We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Longest European bridge over the ocean”

Vasco da Gama Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.22*
and up
Modern Lisbon - City Run in Portugal
Ranked #119 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 145-meter tower, constructed in the shape of a billowing sail, that permits breathtaking views of the entire city.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Longest European bridge over the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

about 17 km of hwy (11 miles) driving over the ocean -- a little scary but great experience. didn't know there was a tower. nothing was planned -- we just took off from the airport -- great memories. we visited so many places by just taking chances, ate at the most unique small restaurants Lisboa & other towns had to offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tettenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    72
    39
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
354 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Tower and now a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

It's a nice tower, now operating as a hotel. When I visited the place it was almost complete. It's a good idea that most likely a rather expensive to keep strucutures are being reshaped into hotels etc. The tower nicely fits to the modern architecture of the place. I would actually like to live nearby if for any reason would need to relocate to Lisbon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a review of the whole area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is an area very few Lisboa tourists ever venture in to, but since we have been to Lisboa a number of times, we decided to take a metro trip to the Oriental station and check out that entire area. It was built for the World expo and has a very nice train station, Vasco De Gama shopping mall, 1 mile long air lift along the shore for sightseeing, tons of very nice local restaurants, a beautiful aquarium, and more.

For sure the place to go and visit, very nice, clean, and a good change from the old own.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RostG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is now a 5* Hotel !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Vasco da Gama Tower is now Sana Myriad hotel, which opened a week ago. Since I live very close, it may be that I will not stay there as a guest but would like to visit the hotel, if allowed.

Helpful?
1 Thank gndias01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queluz portugal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“the guard of the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

this tower became famous due to expo 98 you have a good view of the river, but then the entrance was to go to the expensive restaurant there up. better check before. It is part of the Expo complex, its nice, but not acessible to every one.

Helpful?
Thank fremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vasco da Gama Tower also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Vasco da Gama Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing