, tea and home made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing